One Hat, Five Coats

Royal HatsOne of the Duchess of Cambridge’s go-to winter hats is the black felt “Fairy Tale” embellished beret designed by Sylvia Fletcher of Lock & Co. We have seen Kate step in this hat paired with four outfits: a teal LK Bennet dress and jacket;  a dark green Emilia Wickstead coat; a black Temperly  coat; and a blue Missoni coat (over a patterned blue Whistles dress). Which outfit do you think has worked best with this hat?

Duchess of Cambridge, March 8, 2012 in Sylvia Fletcher for Lock & Co. | Royal Hats    Duchess of Cambridge, March 17, 2013 in Sylvia Fletcher for Lock & Co. | Royal Hats

On a March 8, 2012 Jubilee visit with the Queen; Visiting the Irish Guards at Aldershot, March 17, 2013

Duchess of Cambridge, November 10, 2013 in Sylvia Fletcher for Lock & Co. | Royal Hats Duchess of Cambridge, March 29, 2014 in Sylvia Fletcher for Lock & Co. | Royal Hats

Remembrance Day Service, November 10, 2013; at a country wedding, March 29, 2014

UPDATE: Kate repeated this hat with a tweed suit from Michael Kors, adding a fifth ensemble to this mix:

25 thoughts on “One Hat, Five Coats

  1. I guess I’m the only one who favorites the Irish Guard visit outfit with this hat. But I think this hat looks best with her hair up.

    • I agree! The accessories are so much better balanced with this outfit. I love Kate but she’s not good at balancing her outfits. The last one (the blue Missoni coat) looks totally random. Maybe if she wore the coat open so the dress showed (it has black in it) it would have worked better.

  2. The first one. That outfit looks put together. I like that she mixes and matches a lot, but sometimes elements are just chucked together and don’t look like a good ‘whole’. I feel that applies to 2 and 4, though I quite like it with the Remembrance Day rigout.

  3. I like it with the first outfit best. I find myself wondering what kind of hat best suits long hair worn down? because she wears her hair down mostly, so that should be maybe more of a consideration?

  4. i like it best with the LK Bennett suit. I would like to see her in more tailored, less fussy hats in general, but I’m a hoodie wearing american so my opinion bears little weight.

  5. I don’t like the hat at all either. Having said that, it looks best at the Remembrance Day service. Honestly, I don’t like most of her hats. Camilla does better with her hats, and so does Sophie Wessex in general. Kate needs a bigger hat because she has so much hair and her head is a bit large for some of the little hats and fascinaters.

  6. The first one. The black eye makeup is too severe and she at times looks far older than she is. The hair has to be cut. She is getting pass the 20 something mark. Counters with that black eye makeup. Time for change.

  7. Oh dear. This hat does nothing for her facial shape, too stumpy, like only the top of a mushroom, or like a child’s bowl haircut. But since that mass of hair overwhelms any look, does it really matter? At least it doesn’t look like a chicken nesting or veggie scrubbie (oops, pouf) fascinator.

  8. Definitely the first one. I like that it matches her belt on this and the position of the hat on her head. On the other hand, I am not a fan of this hat style on the Duchess.

  9. I love it with either of the latter outfits, I don’t really find it works with the teal or green. I would love to see it paired with the black dress that the Countess of Wessex wore to Ascot and the Zambian state funeral.

Leave a Reply

