Day 2 of German State Visit To Belgium

The German state visit to Belgium continued today with visits to the Audi factory, a fashion museum, a youth center and the Rubens House. For these engagements, Queen Mathilde repeated a rosy-beige ruched calot hat. While the hat has been seen once before (at National Day Celebrations in 2011), the matching tone-on-tone print dress and wool silk coat are new additions and work well with the hat.

Queen Mathilde, March 9, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats Queen Mathilde, March 9, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Mathilde, March 9, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Mathilde, March 9, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Mathilde, March 9, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Mathilde, March 9, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: July 21, 2011

Mathilde is often the model of elegance and has looked particularly well put together during this state visit, don’t you agree?

Photos from Christophe Licoppe/Photo News S.A./CorbisChristophe Licoppe/Photo News S.A./CorbisWolfgang Kumm/dpa/CorbisFrederic Sierakowski / Pool/Photo News S.A./Corbis, Frederic Sierakowski / Pool/Photo News S.A./Corbis, and Wolfgang Kumm/dpa/Corbis

19 thoughts on “Day 2 of German State Visit To Belgium

  1. Queen Mathilde’s rosy-beige ruched calot hat suits her perfectly, but I think wearing so much of this color is very one-note and washes her out. Her hairdo looks good. I want those earrings! Daniela Schadt’s suit is a good shade of blue, but I do wish that she had donned a hat, as her staff would have to have been told that the Queen would wear a hat surely?

  2. For some reason a calot never really wows me. But I do admit that this shape and texture of this hat is very nice. And it goes so well with the rest of the outfit.

  3. Needs some colour. Her whole outfit seems so expensive and in total contrast to her guest’s outfit. The same yesterday. I would be a bit embarrassed if I was her guest. In fact I think she is. Just my guess.
    Makes me feel uneasy.

    • I agree completely, Jane. The outfit is gorgeous, but perhaps a very elegant-looking silk dress and coat is a big much for a car factory, a youth center, and apparently two museums. This would be a lovely ensemble for a daytime wedding, for example. Like you, it seems a little off-putting for a hostess to be so much more dressed up than her guest. I’m sure the staffs of the two ladies could have coordinated this better.

  4. At least the beige does have a pinkish flavor. The calot, which not particularly interesting on its own, does make this an subdued but elegant outfit. It also makes Queen Mathilde’s hair look fabulous in picture #1.

  5. I agree with @JamesB that the hat blends into her hair, and that it’s a lot of beige (which I never like). I do like her outfit and the contrasting textures/materials of her coat and her dress.

  6. I think the silky shine of the luxe fabrics along with the unified color of the outfit and hat serve to set her apart as queen just as the brightly colored outfits of other queens do. I like this hat in this case, although it is not my favorite style. I do feel it is an improvement on her previously worn pillbox in that the larger size fits her head well. Both hats and let’s say serene colors of her outfits could be expressing a certain modesty or demureness appropriate to the hostess role as expressed by HatQueen.

    • Yes. I agree also about letting Ms. Schadt stand out and her suit is beautiful. The Queen is always lovely. I like her hair style with the hat.

  7. Love her beige pinky colour outfit…it’s very elegant except the coat’s material seems very shiny in some photos. Love the Germany Lady’s outfit too

  8. I like this hat. I probably would have gone for another colour too, but the ensemble is very elegant, and it is really the hat that finishes it off well and sets her apart as Queen.

  9. It’s a lot of beige for me. The hat blends into her hair which blends into her coat. It’s elegant but I’d like it to be broken up a bit more…

Leave a Reply

