Inventory: The Duchess of Cornwall’s Cream Hats

Duchess of Cornwall turns to cream straw hats as her summer millinery staple and, as in years past, we have seen her wear several this season. A number of you have curiously inquired about Camilla’s cream/ecru/beige hats, inspiring me to introduce a new feature. Here are all the hats in this category in her millinery closet:

1. Duchess of Cornwall, September 9, 2008 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  2. Duchess of Cornwall, June 20, 2007 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  3. Duchess of Cornwall, June 14, 2005 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designers: all Philip Treacy
Introduced: June 18, 2007; June 20, 2007; June 14, 2005

 4. Duchess of Cornwall, June 17, 2015 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats 5. Duchess of Cornwall, June 18, 2014 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  6. Duchess of Cornwall, July 19, 2010 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designers: all Philip Treacy
Introduced: June 18, 2013; June 18, 2014; May 8, 2005

7. Duchess of Cornwall, April 23, 2006 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  8. Duchess of Cornwall, September 9, 2005 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  9. Duchess of Cornwall, June 9, 2005 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designers: all Philip Treacy
Introduced: April 23, 2006; June 11, 2005; July 2, 2002

10. Duchess of Cornwall, October 2, 2011 | Royal Hats  11. Duchess of Cornwall, July 26, 2006 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  12. Duchess of Cornwall, November 9, 2012 | Royal Hats

Designers: unconfirmed. I suspect those on the left and right are from Lock & Co.
Introduced: April 22, 2009; March 23, 2006; November 9, 2012

13. Trooping Duchess of Cornwall, June 11, 2011 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  14. Duchess of Cornwall, July 20, 2010 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  15. Duchess of Cornwall, June 19, 2007 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designers: all Philip Treacy
Introduced: April 9, 2005; July 20, 2010; June 19, 2007

16. Carmilla Parker Bowles, June 1, 2004 | Royal Hats  17. Duchess of Cornwall, June 16, 2007 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  18. Duchess of Cornwall, May 12, 2009 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designers: all Philip Treacy
Introduced: June 1, 2004; June 20, 2006; June 19, 2006

19. Duchess of Cornwall, June 3, 2012 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  20. Duchess of Cornwall, Noember 6, 2012 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  21. Duchess of Cornwall, June 13, 2015 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designers: all Philip Treacy
Introduced: June 3, 2012;  November 5, 2012; June 16, 2009

22. Duchess of Cornwall, October 23, 2013 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  23. Duchess of Cornwall, August 25, 2013 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats  24. Duchess of Cornwall, March 10, 2014 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Designers: Philip Treacy; Lock & Co.; and Philip Treacy
Introduced:  October 23, 2013; August 12, 2012; March 10, 2014
Camilla also has a cream hat with navy trim that warrants inclusion here:
25.  Duchess of Cornwall, mAY 8, 2009 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats
Designer: Philip Treacy
Introduced: July 20, 2005
I included the last hat, made of felt, as it is the only cream winter hat in Camilla’s wardrobe to date. With the addition of this hat, which we have not had a good view of yet, there are 26 in total. Putting this lineup together, I was surprised how many have a similar feel. When you look at this group of hats, dear readers, what do you notice?
Photos from Getty as indicated; Bauer Griffin, Pool and WPA Pool via Zimbio; Peter Macdiarmid, Getty/Pool and WPA Pool via Getty; IKM/ /Splash News/Corbis; and Chris Jackson via Getty
32 thoughts on “Inventory: The Duchess of Cornwall’s Cream Hats

  1. There are some gorgeous hats here with some marvellous silhouettes. However where some are troubled by unkempt hair among the younger royals I have an issue albeit a minor one with madam’s hair. I believe this style dates back to the 80’s. Not to worry. She looks pretty darn terrific.

  2. When you consider that she might need to wear four or five hats a week it doesn’t seem like that many. I imagine it would take a lot of time and bother to keep changing out the trims. Not to mention the damage you do to the hat every time you add or remove trim. Think about the girls you know with a closet full of black shoes or the guys with three dozen plaid sport shirts. And no one is taking their picture!

  3. Embed from Getty Images

  4. I don’t like 2, 11 or 18. Otherwise, there are some stunning hats here. My favourites are: 1, 3, 4, 6, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 20. Thanks for bringing us such a great selection of hats HatQueen.

  5. With so many similar hats, I think she’s inviting criticism from those who begrudge the money spent on the monarchy. Especially with the Princess Royal being such a phenomenal recycler of hats and outfits.

    • I thought that too, like where are all these hats? Sitting in the closet forever knowing they’ll be replaced with another twin very soon?
      But regardless of that I think most of these hats suit her very well-she is very stylish and knows what works for her.

    • I suspect most members of the public wouldn’t even register that there are so many different ones! Also, I think it would be somewhat unjust to compare her to Princess Anne (although the Press might well be inclined to do it). Camilla is the wife of the heir to the throne, she attends more high profile events such as greeting visitors of state, and she’s only had a decade to assemble an appropriate wardrobe, so I’m sure she’s acquired hats at a faster rate than Anne, because she doesn’t have the back catalogue to access, as it were. She’s certainly worn many of them more than once, and although she might have jettisoned some, I’m sure we’ll see many of them again and again in years to come.

      • Good point- the royal born princesses seem to gently start acquiring hats when they come of age and their millinery wardrobes cycle pieces in and out throughout their lives. Those who marry into the family have to create an entire wardrobe (including hats) from scratch, which I suspect means major shopping in the first few years. Charles and Camilla married in 2005- interesting to note that 13 of these 25 hats appeared within the first two and a half years of their marriage. As you said, marrying the heir put Camilla immediately into a high profile position (not to mention the huge fashion shoes she was expected to fill).

        I think it’s also important to note that a number of these hats have not been seen in several years and may have already been retired. I suspect that most of us have few pieces in our closets today that were there ten years ago!

  6. I would wager my very last nickel that I’ll be in the minority, but with soooo many beautiful hats sooo similar, my eye is drawn to the last one, #24, with the wonderful airborne, autumnal leaves! It’s a cross-breed of hat and fascinator, me thinks!

  7. Single-handedly keeping Philip Treacey is business! I’m kidding, of course, but she certainly knows what she likes and doesn’t mind having several. I would love to get a look at her millinery closet! Can you imagine? This is only the cream/white hats; there must be dozens more!
    Thank you, Camilla Duchess of Cornwall for keeping milliners in business and hat fanciers entertained.

  8. Quite a lot of similarity here. It does make you wonder why you need so many that are essentially the same. Wouldn’t some retrimming or the ability to swap out trims (I don’t know how possible that really is) be more practical if you are going for a “uniform” look. #’s 7, 11, 22, 23 & 24 are not terribly flattering to Camilla, so if any of them have to go these would be the first on my list. My favorites are #13 (this is her wedding hat, yes?) & #9

  9. What a collection of similar hats! They’re a practical color, I guess, that will go with so many outfits. Hats #13, #4 and #15 are my favorites, #2, #11 and #23 my least favorites.
    Those hats that have other colors as well as those that match a coat’s fabric exactly I can understand, but several of the hats seem like unnecessary duplication: #4 and #5, #7 and #9, #12 and #19 and #21.
    Thank you for corralling all these together!

  10. I like 13, 14, and 15. 13 reminds me, for some reason, of the hat she wore on her wedding day. That said, I also like the last 3; 22, 23, and 24 because they are different from the large hats she usually wears and I think they look nice on her as well as her larger hats. As for the reason she has so many hats, I guess she feels since she has so many public appearances, she needs to vary them, and her husband can afford them. Obviously, she feels pretty in cream and white and the color goes with most other colors.

  11. First time commenting. Love your blog and think this is a brilliant addition. Thank you!!
    Makes me realize how different the royals are from the rest of us that she would have so many similar hats. I prefer hats #7, 8 and 9. Do not care for the look of #14. #11 reminds me of Pharrell Williams’ Vivienne Westwood hat!

  12. I, too, dislike the pith helmet that is number 11 and also number 18 which looks like exploding pigtails. I do like 15 the best, I think. But WHY so many similar hats? Obviously the lady needs to cull her hat wardrobe. I hadn’t realized how often she wears cream. Interesting.

  13. I knew she had a lot of white and off white hats but I didn’t think it was 25!

    There are a few I have never seen before (#14, 15, 16, 17). I’d like to see #15 again because it looks like it might be a lot of fun.

    • Here’s a photo
      Embed from Getty Images

      • Thanks for the close up pic. I really like this one too- the big bold flowers underneath the brim and in particular, the blue trimmed feather spikes, lots of them but not so many as to overpower what is rather a feminine hat. The lattice look of the crown is so flattering and soft to the wearer, so yes please, a few more outings for this one. Thanks.

  14. Aside from one or two of these, I really like them. There are a few I just adore and wish I had occasion (and the hair) to pull them off! I commend Camilla for picking a style and knowing what works for her!

Leave a Reply

