Inventory: Queen Elizabeth’s Blue Hats Part 2

After looking at the first wave of Queen Elizabeth’s many blue hats worn over the past six years, we’re continuing our inventory with a look at what I’m calling the “Medium Blue” hats. Here are they are, in the order they were introduced into the Queen’s wardrobe:

1.Queen Elizabeth, September 8, 2013 | Royal Hats   2.Queen Elizabeth Apr 28, 2010 | Royal Hats  3.Queen Elizabeth, March 13, 2015 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown; unknown (likely Philip Somerville); Angela Kelly
Introduced: May 16, 2004; November 3, 2004; November 28, 2008  

4.Queen Elizabeth, June 7, 2011 in Rachel Trevor Morgan  5.Queen Elizabeth, July 18, 2013 in Rachel Trevor Morgan | Royal Hats   6.Queen Elizabeth, July 17, 2014 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan; Rachel Trevor Morgan; Angela Kelly
Introduced: June 3, 2010; July 4, 2010; July 4, 2010   

7. Queen Elizabeth, July 24, 2014 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats  8.Queen Elizabeth, June 23, 2014 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats  9.Queen Elizabeth, June 2, 2012 in Rachel Trevor Morgan | Royal Hats

Designer: Angela Kelly; Angela Kelly; Rachel Trevor Morgan
Introduced: May 20, 2011; October 22, 2011; June 2, 2012

10.Queen Elizabeth, June 6, 2012 in Rachel Trevor Morgan 11.Queen Elizabeth, October 15, 2015 in Rachel Trevor Morgan | Royal Hats 12.Queen Elizabeth, June 21, 2013 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan; Rachel Trevor Morgan; Angela Kelly
Introduced: June 6, 2012; December 25, 2012June 21, 2013

13. Queen Elizabeth, October 24, 2014 in Angela Kelly design made by Stella McLaren | Royal Hats 14. Queen Elizabeth, July 16, 2015 in Rachel Trevor Morgan | Royal Hats 15.Queen Elizabeth, February 19, 2015 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats  

Designer: Angela Kelly (made by Stella McLaren); Rachel Trevor Morgan; Angela Kelly 
Introduced: October 23, 2013June 19, 2014; July 4, 2014

16.Nov 17, 2017 | Royal Hats

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan 
Introduced: November 16, 2017  

While I suspect #2 has been retired, it appears that the remaining fourteen are still in service (#1’s last outing was in September 2013). I’m struck by the varied brim shapes (they really are going off in all directions!) and diverse trims- everything from navy lace to feathered flowers to metallic straw twists. I’m also fascinated by the consistent imprint of these hats- they are all a very similar size. After 70 years of full-time hat wearing, it’s no surprise that the Queen has a good sense of what works for her and sticks to it. She clearly loves blue and looks beautiful in it.

Which pieces in this group stand out most to you? Which ones would you like to steal for your own millinery wardrobe? Stay tuned first thing tomorrow, we’ll look at the turquoise hats before concluding this mini-series with the Queen’s light blue hats.

Photos from Press Association via Yahoo; Chris Jackson, Chris Jackson, Matt Cardy, Pool, Mark Cuthbert, Robert Cianflone, Pool, Peter Macdiarmid, AFP, WPA Pool; Eamon M. McCormack; Chris Jackson, Mark CuthbertMax Mumby/Indigo and WPA Pool via Getty

 

16 thoughts on “Inventory: Queen Elizabeth’s Blue Hats Part 2

  1. Forgot to say I am leaning toward #6. Like the way the decorations pick up color of the trim in HM’s coat. I am most of all loving the very slim brim. HM looks very well in it. Gorgeous color.

  2. I love the shapes of these hats except one and in that case it may simply be the angle. However I agree about the pruning. The embellishments are over the top. It seems the designers have adopted the “go big or go home philosophy.” It is amazing how HM is able to carry these off. HM looks wonderful in so many colors. She really sparkles in blue. I prefer this set to yesterday’s. Good job HatQueen. Laughing. When I was typing HatQueen autocorrect tried to change it to Gatwick.

  3. #1: I’d like a better shot.
    #2: makes me smile . . . someone has a sense of humor!
    #4: looks more green on my screen.
    #5: either the hat trim or the brooch is on the wrong side. Maybe the photo is reversed.
    #6 @ 15: same block as the yellow wedding hat, and I love it.
    #7: I know I’m in the minority, but I find this one TOO much fun!
    #9 @ 14: hands down, my favorites!

  4. There are so many to choose from! HM does look lovely in this shade of blue. I must be a Rachel Trevor Morgan fan because I found that my “impulse” likes were all her designs: #s 2, 5, and 11.

  5. My favourites are 9, 11 and 14. I like the ‘different-ness’ of 2 and would like to see 10 from another angle before making up my mind. The one I like least is 3, hideous. Looks like a toilet roll cover!

  6. First, I’ll start with my least favorites of this grouping, which would be #3 and #2. #3 suffers from looking too much like the late 80s/early 90s, while #2 goes off in too many odd directions and the sparkly trim and brim binding reminds me of the Crest kid’s toothpaste (I know, sue me for being so harsh this time).

    But otherwise this is another solid group of winners. #9 and #14 are my absolute favorites, while #1, #4, #6, and #12 are runners up. HM clearly loves #13, which we have seen many, many times. The ombre feathers on #6 demonstrate an exquisite eye for detail and makes for an interesting color combination.

  7. It’s hat number 14 for the win! I just love those handmade feather flowers that are a characteristic of Rachel Trevor Morgan and I think the dark shading on the flowers gives them a great touch. I love the sky blue colour on the Queen. I like all the Rachel Trevor Morgan hats here. I don’t really like the Angela Kelly hats here, except for number 8, with its interesting fabric sash.

    • I agree on #14. The colors of the flowers are different enough to stand out but similar enough to blend. Excellent design.

  8. I really like the hats with the asymmetrical crowns. The flat top crowns don’t look good on HM. #2 and #7 are two of my favorites. I also prefer trims that are not too fluffy.

  9. I suspect too that hat #2 has been retired, but it’s always been one of my all-time favorites: the blue-green mixture is exquisite, and the large adornment in front is in proportion to the large and sloped crown. The picture of hat #7 is particularly unflattering, but occasionally that hat has photographed well — again, what I like is the color combination. Hat #8, rarely worn, is another favorite.
    The only hat I really dislike is #3, even though the Queen must like this outfit since she’s worn it so much. I don’t object to hat #15 on its own, but the coat is terrible and makes the hat look depressingly simplistic but yet overly trimmed.
    Hat #14 is exceptionally beautifully composed, and I like all the others.
    At its debut almost everyone disliked hat #12, but I still like it. What an impressive assortment!

  10. No. 9 looks so pretty on the Queen. The color is a little warmer than many of these blues, and is more flattering to her. The very cool colors never really look as good on her as warmer colors. In this picture at least this one looks like it has a tiny bit of red making it a little more violet. No. 10 is also a nice color for her, but I just can’t go for the hat itself. It looks like she should have an elastic under her chin.

Leave a Reply

