One Hat, Four Vibrant Dresses

Royal Hats Earlier this summer, Queen Máxima of the Netherlands débuted a spectacular burgundy picture hat with square crown and large mushroom shaped brim trimmed in wide grosgrain ribbon. So far, she has paired this hat, designed by Belgian milliner Fabienne Delvigne, with three ensembles to create distinctly different looks. Which outfit do you think works best with this dramatic hat?

Look 1: With a pink ruched dress and purple wrap while visiting Poland on June 24, 2014

 Queen Maxima, June 24, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Maxima, June 24, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Look 2: With an orange printed dress at the Dutch Freedom Awards, May 24, 2014  

Queen Maxima, May 24, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Maxima, May 24, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Look 3: Opening an exhibit on Dutch design on June 20, 2015 in a burgundy Natan dress

Look 4: Introducing a new rose at the the Dutch Rose Association’s National Symposium June 13, 2017 in a purply-pink textured Natan dress and wrap

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

Photos from Adam Nurkiewicz, Adam Nurkiewicz, Michel Porro and Michel Porro via Getty and Getty as indicated

24 thoughts on “One Hat, Four Vibrant Dresses

  1. I like both incarnations however, if I have to choose, it is definitely the pink but without the stole. Both are dramatic and the orange dress looks amazing with that maroon/redish hat but the pink dress is pure princess or Queen to be more precise,

  2. I really waffled on this, but the pink dress wins. I prefer the classier style and I like the way the hat blends with the pink dress (if that hat can blend with anything, lol!).

  3. I love both outfits – I think these are two occasions when Maxima’s penchant for the spectacular really works. I don’t think either goes particularly better with the splendid hat. However, I do think the pink dress is a better dress in itself than the orange one.

  4. I had to look at the pictures several times because the different dresses make this hat look so different! I like both outfits very much. I think the pink dress is a little nicer because it doesn’t have the funny cape-sleeve that the orange one does.

  5. Funny, I actually prefer the orange print. I do agree that the cut of the pink (and its lack of shine) is better, though.

  6. I remember being absolutely blown away when Maxima was featured wearing the “orange” ensemble. I gave it 10/10 and thought it was a beautifully put together outfit, the colour combination being what stood out for me so much. It is just so vibrant. I remain just as smiitten, even liking the mismatched sleeves!!! I think the pink is o…kay, but I don’t like the shawl. P.S. This feature is a lot of fun. Thanks.

    • I also love the orange and burgundy dress with this hat. It’s an unexpected color combination that’s so striking on Maxima.

  7. Like everyone else so far, I prefer the pink. Although I don’t particularly care for the shiny, asymmetrical orange dress, especially when worn with dark red gloves and purse, adding the pink hat does make that outfit absolutely spectacular. (“Spectacular,” however, does not necessarily mean that I really like the look.)

  8. I like it best with the pink dress. The orange dress looks too shiny and I can’t stand the unmatched sleeves.

  9. Funny how much more pink it looks in the top photos vs I thought it was purple when I first saw it paired with the orangy print dress a few months ago

Leave a Reply

