Inventory: Queen Máxima’s Blue Hats

Before January disappears, I want to try and fit in several more blue hat wardrobe inventories. Today, we’re venturing into the depths of Queen Máxima’s closet. As one of the most frequent hat wearing royals around today, you might expect there to be a number of blue hats in Máxima’s history but amazingly, there are just four:

1. Princess Máxima, February 27, 2007 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats 2. Princess Máxima, October 31, 2011 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  3. Queen Máxima, June 25, 2013 | Royal Hats

Designers:  Fabienne Delvigne; Fabienne Delvigne; unknown
Introduced: February 27, 2007; October 31, 2011; June 25; 2013

4. Queen Máxima, November 8, 2013 | Royal Hats  5. Queen Máxima, May 20, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Designers:  unknown; Fabienne Delvigne
Introduced: November 8, 2013; May 20, 2016

UPDATE: The Dutch Queen must have heard our call for more blue hats (!) and added a fifth design in May 2016.

Even I am surprised to find just a velvet turban, a roughly woven straw picture hat, a feathered headpiece and a rounded pillbox on the blue shelf of Máxima’s millinery closet. These pieces are varied, certainly, but are less than half of the blue hats worn by both Queen Mathilde and the Countess of Wessex (even the Duchess of Cambridge has considerably more!). I suppose we can only surmise that when it comes to blue, this orange queen is not such a fan.

Photos from Getty ImagesPatrick van Katwijk/dpa/Corbis; Patrick van Katwijk/dpa/Corbis; and UNITED PHOTOS/Reuters/Corbis

21 thoughts on “Inventory: Queen Máxima’s Blue Hats

  1. Cannot believe for someone who wears hats so often would have so few hats in what’s a fairly basic colour. I guess she probably has the most number of hats in orange?

  2. I too am amazed that there are so few of these! I rather like them all, especially the floppy brimmed hat (though she has worn that with some shocking outfits!)

    I dread to think how big a retrospective of her red hats would be!

  3. I refuse to believe these are the only blue hats she has! Haha, but seriously, blue and orange are such amazing colors together, so she should definitely have more blue hats added to her wardrobe. Her cobalt inauguration gown was beyond stunning, so we know she looks good in blue too. I would like to see a navy felt slice hat added into the mix; can you imagine the possibilities? I can.

    • Maxima in a cobalt blue slice hat? You’re giving me goosebumps, Jake!

      For someone who often wears very vibrant hues, these shades of blue are surprisingly muted.

  4. I am amazed she has so few blue hats. The only one I like out of this group is the 4th hat. She looks really good in pillbox hats and in blue. I think she should wear more blue for a change.

  5. Maxima has had some shockers of hats over the years, and given that it’s a small collection, it is a relief that there are none of those here! I think these are all quite good examples of their type, and the feathered headpiece is very attractive.

  6. I think you forgot the dark blue pillbox Maxima wore when Mathilde and Filip visited the netherlands in november 2013.
    Furthermore, the small hat Princess Maxima wore at the wedding of prince Carlos and Princess Annemarie in 2010 in Brussels, can be Deen as blue as well I suppose.

    • I can’t believe I forgot the blue pillbox! It is included now.

      The small headpiece you refer to is tricky- When Maxima wore it for the Bourbon-Parma wedding, I also thought it was navy.

      I think the grey ensemble (which has a blue undertone) makes it look navy but if you look closely, the jewellery worn with it is black and it matches.

      Also, The Dutch royals adhere to a strict black dress code for Remembrance Day. Maxima wore this hat to that event 2010 and I think that confirms it is black.

Leave a Reply

