Queen Máxima Opens Military Barracks

Queen Máxima officially opens the new “Queen Máxima  Barracks for the Royal Military Guard” at Schiphol airport in Badhoevedorp, near Amsterdam, this morning. She repeated a chocolate wool felt hat with square crown and dramatic, upturned diagonal brim – one of the first hats she wore in what has now become one of her signature shapes. The lines on this hat are a little sharp for my taste but but with her chocolate suit, wrap and accessories, the overall ensemble looked quite luxurious. What do you think of this hat?

Queen Máxima, Nov. 26, 2013 |  The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov. 26, 2013 |  The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov. 26, 2013 |  The Royal Hats Blog

Queen Máxima, Nov. 26, 2013 |  The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov. 26, 2013 |  The Royal Hats Blog Queen Máxima, Nov. 26, 2013 |  The Royal Hats Blog

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: March 11, 2010; Nov 17, 2007

Photos from Dutch Photo Press

11 thoughts on “Queen Máxima Opens Military Barracks

  1. I love the hat. I like the proportions & think a small hat would be lost in all that brownness. Overall the look is a bit too brown – a cream wrap / shawl coat or even cream edging to the shawl would have looked better. I love the dress even though you can’t see much of it. Not a fan of any dangling earrings when worn with hats. I’m sure they are very expensive but to me it looks like she has shopped in Claire’s Accessories with her daughters for these.

  2. That’s a whole lot of brown!!! I like this colour on her better than mustard or grey though. Love this hat shape.

  3. This for me needs to be broken up outfit wise – it’s too much bulk top and trunk with the hat having it’s wide brim and the cape being so broad too. Not a win in my books – however I can deal with the earnings and the hat together were they not paired with the garment.

  4. Thanks for showing full photos of the whole outfit. I find it hard to decide if I like a hat or not if I can’t see the whole outfit! I really like this hat with this outfit. Brown isn’t my first choice for clothes but it looks really good on Queen Maxima.

  5. Quite lovely! Brown is not my favorite color, but it is much better than that silver hat earlier this week. She looks good in this hat.

Leave a Reply

