Seeing Double: Duchess of Cornwall

Royal HatsYesterday, we compared two leaf-trimmed Philip Treacy hats in our first October poll. Mr. Treacy has not only embellished tall crowned hats with these unique leaves, as you can see here from the Duchess of Cornwall’s hat closet:

Duchess of Cornwall, December 10, 2007 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats Duchess of Cornwall, March 10, 2014 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Launching ‘The Queen Victoria’, December 10, 2007; at the Commonwealth Observance Service, March 10, 2014

These hats, which appear to have a beret or cap style base, have noticeable differences (colour, base shape, placement of the leaf trim) but are undeniably related. This style of hat is quite a departure from what Camilla usually wears, which makes it even more curious that she chose two. It works perfectly with her hairstyle, so perhaps that’s the reason?

Photos from Getty as indicated

22 thoughts on “Seeing Double: Duchess of Cornwall

  1. I like both hats and agree that they both have boldness and dash. The lighter coloured “Autumn Swoosh” hat gets my vote because I find it well executed, witty and fun. I also applaud the way Camilla matches her hats with her outfits so that the whole is greater than the sum of the parts. That’s a skill/art that goes way beyond colour coordination and one that evades many younger royals such as the York princesses.

  2. I know this is a hat blog, but how can we not talk about the giant diamond stick bug she’s sporting in the blue outfit?

  3. Was this woman born to wear hats, or what?? Both look lovely on her, and while I love that colour of blue, I agree with the comment that the style is a bit too Queen Mum-sy, and lacks Cam’s usual panache. I am really taken with the beige one, especially how it fits, but confess I would prefer it in a different colour .

    • I agree Caroline, Camilla can really wear a hat. I like the oyster hat better too for the same reason, the style is just a little more out there with the flyaway effect of the leaves and it was obviously something different to what we are used to from The Duchess. The outfit she was wearing was really flattering and complimentary and as is often the case with Camilla, totally appropriate. This hat was a fun change. Thanks for the post.

  4. While I like these hats enough, I think Camilla is at her very best on a big, dramatic hat – she’s someone who can really carry them off.

  5. The blue hat and outfit look good. The leaf idea works on the blue hat because it is unexpected as we don’t think we will see blue leaves. The second hat carries the idea away too literally, and at first glance it looks like it is a windy day and a pile of leaves have blown onto Camilla’s head. I’ll take the blue hat thanks.

  6. Its lovely to see the shape of leaves used on hats rather than feathers. I love it! The white hat looks very much alive; but the blue leaves remind me of fondant!

  7. Although I like the Duchess of Cornwall in big hats, these two leaf hats are interesting and very attractive. I remember the oyster-colored but like the blue even better. The style is beautiful with the Duchess’s signature hairstyle.

  8. Has Camilla worn these hats very much? I can’t recall seeing the blue one before. I agree that this shade of blue is very nice on her.

    • I agree. But did anyone else notice that the leaves on all these hats are exactly the same? It’s almost like the same cookie cutter was used to make them!

      Thank you for sharing this. I don’t know how you keep all these hats straight but it is so interesting to compare them (more than just look at them) the way you do. I feel like I’ve learned so much about hats from this blog!

  9. The oyster version offers up a little more lighthearted spirit and to use an old fashioned word, dash. I fear the blue, while still very attractive, reminds me a bit too much of those feathery, all over confections the Queen Mother once wore. The Duchess is able to safely express some of her sass through her hats. Good on her!

  10. I personally prefer her larger hats. The second hat has leaves that look like they are ready to blow away! i do like the pale blue color of the first hat. That color really suits her.

  11. These are both great. I think hats need some oomph to cope with Camilla’s hair, and these two have the exuberant leaves to make up for their smaller size.

  12. I agree. That blue colour is delicious on Camilla. I am not a fan of the enormous hats she favours, so I am a big an of this one.

  13. The pale blue color is superb with the Duchess’s pale coloring and she looks lovely. Ditto with the lighter color ensemble. I like the first hat better; the leaves on the second hat are bigger, more stylized, and a bit distracting. Nonetheless, Camilla looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

