One Suit, Three Hats

Royal Hats Last week, The Countess of Wessex attended the Sovereigns Parade in a beautiful Jane Taylor picture hat to compliment her stunning Bruce Oldfield suit. This is the third time she has worn this suit and each time, she has paired it with a different Jane Taylor couture hat. What’s amazing is with each pairing, Sophie’s hair and jewelry are almost identical- the different feel of each outfit is created only, with a different hat.

Your responses to our first “This or That” post were so fantastic that I can’t resist asking again, dear readers, which of these Jane Taylor hats you prefer on Sophie with her oyster silk beaded Bruce Oldfield suit?

Look 1: Attending the Sovereigns Parade on August 9, 2013 in a Jane Taylor designed picture hat in oyster straw trimmed with a cream lace bow

 

Look 2: On the balcony of Buckingham Palace for Trooping the Colour, June 16, 2012 in Jane Taylor’s “Juliet” design

Look 3: At the April 29, 2011 wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton in Jane Taylor’s “Molly Couture” design

 

Jane Taylor Molly Couture

Photos from Getty as indicated

31 thoughts on “One Suit, Three Hats

  1. I love hat number 3, it is so chic on her. This is one of my favorite hats on Sophia, so envy all these hats that the royals wear. Being a hat lady, wish I had some of them.

      • Thank you for the nice comment. I love/adore hats, hats make a woman look and feel like a lady. When a woman wears a hat, it gives so much self confidence to her.

  2. Hat number 3 is my fave. #2 is probably my least fave. They are all quite lovely, though. And I love what a different feel each hat gives to the same suit. Think I might like to see number three paired with the peach outfit she wore to Zara Phillips’ wedding and repeated for Garter Day 2012 (w/ different hats)

  3. I like all three hats very much. I think Sophie has paired them with just the right events: the third hat is the most exuberant, and matches an event such as a wedding. The second hat, while still extremely elegant, is much simpler, with the almost-beret type shape which might bring to mind military associations, and suits a more formal event based on a military parade. At the Sovereign’s Parade, though, she was representing the Queen, and the bigger hat, making her more certain to be the centre of the picture, was appropriate to that role. It’s interesting that with all the hats, she’s gone for (as far as one can tell with photographs) exact colour-matching to the outfit. That works very well, and I can think of few other colours which would complement the suit so well, so perhaps it’s lucky she hasn’t experimented there! Although maybe a chocolate brown or moleskin colour?

    • I believe the hats are so perfectly colour matched because they were custom made by Jane Taylor specifically for this suit. I think you make such an insightful point about each hat also being very well suited to the event it was worn to.

  4. Wow, what a difference a hat makes, huh? I think they all look great with the suit, but my favorite is the one from Will & Kate’s wedding, it’s got more embellishment so seems more in keeping with the embroidered sleeves but not overpoweringly so.

    • Everyone likes the first hat and I do too. But I also really like the second hat pillbox with the feathers. I wonder when her girl Lady Louise will start wearing real hats?

  5. I prefer the hat she wore to the Sovereigns Parade, I am leaning towards what I call real hats, as opposed to fascinators these days!

    • I agree. The picture hat is so beautiful and I prefer hats with large brims to fascinators or those pesky little percher hats.

  6. Definitely the first hat shown at the Sovereigns Parade. I love big hats as long as they aren’t too big! This hat is perfect for Sophie.

  7. She likes a beige titfer doesn’t she?! I love the brimmed one she’s recently paired it with, but I was a big fan of the total wedding one too. With this fab suit I guess she can’t go wrong!!

  8. I am also a fan of the Sovereign’s Parade Hat. While I like both of the other hats, for some reason the hat worn to the wedding of William and Catherine always bothered me. It’s the “band” that secures it around the head I don’t like. I expect it is there to hold the hat in place, but it looks awkward to me.

  9. I also like the hat from the Sovereigns Parade best of the two – the other one is just so so – the band is too fat making me think the hat is heavy and does not sit well on the head. Also I don’t like the look of the 2 feathers from the front angle – they appear too long there but look just OK to me from the side.

Leave a Reply

