Birthday of Crown Princess Mette-Marit

Royal HatsCrown Princess Mette-Marit of Norway celebrates her 42nd birthday today! As we send her our best wishes for her health and happiness, it’s also an opportunity to suggest a hat for her to repeat in the coming year. My choice is a pale pink Fabienne Delvigne design in gossamer straw with an unfinished brim that broadly curls up on one side. The rough edge on the brim gives lightness to the piece that I think works so well for the Crown Princess. What hat would you like to see Princess Mette-Marit bring out again this year?

2007-05-17 National Day

Crown Princess Mette Marit on National Day, May 17, 2013

Photo from Patrick van Katwijk via Monarchy Press Europe

22 thoughts on “Birthday of Crown Princess Mette-Marit

  1. Of everything I have seen her in, lately this is the best, I like that the hat actually sits on her head, the color is beautiful on her and the lightness of the hat is perfect. For me this is a winner and something I bet we don’t see again for a long time. This pretty woman needs help in the clothing/hat dept for because it costs lots of money does not mean it is prefect for that particular person.

    • I agree with what HatQueen says: August 19, 2015 at 10:31 pm. I think this brown hat is a good shape on her and a good contrast with her blonde hair too.

  2. It is difficult to find actual hats for M-M to use as a repeat. Wool caps, ribbons, the odd fascinator and an occasional back-of-the head item, but actual hats? So few!

    • She certainly has not worn many. This one, with its large mushroom brim, is such a contrast from what she now wears that I’m afraid, we’re not likely to see it again. I suppose that black hats have a greater chance of repeat than others but don’t think we’ll see this one again.

      • I agree with what HatQueen says: August 19, 2015 at 10:37 pm. I don’t really want to see this one again because although it is a great hat, the shape doesn’t really flatter her.

  3. I would love to see again the wider-brimmed cream hat with navy edge stripes she wore a few times in the mid-to-late 2000s.

  4. Thanks to our earlier discussions this year from a wonderful contributor from the “windy city,” I’m more bothered by the top hat! I hope the gent in black only paid 2/3 the price for that topper, ‘cuz that’s all he got!

  5. Almost anything but those horrid headbands! I’d like to see her in a large-brimmed hat with her hair nicely pulled into a knot at her nape.. She is pretty and needs some help putting her wardrobe together, with hats!!!

Leave a Reply

