Dutch King and Queen Arrive in Colombia

After completing their visit to the Dutch Antilles, King Willem-Alexander and Queen Máxima continued on to a one-day official visit to Colombia. For this visit today, Máxima repeated a pale pink straw hat with sharply upturned brim and ribbon trim around the crown. I thought this regal hat was a great choice to begin this more formal leg of the tour and topped off a beautifully styled ensemble. There has been much conversation here this week about the appropriateness of Máxima’s recent millinery and clothing choices but today, I think she knocked it out of the park.

Queen Máxima, Nov. 22, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog  Queen Máxima, Nov. 22, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog

Queen Máxima, Nov. 22, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: Oct. 5, 2011Sep. 21, 2010

Photos from Getty via The Huffington Post and RD.nl

10 thoughts on “Dutch King and Queen Arrive in Colombia

  1. This is my favorite hat shape, on Maximal and others. The upturn is softly rounded, with the opposite side a mirror image. Sometimes the upturn on these hats is too sharp and angular. Wonderful overall look on Max.

  2. This hat is very elegant and a beautiful colour on her. Pale pink can look washed out on some people but this blush pink is perfect . I did like the vibrant outfits last week though. This hat is a winner. I like the style, shape and colour. The dress suits her shape. The fabric gives it a modern twist. The whole look gets 10/10 from me , she looks polished & elegant.

  3. I think Queen Maxima looked good all week. She was not on a vacation, but working, and I think her clothing choices were appropriate. She was not over dressed compared to the people who came to see her. The people wore their best to see their King and Queen, and she dressed well to meet them and I think that shows much respect on her part towards the people who took time to meet and/or see her. I think she looks beautiful and elegant in these pictures from Colombia. Everything was perfection! I love the hat and her jewelry. I especially love her pin, and I believe she may have had a hat pin that matched her jewelry. (in the first picture?) She did not knock it out of the park, she knocked it out of the universe!

  4. This works now they changed destinations on the trip. She is more in tune also with what King W is wearing. Also they are in a much more cosmopolitan area where you see people wearing looks like this. Finally she does not look like a fish out of water.

    • Am sad than that when she was in Aruba she was supposed to be wearing a bikini top with a wrap and flip flops with a shapeless wide brim hat because everybody in Aruba is walking around like that (I should revisit my closet) We’re in the caribbean after all and spend our days at the beach the whole day (I wish that I could do that and not be in a business enviroment wearing appropiate attire) btw greetings from Aruba (sleeping in a hammock and sipping my daiquiri)

Leave a Reply

