Best New Royal Hats of 2015

2015 best hat small

I am so excited to share your choices for the top ten best new royal hats we saw in 2015. You have chosen very well, dearest readers, and now is time to pick a winner. In random order, here are your ten finalists (please click on any of the captions below each photo to jump back to original posts to see additional description and detail of the hats):

#1 and #2

Queen Mathilde, June 25, 2015 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats      Crown Princess Victoria, May 31, 2015 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Queen Mathilde in a red straw Fabienne Delvigne saucer on June 25 in China
Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden in a pale pink angled Philip Treacy picture hat for the Indian State Visit, May 31

#3

3.Beatrice Boromeo, May 10, 2015 | Royal Hats

Beatrice Borromeo in a natural straw hat with textured mushroom brim at the Monaco twins’ christening on May 10

#4 and #5
#7 and #8

#9 

Princess Madeleine, October 11, 2015 in Philip Treacy | Royal Hats

Princess Madeleine of Sweden in a magenta silk flower and ribbon twist headpiece by Philip Treacy
for the christening of Prince Nicolas on October 11

#10

Queen Mathilde, July 21, 2015 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Mathilde in a pale blue Fabienne Delvigne picture hat with fluted brim on July 21 for Belgian National Day

flouish

You have seen the finalists- now it is time to cast your vote. Voting will remain open until January 15 at midnight GMT and we will celebrate the winner shortly thereafter. You can vote once every twelve hours for as many hats as you wish. To make things interesting, I have hidden results until the poll is finished. Happy voting!

Photos from Getty as indicated; Philip Reynaers/Photo News S.A./Corbis; Sören Andersson / TT via The Swedish Royal Court; Eric Gaillard / Reuters; Patrick van Katwijk/dpa/Corbis, and  Patrick van Katwijk/dpa/Corbis

22 thoughts on “Best New Royal Hats of 2015

  1. My two favorite hats of the year made the top 10! I must vote for Queen Mathilde (#10) but I also love The Duchess of Cambridge (#8).

    • HatQueen, I like the way you did the polls this year for the hats. Also, by keeping the results hidden makes it more exciting…and fair! Thanks for all of your hard work. I know it is very time consuming.

  2. Really great list. My absolute fave would be #3. Such a classic shape and in that picture it’s like we’ve gone way back into time.
    Next on my list: #1, #6 and #10.

  3. Thank you very much HatQueen for these Best Royal Hat of the Year Polls, because they are so much fun, and it’s interesting to see how other readers rate the various hats! I vote for No: 3 for the win! Next best is No 4, then 1, then 10, then 9, then 7, then 6, then 5, then 2, then 8.

  4. I like all these hats so it is difficult to decide, but I think Beatrice Borromeo’s hat, at photo 3, is the one I would want most for myself if I was allowed to get just one. Queen Maxima’s hat, at photo 4, is a very close second, and Princess Madeleine’s headpiece at photo 9, is very close behind at third place.

  5. HatQueen, the comments so far make me wonder about the most popular hats that didn’t quite make the Top 10. Would it be possible to list the next 5 or 10?

    • Interestingly, the top 10 were considerably ahead of all the others with margins between 20% and 40% more votes. But as per your request, here are the next 10 (in descending number of votes):

      • Thank you for showing this HatQueen. I am not a fan of perchers in general, but I think the Duchess of Cambridge’s blue percher in the first photograph above, was a better one than the green one, photograph 8, that made the top 10. I thought the colour was more flattering on her as well. I think Queen Mathilde’s cloche hat in the third photograph above was a better hat, and there was a better hat to wearer relationship, than Crown Princess Victoria’s top ten hat, at photograph 2 in the top ten group, with its rather washed out pink colour and that peak on the crown. Otherwise I think the other 8 of the hats in the first group deserved to be there rather than the other 8 hats in the above group.

      • Thank you for both the gallery and the stats. Those two fedoras are among my favorites.

        It’s interesting to see the wide distribution of royal hat wearers, with only Queen Mathilde with two hats in the Top 10.

      • Thank you for this! I think I prefer the second group of ten actually, as it contains two of my absolute favourites – as sported by QEII and Princess Bea!

      • Thanks for posting. I really love some of those hats. And I’m surprised to see Maxima’s hat didn’t make the top 10. But I guess it’s because
        a) her black hat got way more votes
        b) it’s a more traditional style for her while the black one is something different.

        So that also means Mathilde has 3 hats in the top 13! Well don’t I’d say.

  6. Hat Queen, I just put in my second (of the permitted) votes (I thought) in one day, and get the response: “Thank you. We have already counted your vote.” I actually added one to the two I’d first selected.
    They are an interesting group of hats this year.

  7. I can’t believe that the black Remembrance Day hat is the only one of Queen Maxima’s hats to make the list. What?!? And, her Majesty Queen Elizabeth didn’t make the list at all??? Hmmph!

    • I know – I can’t believe that QEII hasn’t made the list either – her yellow hat with the grey feathers was a stunner. Still, that’s democracy!

      We do favour the dramatic hats don’t we? Most of these are big fabulous cartwheels. I suspect a taste for the dramatic and glamorous is what brings us all here in the first place!

Leave a Reply

