One Hat, Four Dresses, Trousers And A Gown

Royal HatsQueen Máxima of the Netherlands is well-known on this blog for her dramatic hats. One of the hat shapes she has embraced in recent years is the ‘slice’- a picture hat with the brim folded sharply upward on one side and downward on the other to create a hat that appears to sit diagonally on the wearer’s head. One of my favourite of Queen Máxima’s ‘slice’ hats is a natural straw version designed by Fabienne Delvigne. Máxima has paired this hat with four different dresses and a pant suit – I am curious, dear readers, which pairing do you think was most successful?

Look 1: Pastel silk striped dress and pink cardigan worn in Singapore, January 24, 2013

   Queen Máxima, January 24, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, January 24, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Look 2: Blue and white floral peplum dress worn in Brunei, January 21, 2013 and in Gelderland, May 30, 2013

Queen Máxima, January 21, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima,May 30, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Look 3: The first time we saw this hat- with an orange organza pleated dress for the Monaco royal wedding, July 2, 2011

Queen Máxima, July 2, 2011 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, July 2, 2011 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Look 4: Queen Máxima also paired this hat with a monochrome bowed blouse and trousers in May this year for the Cordaid centenary.

Queen Máxima , May 23, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats Queen Máxima , May 23, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

UPDATE Look 5: Queen Máxima paired this hat with an aqua and gold printed dress to celebrate the 200th Anniversary of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Maastricht on August 30, 2014.

Queen Máxima, August 30, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats Queen Máxima, August 30, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, August 30, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

UPDATE: Look #6: A surprise pairing with a Claes Iversen silk blouse and embroidered skirt for Prinsjesdag on September 20, 2016 which elevated the hat into super formal wear.

Queen Máxima, Sep 20, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, Sep 20, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Photos from Patrick van Katwijk, Patrick van Katwijk, Patrick van Katwijk and Patrick van Katwijk via Corbis; Venturelli and Dan Kitwood via Getty; Patrick van KatwijkPatrick van Katwijk via Corbis; Andreas Rentz, Michel Porro, Mark Cuthbert/UK Press and Netherlands Royal Pool via Getty

39 thoughts on “One Hat, Four Dresses, Trousers And A Gown

  1. My faves are the gelati stripe in Singapore and the appearance this week with the pale blue. The fabric is not a print, but richly embroidered and beaded. When you see that texture it is stunning. (Check it out at Satorial Splendor). The hat I love, but I feel straw is too casual paired with the saffron wedding dress. It’s about the occasion for me. Having said that, no- one, but no-one, oh, maybe Camilla, wears a big hat like Max.

  2. Now I’m torn!! I think the orange chiffon still gets my vote (after all, how many people can wear orange as well as Maxima??) but I do love it with the aqua dress….

  3. Oh Hat Queen, now you’ve thrown me! I love this (update) look on Maxima. I remember from before there were a lot of comments about her wearing the hat with trousers. I think she looks very casual and elegant and smart and relaxed all at the same time!! The pants are just a fabulous cut and the hint of colour at the waist is a very natural and stylish contrast. Maxima is one classy lady.

  4. I almost wish you had not found the update pictures. Nothing wrong with the hat, but the rest of the ensemble is best forgotten

  5. To me, I find the Monaco debut was the best appearance of this dramatic hat. It’s something very Maxima, but the colour & flower do really suit the context in Monaco, and making the overall look somehow very romantic and elegant.

    The second would be when it pairing with the blue outfit.

  6. First choice Monaco. The stripes are my second choice, but something seems off. Not sure if I think the dress is too casual for a hat altogether, or if the color blocking needed something with softer lines for balance. The floral I definitely think looks too “cold weather” for a straw hat.

    • Agreed. Second choice is the saffron colored dress in Monaco. If that dress was another color (teal, jade, violet, fuschia) it would be my top pic. The color of the dress and hat are too close (but not close enough). The pink neapolitan stripes are so boring.

  7. Monagasque wedding. No real reason, but it’s the one that evoked the strongest “wow.” I also had a quick moment of sympathy for whoever ended up sitting behind HM at that wedding. 🙂

  8. I’m a cardi girl so the first look for me!! I just like the easy casualness of it and the nice mix of pastel colours. The colour of the wedding outfit is amazing, what would you call it? (a colour that gorgeous must have it’s own name!) I actually really like this whole ensemble- the rosette, colour, dress style, shoes…..and I think the hat is worn at a slightly different angle adding a little bit of pizazz. A very close go. Both fab!

  9. It’s the hat for me regardless of the outfit. This hat is perfect for her, she can carry this off with such style and grace. My favorite outfit regardless of the hat is the orange dress, she just needed a more formal hat for the wedding. And get rid of those open toed shoes, they are ugly on any woman…..rgggh!

  10. Hands down the pastel stripes in Singapore – just a nice integration of colors. I scratch my head at the pairing with the blue floral – nothing ties together in this, not the colors, not the form. The outfit from the Monaco wedding would have been the winner if the floral explosion wasn’t fighting with the hat, as other than the offending explosion the colors, textures and forms play nicely together.

    • I agree with you that it looks best with the striped dress. I think the Monaco wedding dress would have looked better with a smaller more elegant hat.

  11. I love the hat, and Máxima has the stature and personality to carry it off. The hat itself, has a very Dutch reference, taking its form from the hats of the Dutch Poltroons seen in paintings like Rembrandt’s Night Watch in the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam. My personal preference is the orange crepe dress from the Monaco wedding. A great color for Máxima that complements the hat, and makes the ensemble glow.

  12. 1) Monaco wedding
    2) Blue and white floral
    3) Pastel stripes. This is in fact the only pairing I really don’t like, probably because I don’t like the outfit, too bland. Maybe in person it was more “alive”. The hat is nice. I find myself wishing her outfit was more vibrant like the lady behind her in the lime/peach dress.

  13. I do love Queen Máxima’s hat and it suits her so well, however, I don’t adore any of the pairings with these outfits. if I must choose, I would go for the Monaco wedding, though I don’t like the big ruffly thing on one shoulder of the dress which competes for attention with the hat and spoils its impact somewhat. I would like to see her make another attempt at wearing it, and I think a pairing with burnt orange, blood orange, caramel or chocolate brown could be interesting.

  14. Fabulous hat. So versatile but not boring at all. It looks amazing with all three dresses (not something you can say about most hats)

  15. I’m glad this hat worked so nicely with all three dresses, but my favorite dress is the lovely pastel stripe worn in Singapore.

  16. I want to like the orange pairing best but I have to give it to the pastel stripes. The blue dress I don’t like at all – if it was a more cobalt shade of blue with a whiter background – like real Delft blue – I could like it though. As it is now it looks more like upholstery fabric.

  17. My favorite outfit is the pastel striped dress in Singapore. The blue and white dress is a close second. It’s a beautiful dress and the pattern looks like a Delft piece and feels SOOO Dutch!

  18. I like it best with the Singapore dress. For me, it jars with the colours of the peplum dress although the shape is wonderful.

    • I agree about the hat’s colors jarring with the blue and white peplum dress. I like all three outfits, and especially the hat, but find the initial Monaco dress the most spectacular pairing with the hat.

  19. My vote goes for the hat with the silk striped skirt worn in Singapore. I like the soft look head to toe. Queen Maxima carries off the large brim with style and confidence.

    • agreed! best with the pastel stripes.

      the orange pleated (chiffon?) from the monegasque wedding would have needed a more elegant material for the headgear. the white & navy floral is just meh with this hat – some other colour would have lifted it 1 or 2 levels above average.

Leave a Reply

