British Royals Participate in Remembrance Service

Members of the British Royal Family attended the annual Remembrance Service at the Cenotaph on Whitehall yesterday morning. Queen Elizabeth led her family in a black cloche hat wrapped with a tall diagonal band around the crown. Her hat, one of several she has in this style, was trimmed with curling feather spines, a black side bow and wide satin piping around the brim and crown.

   

Designer: Angela Kelly
Previously Worn: November 13, 2011

The Duchess of Cornwall repeated her large straw picture hat wrapped in ostrich feathers.

Designer: Philip Treacy
Previously Worn: May 1, 2014; November 11, 2012; November 12, 2011; November 9, 2008

The Duchess of Cambridge wore a petite black modified trilbey with square, indented crown and brim that curled up around the back. The hat was trimmed with a large knotted ribbon tail in the same wool felt as the hat, with beaded detail around the knot. While in the first picture, the hat and coordinating coat look navy, they were indeed black.

 

Designer: Jane Corbett
Previously Worn: November 13, 2011

The Countess of Wessex wore a black velour felt percher hat trimmed with organdy ribbon curls.

Designer: Jane Taylor (this hat looks like a bespoke version of the ‘Ruby’ design)
Previously Worn: I believe this hat is new

My commentary today is rather thin- with all of the events in Great Britain and around the world leading up to this year’s celebration of Remembrance Day, hat commentary doesn’t feel necessary. We have seen most of these hats before but I am curious, dear readers, what you thought of them yesterday? We will look at hats worn by other British Royal Family members later today.

Photos from Getty as indicated

15 thoughts on “British Royals Participate in Remembrance Service

  1. I like the shape of the Queen’s hat, but there is too much trim, especially for a solemn occasion. Black doesn’t suit her and makes her look washed out, so I understand why she only wears black when she has to. I like the Duchess of Cambridge’s outfit, and I like the hat on her, though I’m not a fan of her other hats that come down over her face. The proportions of this hat are good. I don’t think the beads are necessary. She is wearing the poppy brooch she received as a gift on her Aussie tour, so it’s good that she actually uses her gifts. The Countess of Wessex is wearing a coat way too large for her but I do like her hat, though it also seems a bit too big for her. I don’t like the Duchess of Cornwall’s huge hat with an excess of ostrich feathers, and I agree with poster Louise E, “Camilla’s hat looks a little tatty with the plumes a bit bedraggled hanging over the brim.”

  2. I love all of these hats, but I suppose mourning hats aren’t something any of us have an abundance of, so as a hat & royal watcher, I found it slightly awkward Kate and Camilla wore the same hats to the same event in 2011 and 2014. But Remembrance Day isn’t about the hats ultimately, so I won’t complain otherwise.

  3. When Kate wore this hat a few years ago, it was one of my favorites at the time. As a matter of fact, the coat she wore that day was my favorite Rememberance Day looks.
    Now, the new hat worn by Sophie, has become my favorite for this day.
    Some have mentioned the coat being too large for Sophie. She seems to have lost some weight this year. I read she is running and it seems to be paying off. She looks fit and healthy.

  4. When I see The Duchess of Cambridge in a hat like this, I just wonder why she then chooses much more smaller percher hats a lot of the time. I think the scale of this hat is very good on her and I think it is a very chic but entirely respectful choice. I don’t have a problem with the beads on it obviously as I don’t think they detract from the solemnity of the occasion at all (sorry Lyn). Camilla’s hat looks a little tatty with the plumes a bit bedraggled hanging over the brim. Thanks

  5. I like all the hats, but maybe Sophie’s best. I think HM’s hat would win if the feather spines were omitted. To me, the bow and the slanted crown are enough embellishment.
    Overall, four great hats~!

  6. The Duchess of Cambridge’s hat is my favorite. I normally don’t like the Queen’s tilted hats, but I really like this one–perhaps because it’s all in black.

  7. With the exception of the Countess of Wessex’s new model, these hats are just a reshuffling of previous years’ Remembrance services. Since the royals wear black just for specific occasions, there is a limit on the number of black hats they need. Camilla’s is the most exuberant, the Queen’s the most appropriate.

  8. The Royal ladies all looked appropriate for the occasion. The Countess’ hat and coat both look too large for her frame. She seems to be losing a lot of weight. Either that or the coat wasn’t fitted properly. Even with that, she still looked good. I have seen other photos of the event that featured the two Duchesses and the Countess and they were all smiling and chatting together in a few of them. They seem to be supportive friends and they all seem to get along beautifully. I get a kick out of them being together, because merriment generally ensues. Of the four hats, I like the Queen’s the best followed by Kate’s. The other two are okay and suitable for the occasion, but I am neutral on both.

  9. Not a fan of the ostrich feathers but the other three hats look good. The Countess of Wessex´ coat looks to big in size and the bulkiness distracts the eye from the lovely hat.

  10. All four of these hats are suitable for the occasion, but they are also interesting / attractive enough to stand on their own as hats. The Queen never wears black except on occasions of mourning or remembrance, but I think the other three all do. It will be interesting to see if these hats are worn at other events, or whether their owners think of them specifically as remembrance / mourning hats.

  11. I think they all look perfect for this event, respectful but chic. Two tithings I wondered though…

    1) It was a lovely day in London yesterday, bet even so, wasn’t Camilla a bit chilly?
    2) What did Sophie and Kate say when they realised they had the same coat on?!

  12. HM looks appropriate, although the coat does seem bulky. Looking at the three others side by side in the bottom photo, I would say that Kate seems the most “put together” and cohesive. Sophie’s hair seems a tad underdone in the shot of her alone, but it’s hard to know whether her hat would have looked better with her hair down, or Kate’s better with her hair up! I do like the style of Kate’s hat, it’s sort of Regency chic without being fussy. An idle thought is to wonder if Camilla’s hat is intended as some sort of nod to the “bearskin” hats some regiments wear?

    • Excellent thought on Camilla’s hat, since it seemed not in keeping with the day to wear a frou-frou hat. The coats are different (check out the vertical seams in Sophie’s). The Queen always is the most appropriate of all (solely by virtue of her being the Queen -lol), but here I think Sophie nailed it. The little polka dots on Kate’s hat seem horribly wrong -she shd have either taken them off or camouflaged them in some way.

Leave a Reply

