Dutch King and Queen visit Curacao

King Willem-Alexander and Queen Máxima continued their Caribbean tour today with a visit to Curacao. Máxima reached back in her millinery closet and pulled out a hat we have not seen in a very long time- a white straw picture hat with a sharply upturned front brim trimmed with an explosion of white feathers. This hat has a slightly 80′s vibe (see here and here) but I adore it nonetheless and am so excited to see it again! The shape is a little less formal than most picture hats and the feather poof is pure frivolity and fun.  Last time Máxima wore this hat, there were green feathers tucked in with the white ones; I suppose the removal of these green feathers now makes this hat more versatile. If I were to nitpick, I would push this hat a little further up/back on Máxima’s head (so the front sight line was not perched directly on her eyebrows) but that is a picky detail and does not diminish my love for this hat.  What do you think of this picture hat?

Queen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats Blog

 Queen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats Blog

Queen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats BlogQueen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats Blog

Queen Máxima, Nov. 18, 2013 | The Royal Hats Blog

Designer: I believe it is Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: Nov 3. 2009

** I have updated photos on Friday’s post (the interesting convertible hat Máxima wore to Bonaire). I will also update photos on this post as they are released later today.

Photos from Hollandse Hoogte/Corbis and Dutch Photo Press

16 thoughts on “Dutch King and Queen visit Curacao

  1. I like this hat just the way it is. Looking at the previous outing – with green bits – it had dramatic flare back then. Last time Maxima placed the turned up part more to the side. Today, the turned up bit is at the front of her face. Both ways are dramatic, fun and provide flare for the outfit she is wearing (coloured or monochrome). To me, it doesn’t matter. There is lots of drama in black and white. I like it both ways!
    You Go Girl!

  2. My monitor shows navy blue, not black, and it’s such a classic combination. The top has a very interesting back which you can view by clicking on the link under the photos. The hat is pretty and feminine, and hopefully cool. C ommon sense to wear a wide brim in a hot, sunny clime. The placement of the feathers to the front is a notch up on the first wearing I think, because the side profile looks less “cowboy”. I like the feathery frou frou, it adds a sense of fun. I really like this look, and the necklace of pears and maybe Lapis Lazuli (one can dream) is perfect.

    • I checked photos and you’re right, Adelaide- her skirt and shoes are navy blue! That makes the blue necklace make even more sense. I have corrected this in the post- thanks for pointing this out!

    • I like the hat, dress and necklace but the drop earrings are too much. I think I also prefer the bright colors that Max usually wears.

  3. I know it’s weird but I prefer the hat with the green feathers, maybe she should add some black feathers. And I agree the hats seems like it needs to be pushed back off of her forehead.

  4. Best hat of all of them on this trip. I love this hat, it is so pretty and becoming on her, the jewelry, the dress, the hat and that smile says she is having the time of her life. Having been to the Caribbean it can get hot and humid and some time it calls for less formal wear, the sun can really create a glare and big hats like this are a must for ladies who don’t want early wrinkles. This hat is a 10 for me.

  5. 80s and 90s vibe indeed! However, Maxima wears it very well. Thankfully, she paired it with a black and white ensemble instead of color (which would have been a fashion faux pas). Very elegant although I find it a little boring for a visit to the Caribbean. This is a queen who loves color and this visit is crying out for bold color!

  6. It’s really a fun hat and edging close to a better Island look then she has been rocking on this Caribbean trip previous. Must be really hard for her to scale down to more of a sports wear look – we rarely have ever seen her dressed way down. Like your comment about pushing this hat back on the head just a tish, but I don’t mind it pulled down like she has it. It’s really bright sun where they are and i would want my hat down if no sunglasses on so I could see who was standing in front of me!

    • And precisely, she wears sunglasses with it and it doesn’t work at all! I love the hat and hate those sunglasses. She looks so good without them! I’d rather wear a wide brim to protect my eyes from the sun than spoiling an otherwise very elegant look by wearing such sunglasses.

  7. I do like this hat! I looked at the previous picture with the green and liked that even more. I suppose she changed the hat so it would match other outfits as well. Well done Queen Maxima!

  8. I do like that hat, but seems that maybe it was placed to cover a very bad hair day. It just seems as though the weather there is too hot and humid to have a good hair/hat day.

    • I don’t see that at all! The style of this hat (if you look at when Maxima wore it last time) is obviously one that is worn down over the head. It is also very obviously coordinated to go with her white top, black skirt and blue, silver and cream pearl necklace. I don’t understand why you would say she wore it to cover a bad hair day.

Leave a Reply

