Inventory: Queen Máxima’s Green Hats

While we found a whopping seventeen red hats in Queen Máxima’s hat closet, she is much less prolific when it comes to all things green. So far, this vibrant queen has added just one green hat into her wardrobe:

1.Princess Máxima, October 29, 2011 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats Princess Máxima, October 29, 2011 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats 

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Introduced: April 19, 2005

There is really not much to say here- this is an interesting enough piece (I prefer it to its roughly edged navy twin) and Máxima wears the acid shade well. The light weave of the striped brim is a great option for a summer hat and gives great visual interest without risk of overtrimming. I suppose we all fill our closets with items in our favourite shades and I’m a little disappointed that Máxima is not fonder of green as it could be such a great colour on her.

Photos from Patrick van Katwijk and Patrick van Katwijk via Corbis

18 thoughts on “Inventory: Queen Máxima’s Green Hats

  1. I like the large hat in a tropical or more casual setting. The “banana leaf” hat seems a bit blah in spite of its dramatic shape. I don’t like the “claw” at all.

  2. Very nice hat!
    I was just wondering how large could be the room In which all Her Majesty’s hats are stored… 😉

  3. Beautiful hat on a beautiful queen. I just cannot stand those Christmas wreaths she is calling earrings.

  4. Queen Máxima rocks green and even looks good in this acid green, which is very hard to wear! The brimmed hat and the vibrant color worked on this trip to the Caribbean but would have looked out of place in the Netherlands. Horses for courses, as they say. There are other times that she has worn green well. I just wish she would wear more green hats.

    • I agree exactly with what TiarasRUs says: March 8, 2016 at 12:18 pm. I was surprised that Queen Máxima has only 1 green hat, when she suits this colour very well.

  5. What about that leaf shaped hat she has worn? Wasn’t that green? It was a fantastic shape, like a large banana leaf as I recall… I could have sworn it was green, but maybe yellow?


  6. Queen Máxima wore this light green ensemble on a visit to Australia on the 25th of October 2006.
    I don’t know if you count this as a green hat as wel, it has some green accents on it and it was worn with a light green outfit.

      • What an exquisite dress and coat; the embroidery is phenomenal. The “hat” if it can be called such is definitely not green!

    • On my monitor the basic structure of the headpiece looks white, with green beads on it. So I think I would have to call it a white headpiece. It looks too much like a claw for me to like it. I do like the outfit, with its intricate embroidery. The green color suits this Queen well.

  7. She can really wear almost any colour, including this green, which looks to me in the picture what I’d describe as lime green. Lovely. Bring on more green.

  8. I am biased as green is my favorite color, but it’s such a shame green hats are not really a thing (and not just for royals, but in general). I understand a color like Kelly green can be seen as a bit cartoonish (a.k.a. St. Patrick’s Day celebrations in the U.S.), but there are so many other wonderful shades that can be put into hats and outfits. I like this one on Máxima, but I fear green is probably not her favorite color as I don’t recall her wearing much of it at all, and not just in her hats.

  9. I’m surprised too. You’d think Max would have a lot more in this vibrant shade. Shame really, she wears it quite well – I don’t mind these unstructured hats for tropical engagements.

Leave a Reply

