Dutch Monarchs Join Sail Aruba

King Willem-Alexander and Queen Máxima continued their visit to Dutch territory in the Caribbean with a stop on Friday in Oranjested, Aruba. There, the royal couple took park in Sail Aruba as part of celebrations for the 200th anniversary of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the 350th anniversary of the Marine Corps. For these festivities, Queen Máxima chose a new hat to top her tropical white suit.

Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats

In pinky beige straw, her brimless calot hat featured none of the plumes or blooms we usually see on royal hats- instead, the design of the hat included gentle waves moulded into the straw that gave considerable visual interest and movement to the piece. Queen Máxima anchored the hat with simple pearl hat pins that coordinated with her pearl jewellery.

Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats   Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats

There are things I like about this hat-  I like that the design is creative and unusual and I thought it hit just the right note of formality on a day that saw the royal couple start a sailing race and enjoy fresh coconut water right from the fruit (and sport some funky sunglasses!). While the shape is interesting and creative, this calot has crossed the line into helmet territory and that’s not something I can get behind. It’s cool and very high fashion but I’m not sure it’s attractive.

Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, May 1, 2015 in Eudia | Royal Hats

What did you think of Queen Máxima’s new hat?

Desginer: Eudia
Previously Worn: This is a new hat

Photos from Patrick van KatwijkPatrick van KatwijkPatrick van KatwijkPatrick van KatwijkPatrick van KatwijkPatrick van KatwijkPatrick van Katwijk and Patrick van Katwijk via Corbis

18 thoughts on “Dutch Monarchs Join Sail Aruba

  1. Love her suit–stunning! Also love her pearl necklace and earrings, but am not a fan of this hat. It isn’t the worst hat she’s ever worn, but a see-through brim in one of her big hats in a different shade of beige would have made her beautiful suit and accessories pop. I usually love white and most shades of beige together as it somehow seems elegant, but it is the combination of the calot style and the odd beige color that detract from her look. Beautiful fit, though, on her dress and enviable tanned skin.

  2. I always either love or loathe her hats. This hat is one I loathe. It looks like a helmet made out of skin. It has no association with her suit or vintage pearl jewels.

  3. This suit on Queen Maxima is absolutely stunning! Looking this great in a structured white suit after having three gorgeous children is just amazing. Bravo Max! The hat… I think the idea of it is interesting but it just doesn’t work for me. The color is just ok (ties in with her shoes) and luckily the color and style of her hair works but it’s just too stiff and helmet-like. I’ll just focus on the suit, pearls, sunglasses, and as always her lovely smile!

  4. I love her chic white suit and jewels. The hat is too helmet-like for my taste. The colour is too flesh-coloured.

  5. I think one of her trademark large hats in white and a small touch of a vivid color would have looked much better. I to have a blinding image of an anatomical part etched in my mind after the above comment. A Queens hat should never approach that sort of mental image.

  6. I agree – there’s things I like and things I don’t. It’s by far from her worst titfer and it goes so well with her suit.

    But I’m afraid I just keep thinking it looks like, well, erm, the end of a willy…

  7. The hat looks like mask with a wrinkled forehead. Combined with the round glasses it makes me think of an ageing and eccentric movie star. Her white outfit is beautiful and appropriate.

  8. Some angles of this hat leave me with an OK feeling about it – but the ones that show the peaked part at the top middle make me think ‘ick!’ I also would have liked to have seen the hat done in a more yellow based beige vs the pinky beige it’s in. I do like the couple’s over all look today – Max works better today with her King then she did yesterday in their off – pairing of garment choices.

  9. I mostly like – it doesn’t cross into helmet territory for me at all. But I agree that the color is weird. Not right for such a sunny locale and occasion. It makes me thinks her head must be really hot.

    • I agree. I would have thought that in that location and climate something with a brim would have been better suited. And the colour is just, well, boring!

Leave a Reply

