Dutch King and Queen visit Aruba

King Willem-Alexander and Queen Máxima completed their inaugural Caribbean tour with a second day spent on the island of Aruba. For her final piece of millinery this tour, Máxima made a rather unusual choice- she repeated a pale grey velvet headpiece with open crown and side bow loops. My thoughts about convertible hats aside, I thought choosing a velvet headpiece for an event in a warm, tropical country just didn’t make sense. A wide brimmed straw hat would have been better, don’t you think?

I think the hats from this tour were a little hit and miss. My favourite was the first one we saw- the huge pale pink picture hat worn in St. Maarten. Which one did you like best?

Queen Máxima, Nov 21, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov 21, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog

Queen Máxima, Nov 21, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov 21, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: April 17, 2012 

Photos from Dutch Photo Press

8 thoughts on “Dutch King and Queen visit Aruba

  1. This one for me is a no. It looks like a long, grey tube sock stretched across her head and balled up at the end. But I will admit it goes with the outfit, which still deserves a better hat.

  2. I forgot to say that my favorite hat is the large white one with feathers she wore a few days abo. That was such a gorgeous hat.

  3. It is a lovely hat although as you said velvet was a strange fabric choice. My favorite hat of the tour was the folded orange straw hat. I also liked the pink picture hat and, I know some will be amazed, but I actually liked the hat described as a “sea creature hat!” :)

  4. At least the hat had an opening on top to help keep her cool. As for the gloves – I found them more inappropriate in that climate than a velvet hat!

  5. While I usually don’t comment on the appropriateness of a royal’s style for such or such event (and we have seen on this blog that it can raise a polemic), I feel we can only agree that velvet under the tropics is a complete non-sense.
    That aside, I like very much her ensemble.

  6. I like the pink straw best as you do but the small orange straw looked great as well. Queen Maxima appears to enjoy all her royal duties and gives everyone such a sunny smile. She is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

