Queen Celebrates Musical Anniversary

Queen Elizabeth and The Duke of Edinburgh attend a concert at St. George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle today  in celebration of the 150th anniversary of The Royal College of Organists. For this concert, Queen Elizabeth wore one of the hats we first saw during her Diamond Jubilee tour. This hat, in cantaloupe-hued straw, features a slightly diagonal crown , upturned brim on one side and a side spray of delicate feathers. I go back and forth with this hat… the shape? Marvellous. The colour? Not my favourite. The mix of textures between the Queen’s dress, coat and the feathers on the hat? Perfection. We don’t see Her Majesty often in shades of peach so I suppose it might be a nice change for her. Not every one of her outfits can be rich red,  brilliant blue, or peony pink now, can it?

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan
Previously Worn: June 12, 2012

Photos from Getty as indicated

14 thoughts on “Queen Celebrates Musical Anniversary

  1. I think this is a pretty colour, and while the hat isn’t a particular favourite, it’s still a very nice hat, and I think the various pieces of the whole ensemble really complement each other in the variation in texture and pattern. I like the way the straw weave gives the hat integral stripes where one sees the brim against the light.

  2. I think there’s a good reason we don’t often see the Queen in peach/apricot shades, and that is they don’t look good on her. She wears so many colours in their various shades and looks magnificent, but these shades elude her. Also yellowy-greens. My personal preference is for saturated colours rather than very pale ones, clear and fresh. I like the hat shape, and she’s wearing one of my favourite brooches. She’s a busy bee, isn’t she? Rarely a day without a date in her calendar. No wonder she loves her holiday at Balmoral!

  3. The hat is beautiful – another orange – it it coming in style? The coat does not match the level of the hat – but not much of a let-down.

  4. I am not a big fan of the upturned brim on one side. It looks like one of my hats that I didn’t store properly and one side is permanently bent upwards. I hate to criticize HM, however, so I will say that she looks lovely!

  5. I really like it. So nice to see her wearing colours.
    This is a bit off subject, I do wish the Duchess of Cambridge would wear less black and white especially dresses and tone down her black eye make up as it makes her skin look dry.
    I saw a burgundy hat she wore one Christmas and that was the best hat I have seen her wear. Perhaps you can find it.
    The Queen looks lovely in her variety of colours.

  6. Excellent hat: beautifully shaped, not too tall, beautifully shaped brim. The feathers on this hat actually remind me of the blue hat she wore for the christening and to receive the president of Ireland. I would like to see today’s hat worn just with the dress. Like the dress worn for the president of Ireland, today’s dress looks like paisley, and the feathers are meant to mimic the design, I gather.
    I look forward to your post on feather-trimmed hats.

    • I don’t like orange clothes or hats but there is something about this outfit that looks very pretty on The Queen. I don’t usually like feathers on hats but I like this hat very much!

      • I agree with you. My first impression was that it was too small. I found myself looking at her hair, to see where the hat was sitting on her head. I also find it too angular. This is a lovely color, but not one of the Queen’s best, and could have been improved with softer lines to go with the curves in the embellishment.

  7. It’s Spring!
    and she is Lovely!
    Interesting little feathered floral trimming theme happening past couple outings…will the next perhaps be the blue hat with the black and white feathered flowers? It so, it couldn’t be mere coincidence! Can anyone think of other hats her Majesty wears that have floral decorations composed of feathers?

      • I think there are a lot more than 8!! She has feather trimmed nearly as often as floral I think. And if it’s Angela Kelly, often both. With a bow. And some curls. And a button for good measure 😉

        Anyway, this is a great look. You’re right, all about the textures. This is an update on ‘peach fuzz’ and I like it. While ‘fuzz’ was a lot of one texture, this mixes it up very successfully.

  8. OMG, how delightful HM looks, she is quite lovely in this color, it really brings freshness and warmth to her. I really like the hat and the entire outfit. It’s nice to see a change from her regular colors of blues, purples, tans, pinks and sometimes off whites, I like this on her. As usual her smile lights up the place.

Leave a Reply

