Swedish Royals Welcome Indian State Visit

The Swedish Royal Family welcomed Indian President Shri Pranab Mukherjee yesterday for the start of a three-day state visit. Crown Princess Victoria met the Indian delegation at the Stockholm airport in a new picture hat. Made of blush pink straw, the hat featured an unusual off-centre peak atop the crown, a mushroom shaped brim and a signature Treacy looped bow trim at the side. Philip Treacy’s SS 2015 collection features a number of hats with this distinctive peaked crown shape, a shape that feels new and very creative. The crown’s more masculine shape contrasts well with the hat’s traditional brim and provided the edginess needed to keep Victoria’s all pink ensemble from looking overly sweet.

Crown Princess Victoria, May 31, 2015 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Crown Princess Victoria, May 31, 2015 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designer: Philip Treacy. I believe this hat is a bespoke piece similar to OC-904 from SS 2015
Previously Worn: This hat is new

Queen Silvia topped her royal blue suit (not purple, as it shows below) with a coordinating calot hat trimmed with a spray of feathers at the back. Calot hats are such a complimentary shape for Silvia’s hairtstyle and the feather trim gave this one some light hearted personality. The colour is beautiful on Her Majesty and her printed blouse pulled the ensemble into perfect balance. It’s a good look for Silvia, don’t you agree?

Queen Silvia, May 31, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: I believe this is a new hat

Prince Carl Philip and his fiancée, Sofia Hellqvist, joined the group for official photos. Sofia wore pale pink fascinator bow with feathers around the back of her chignon (you can see a great view of it here). This is a pretty enough piece that seems fitting in her not-quite-royal-yet role. I hope after she officially joins the royal family on June 13, she will retire these small fascinators in favour of more substantial millinery pieces.

Swedish Royal Family, May 31, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown. My guess is Malinda Damgaard. 
Previously Worn: I believe this is a new fascinator

Photos from Sören Andersson / TT and Kungahuset.se via The Swedish Royal Court; HOP/Newspix and HOP/Newspix via Corbis

20 thoughts on “Swedish Royals Welcome Indian State Visit

  1. So nice to see Victoria in a proper hat! And I even like this one. I do wish her outfit had been just a shade more definite in colour, though. Silvia looked great. Comparing her ensemble to that of Queen Margrethe in a similarly monochrome outfit, I agree, Hat Queen, that Silvia’s hair is a key factor in breaking up the solid colour and making the whole thing work. Sofia’s hair bow is better than no hair ornament at all, but I do hope for greater things!

  2. Oh how wonderful to see Victoria wearing what could almost be a picture hat. She has the height and body shape to pull on off with ease, as indeed she has on this occasion. I would have to say the blue ribbon goes to Victoria with an honourable mention for soon to be princess Sophia.

  3. It’s fantastic to see Victoria in a wide brimmed hat again! Definitely my favorite. Silvia looks amazing in this color, but I do wish she would bring some brimmed hats back into the rotation; the pillboxes and calots are starting to bore me. Sofia looked very appropriate as an incoming member of the family.

  4. I’m in the minority here but I don’t care for CP Victoria’s hat. I think it looks best straight on (first photo) but on an angle the crown looks so high that it looks like the hat is floating above her head. Maybe if she angled it the other way? I do like the size for her and I hope for a re-wear at another angle.

    Q Silvia looks AMAZE! Chic as all get out.

    Sofia… it’s fine. I don’t think this color is her best (I have similar coloring and have a heard time wearing pastels) and I also find the dress a bit twee. I think the fascinator is good for an almost-royal.

  5. Victoria flat-out ROCKED that hat! I LOVED it on her! I’m a fool for purple, too (red is my other favorite color!) and I DO like a calot hat, so Silvia was great, for me. I also liked Sofia’s fascinator. I would’ve liked a proper hat, but then again, maybe she’s trying to ease her way into the royal arena, as has already been mentioned. I liked the color against that interesting chignon she had going on.

    But all in all, Victoria wins this one, for me!

  6. Crown Princess Victoria looked wonderful but I wish her coat would have had a closure on it so she wouldn’t have had to hold it close in what looks like windy weather. Queen looked beautiful but has she hurt her arm since she wasn’t fully wearing her jacket?

    • She fractured her shoulder/upper arm in a ski accident in march. She has had a lot of slings made from matching blouse material or scarves. I am a bit surprised to see she still “carries” her arm with the other hand like that

  7. Love CP Victoria’s hat! Love it! She looks spectacular!
    Q Silvia looks as good as ever. Always so pulled together.
    Soon-to-be-princess Sofia looks very nice, even though we can’t see much of her hair ornament. I’m not even going to call it a fascinator.

    • I’m with you here. You might as well call the hair bows Pcss Estelle wears fascinators. Sofia looks very nice otherwise though. Really lovely in fact.

      • Actually LadyLou, I find I have to agree. It was just a little Whimsy which would have made more impact had it been placed on the side where it could at least be seen.

  8. Love Vic’s hat, though I can’t decide if I like this new crown shape or not.
    Lovely updo on Sofia, just wish she had positioned the fascinator to be visible from the front.

  9. Queen Silvia’s purple suit with a coordinating calot hat are perfect on her. I like the simple trim of a spray of feathers at the back. She really suits calots. Crown Princess Victoria really suits a picture hat. I like the blush pink color on her, the mushroom shaped brim, and the looped bow trim, but I can’t take to the off-centre peak atop the crown. I don’t think Sofia Hellqvist’s fascinator was adequate for a State visit.

    • I agree with what TiarasRUs says: June 1, 2015 at 1:14 pm. While I like Crown Princess Victoria’s hat and outfit overall, that peak distracts my eye to looking upwards, whereas a hat should make people focus on the wearer. Queen Silvia’s purple calot and suit look smashing on her. I thought Sofia Hellqvist’s fascinator was nice, but not adequate for a State visit, and I might add, I don’t like the way we can’t see it from the front. She looks a bit washed out in this pastel pink.

  10. Blimey it’s been a while since we’ve seen Victoria in a hat this size! I think on scale alone that means I love it! She suits a large brim and her outfits is very pulled together and elegant. Hussah!

Leave a Reply

