Inventory: Queen Máxima’s Orange Hats

Royal Hats This week, we have explored the least popular colour for royal hats and peeked inside the millinery closets of the three queens who most frequently wear it. After looking at the orange hats worn by Queen Elizabeth and Queen Mathilde, we’re moving on to the royal house of Orange-Nassau whose queen, quite fittingly, rules when it comes to hats in this hue:

1. Princess Máxima, March 1, 2007 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  2. Princess Máxima, November 4, 2006 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  3. Queen Máxima, September 2, 2013 in Fabienne Deligne I Royal Hats

Designer: all Fabienne Delvigne
First Appeared: March 1, 2007; November 4, 2006September 2, 2013

4. Princess Máxima, November 2, 2011 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  5. Queen Máxima, May 20, 2015 | Royal Hats  6. Queen Máxima, June 3, 2013 in Fabienne Delvigne |Royal Hats  7. Princess Máxima, April 30, 2006 in Fabienne Delvine | Royal Hats

Designer: #4, 6 and 7 are Fabienne Delvigne; #5 is unknown
First Appeared: November 2, 2011; May 20, 2015November 5, 2009; September 20, 2005

Queen Máxima also has two orange headpieces which, interestingly, have only appeared on foreign visits:

8. 2007-10-04            9. Queen Máxima, October 29, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats Queen Máxima, October 29, 2014 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
First (and last) Appearance: October 24, 2007 in IndiaOctober 29, 2014 in Japan   

While I suspect that hats #1, #2, #7 and #8 have been retired, Queen Máxima has a habit of bringing back pieces she has not worn in several years and I think we may see some of these pieces again. What strikes me about this collection is its boldness, both in terms of shapes and saturated shades. Like Queen Mathilde, Queen Máxima’s orange hats are not for the faint of heart and require considerable confidence to pull off. This is something Queen Máxima seems to have in spades and many of us adore her for it.

Photos from Burak Kara and Sandra Mu via Getty; Patrick van Katwijk/dpa/Corbis; Dutch Photo Press; Albert Nieboer/dpa/CorbisTOBIAS SCHWARZ/Reuters/Corbis; Julian Parker/Mark Cuthbert via GettySemana; Patrick van Katwijk/dpa/Corbis and Albert Nieboer/dpa/Corbis

21 thoughts on “Inventory: Queen Máxima’s Orange Hats

  1. Hat number 7 (the last one) is the only one that I really like and that I want to wear myself. Queen Máxima looks good in orange.

  2. The only one I like is #6. However, for some reason I though Max had way more orange hats. I’m glad she has embraced the color – it looks great on her and it never looks gimmicky or like she’s a cheerleader for Team Oranje.

  3. One of the things I like about Maxima is that she is unafraid of colour, and so even where I don’t find a particular hat attractive, I applaud her being bold. The first hat puzzles me – I should like it, it’s a good variation on a classic shape, but somehow for me it doesn’t work. I’ve always like the third hat, but I do feel it would look better angled more to one side – head-on it lacks a little finesse. Number 5 – ah yes, the firework hat. I loved the two queens’ complementary ensembles at that engagement, and in that context, I thought this was wonderful, but less of a success as a stand-alone hat. And the last one worn in Japan – by far the best of Maxima’s wraparound headpieces – it looks great from the front and interesting from the back, so that for once one doesn’t immediately ask “why no crown”.

  4. Queen Máxima looks the best of the three Queens featured in Orange hats so far. My favourites are 7,6, 1,2, 3, 4 and 5, in order from very best down to good, but not great. I don’t like the 8 and 9 bandage style hats at all, but 8 is better than 9.

  5. I more than hope #7 has not been retired (or ever will be) for it is my favorite orange hat for Máxima and one of the best she’s ever worn in my opinion! I especially loved it’s appearance one year at Prinsjesdag because it paired so well with her dress (can’t remember which year at the moment). #7 really needs to make a comeback! #6 is another great one, mainly because it is one of the slice hats that looks so good on her. #2 I know we’ve seen in other colors on other royals and I was not a fan, but I believe the color and Máxima’s personality allow her to pull this style off and I would like another outing just for kicks. For a donut-esque hat, I actually quite like #9, but I think that’s because the whole ensemble looks very put together and coordinates so well. It’s obvious she knows she looks good in orange and enjoys wearing it. Brava!

    • Here’s a photo of hat #7 with the Prinsjesdag dress, worn back in September 2005. It really is a fantastic ensemble. The hat is a fairly timeless shape and I think there’s a good chance we’ll see it again!

      Embed from Getty Images

  6. Hi HQ, I found another orange hat for Maxima, but can only see it on Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/realezatodo/holanda/

    I’m sure your search abilities are better than mine, and it may already have been featured on Royal Hats (apparently worn in April 2013). Thought I would offer it to you as it’s a little more ‘standard’ than many of her hats. When I was looking, it was interesting how she also often wears a non-orange hat with an orange outfit.

  7. I think I like numbers 2 and 4 (not sure about the sneaky chopstick holder in the latter though) and definitely like numbers 6 and 7, although see 7 as being more brown than orange.

  8. So many different shades of orange! I prefer the styles of #6 and #7, one of Queen Maxima’s traditional styles. #5 might be all right if one had another straight-on shot of it. I find #9 actually rather attractive — from the front only, that is.
    Whether Queen Maxima actually likes the color orange is irrelevant, of course, and she’s dutifully adopted that color for many outings.

    • Do you really think that she wears the colour only out of duty? I like to think it’s been a win-win between her liking the colour and it fitting well with her royal role- more of a happy coincidence than an act of duty.

  9. Particularly liked #1, #7 and #9. #3 is rather a pretty hat, but too small in scale (never thought I would be saying that!) for the queen. #8 gives her the appearance of an adolescent school girl. On the whole, however, her verve enables her to carry off styles lesser mortals would quail in. Orange, and her beautiful smile, suit her well. (I hope she is completely recovered from her illness now.)

    • There was a press released issued yesterday, Edie, that she was released from hospital and is now recovering at home. I’m sure you all join me in wishing her a speedy recovery.

  10. Is #5 a photographic mirage? Otherwise the hat looks like a decorated traffic cone. Queen Maxima can wear orange well, however, and I particularly like #s 6 and 7.

    • For some reason, the particular angle of this photo is somewhat deceptive. I thought too that this looked like the old concept of the witch’s hat, til I clicked on the photo which leads to the Hat Queen’s blog about Queen Maxima and Queen Mathilde jointly opening a sculpture exhibit in May. There you can see several photos of the hat in all its glory. You may not like it any better, but you can see that it’s not really a traffic cone after all! 🙂

    • #5 is a funny photograph. I assumed the hat wasn’t actually as it appeared, but it would make a wonderful witch’s hat.

Leave a Reply

