Imperial Royal Couple in Toyama

Emperor Akihito and Empress Michiko were in Toyama over the weekend to take part in the 35th National Healthy Ocean Meetings. For their arrival on Saturday, Empress Michiko repeated her large white domed saucer hat trimmed in a black and caramel bow that coordinates with her jacket. The slightly different stripe between the bow and the jacket gives a tiny bit of visual interest to the piece although I still wish the hat was a colour other than harsh white.

Empress Michiko, October 24, 2015 | Royal Hats

Empress Michiko, October 24, 2015 | Royal Hats

Empress Michiko, October 24, 2015 | Royal Hats Empress Michiko, October 24, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: My guess is Akio Hirata
Previously Worn: October 29, 2014

On Sunday, the Imperial couple attended the Healthy Ocean conference in Imizu. Empress Michiko wore one of her most oft-worn hats, a small pale grey saucer with upturned rim around the back. The petite piece is trimmed by a large charcoal grey origami flower.

Empress Michiko, October 25, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: likely Akio Hirata
Previously Worn: April 17, 2015April 17, 2015January 14, 2015;  April 11, 2014December 6, 2013; December 2, 2013

Yesterday, the Emperor and Empress capped off their three day visit with a stop at an aquaculture center in Namerikawa. Empress Michiko used the occasion to début a new hat in teal blue. Another domed saucer, this small piece is trimmed in a simple flat bow in the same fabric as her coordinating suit. It is wonderful to see the Empress in a bit of colour and pattern and I think this ensemble is very smart on her. She looks great in teal, doesn’t she?

Empress Michiko, October 26, 2015 | Royal Hats

Empress Michiko, October 26, 2015 | Royal Hats Empress Michiko, October 26, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: This hat is new

My favourite hat in this trio, by wide margin, is the new teal saucer hat the Empress wore yesterday – do you agree?

Photos from Yomiyuri; Asahi Shimbun, Asahi Shimbun, Asahi Shimbun via Getty; Ashahi Shimbun; Asahi Shimbun and Asahi Shimbun via Getty

 

15 thoughts on “Imperial Royal Couple in Toyama

  1. The Empress looks lovely in all three hats. The teal is pretty. Her clothes are always perfect. It is so wonderful to see them closely walking side by side……..they are so cute together!

  2. Hat 1 is the one I like the best. The caramel and black bow are cute and coordinate with her suit. I just wish that the hat was caramel or a beige colour instead of white. Hat 2 is my least liked of the trio. The smallness of the saucer hat and the largeness of the origami flower look so out of proportion. Hat 3 is my second favourite in the group. it is good to see the Empress in a new hat, and the teal colour is good and suits her well, though it is still a rather small saucer hat. The suit is so elegant.

  3. Empress Michiko’s saucer shaped hats bore me. I like the teal hat and suit best, as it suits her coloring and is at least some departure from her usual apparel. If I have to chose a favorite saucer shape, it would be the first one, but it looks all wrong in white.

  4. 3 gorgeous looks from the Empress! Each one is better than the last! I think the Empress looks so wonderful in those caplet sleeves and dove grey is one of my favorite colors, so of course I favor the second ensemble. And definitely agree it’s great to see this dark teal color on HIM for something new. Simply stunning all around. And she and the Emperor looks genuinely happy together in each photo, which I also love.

  5. The Empress seems to have a uniform look (as do the other women in the JRF) so I couldn’t remember one saucer hat or capelet from the next but she always exudes such an aura of serenity it makes whatever she wears look good.

  6. All three saucers are pretty, the teal especially since it’s a change from the routine off-white or gray and since it is paired with an interestingly designed jacket.

  7. I’m glad to see her in a somewhat larger hat. I’m a lifelong headache sufferer, so I can understand why she always wears those postage stamps. I still don’t like ’em though. I suppose they wouldn’t allow her to drop them entirely. I wonder what would actually happen if some senior member of the family told the Imperial Household Agency to get stuffed.

  8. RARELY do I disagree with HatQueen’s comments and her impeccable good taste, until now. I like the first hat the best, perhaps because of its larger size, even though I have never been a saucer hat fan! And yes, the teal color is a very nice diversion from the usual grey, tan, dull pallet.

  9. I’m commenting for the first time, HatQueen, after months of lurking. Thank you for the many happy hours I’ve spent (although I could say “wasted”) here.

    I agree with you on the hats. The Empress looks especially lovely in the teal. Her suit is perfection.

    • Welcome! I’m not sure that any hour spent drooling over a royal hat is truly wasted (!) and I hope you’ll join in the comments again!

      You raise a good point about the teal hat- part of why it works so well is that it’s paired with a perfect suit. The teal cutouts at the collarbone are so small but add so much and make the hat really work.

Leave a Reply

