Danish Royals Remember Close Friend

Members of the Danish Royal Family attended the funeral of long time family friend Peter Heering yesterday. For this farewell, Queen Margrethe repeated her black wool rounded-crown hat with faux fur bumper brim and large button trim. Princess Benedikte wore a petite black hat with piping around the upturned brim and a short black veil.

Queen Margrethe and Princess Benedikte, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats Queen Margrethe and Princess Benedikte, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats

Crown Princess Mary wore a larger scale black hourglass shaped wool hat with silk band around the base of the crown. Princess Mary’s hat was trimmed with a large black silk bloom and slim bow loops.

Crown Princess Mary, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats

All eyes in the royal world will be on Copenhagen later today when the Danish royals welcome the Dutch King and Queen on state visit. As King Willem-Alexander is Queen Margrethe’s godson and the families have a close relationship, we can expect some rather grand and glittering events.

Photos from Getty as indicated

7 thoughts on “Danish Royals Remember Close Friend

  1. I like all the hats but I think Benedikte’s is best, then Margrethe’s hat, then Mary’s. While I like Mary’s hat, it seems a bit out of place at a funeral. It looks more like a hat shape for the races, and the flower on it is odd for a funeral hat.

  2. I really like Princess Benedikte’s hat especially with her short haircut. The veil is a nice touch. Queen Margrethe’s hat is also nice.

    I don’t like Princess Mary’s hat. It is too big and dwarfs her head.

    They are all appropriate hats for a funeral. I read that Peter Heering’s wife is Queen Margrethe’s best friend.

  3. I really like Princess Mary’s hat, and I don’t mind the other two at all. I rather like Princess Bennedikte’s hat. I have a big head so I can’t wear those little hats, but I think they are really cute. It reminds me of some of Diana’s little hats back in the early eighties.

  4. Queen Margrethe and Princess Benedikte really look alike, espcially when they dress in such a similar (and very elegant) way. Benedikte’s hat is not my favourite shape.
    I was surprised at the flower on Mary’s hat for a funeral. The hat is really beautiful by itself but, how should I say, it seemed a little too cheerful for a sad occasion. Maybe the late Mr Heering wanted a happy goodbye, because the faces of the attendees are not so sad either?

Leave a Reply

