Queen Elizabeth At The Races

Queen Elizabeth was all smiles at Qipco Champions Day today at Ascot Racecourse, dressed head to toe in fuzzy peach bouclé. Her hat, with a slightly sloped crown and straw brim, is one we’ve seen multiple times on Her Majesty before. While the colour and fabric are not my favourites, I do like the trim on this piece-  four peach feathers anchored by two fabric disks and a slim knotted bow. With such a textured crown, it might seem that multiple hat trims would easily be overkill but on this particularly piece, it’s just right.

 

10 thoughts on “Queen Elizabeth At The Races

  1. I’m deeply amused, for some reason, that HM’s people have even gone the extra step of upholstering, as it were, her hatpin with matching fabric (aren’t they generally pearl-tipped?).

  2. It is often said that the Queen is lucky that she can wear any color, but I like orange the least on her. I do like the hat shape and trim, and the straw part, but I don’t like the fabric because it looks literally like peachfuzz! I also think the Queen is wearing too much peach. It is very one note. It has a costume look, like she is opening a festival of peaches. I think the peach drains color from her.

  3. I think this is a lovely color choice for HM and something that’s different too. I don’t mind the fabric for the coat, but I don’t like the bouclé fabric on the hat; if this hat was a fur felt so the material was more smooth, I think it would look much better. I do agree the trim is excellent on this hat. Also, I never realized until I saw that last photo that the brim was actually parasisal straw!

  4. I like the hat and its trim. The color is different from the traditional turquoise or pink, but it’s certainly not my favorite outfit or color. It is orange overload.
    What bothers me most is the rumpled fabric between the top two buttons. This coat fit when it debuted in 2009, but according to the history provided above it’s been sagging more and more since March 2011. Someone should try moving the top button up a smidgeon or, failing that, putting in a snap between the top two buttons. Perhaps the fabric is too lightly woven.

  5. I absolutely loved this when I first saw it about 6 years ago, but familiarity has dampened my enthusiasm. Nonetheless, it’s clearly a favourite of Her Maj, and I’m all for getting a good cost per wear out of a much loved outfit!

Leave a Reply

