Queen Mathilde in Radiant Red

King Philippe, Queen Mathilde accompanied Chinese President Xi Jinping and first lady Peng Liyuan and their guests made a visit to car manufacturer Volvo Cars in Gent today. For this second day of the Chinese state visit, Queen Mathilde repeated her open-topped red picture hat with large bow on the side. While it is one of my least favourite style of hats, I must concede that Mathilde looked striking and elegant in it on this occasion. Frankly, I’m not sure I will ever come around to liking these convertible hats but I think Mathilde’s today’s outfit made me see their purpose- if this hat had a closed crown, this ensemble would become a visually jarring,oversize sea of red. I suspect the lack of crown on this hat helps this whole outfit retain its elegance…. a statement I never thought I would write (on today, of all days!). On that bombshell, I turn it over to you, dear readers, to inquire what you think of this breezy red hat?

Queen Mathilde, April 1, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog

Queen Mathilde, April 1, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog

Queen Mathilde, April 1, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog Queen Mathilde, April 1, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | The Royal Hats Blog

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: October 18, 2013

Photos from Getty as indicated

12 thoughts on “Queen Mathilde in Radiant Red

  1. I agree with your analysis, the hat must be seen in context with her whole outfit. Queen Mathilde always looks impeccable.

  2. I like this outing of this particular outfit much more than the previous time. Last time it looked bright orange-red, this time it looks to be a lovely shade of deeper red that really suits Mathilde. Obviously this is due to lighting, camera settings, etc. I wonder what the true colour actually is…
    I also think her hair is better styled this time, framing her face a bit more under the hat. I’m not fond of crownless hats, but this outing is rather nice.

  3. What do I think of it? Revolting, hate it. Now we know Mathilde is prone to colour blocking her whole outfit, but I think trying to justify a crown-less hat as a a way of not over-doing it just doesn’t wash. Totally spoils the appearance, and it is too much red, even though it is a colour Mathilde looks great wearing. I would like to have seen a contrast introduced.

  4. I think that this outfit would be perfect is someone had only finished the hat! (She forgot the crown perhaps?) A little more red in the outfit (red crown) wouldn’t have overpowered by color and would have made the hat look complete. Coat, shoes, purse and gloves are fantastic. There’s nothing wrong with mono-chome; one doesn’t have to be a color wheel every day.

  5. I really enjoyed your reasoning, and I do think you make a good point about the otherwise overwhelming redness of the total outfit, HatQueen. I still don’t like the crownless hat, though!

  6. Someone has been watching Top Gear. As such, we know that to be truly ‘convertible’ there has to be cover that comes off or can be zipped back on. Like cargo pants. Please not for hats.

  7. I would like the hat if it didn’t have the hole in the middle of it, something with a more fitting top, not high, just fitting to her head would be nice, the color is great on her, and I saw something like one side of the hat had this *point* sticking out, right below the bow side of the hat, what was that, more fitting to her head and a soft all around flip to the hat would be great, oh dear here I am designing hats again………I so love hats.

Leave a Reply

