Queen Máxima Opens Museum

Queen Máxima was at the Hermitage Amsterdam today to open the new Outsider Art Museum. For this opening, she repeated a hat in chocolate brown felt we haven’t seen on her since 2006 . It’s an interesting piece that carries a slight retro feel thanks to its square, top hat shaped crown and cloche shaped bell brim. It’s a fine enough hat but Máxima has several other hats of similar shape which might be contributing to my ambivalence about this piece (it feels like we’ve seen it in several iterations before).

Queen Máxima, March 16, 2016 | Royal Hats   Queen Máxima, March 16, 2016 | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, March 16, 2016 | Royal Hats

Designer: likely Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: March 21, 2006

The combination or streamlined hat and draped dress is a good one but the colour falls flat for me. Since November, Queen Máxima has been on a neutral millinery streak, wearing only brown, grey or black hats. I’m more than ready for this vibrant queen to step out in something more colourful.

Photos from Albert Nieboer/dpa/CorbisAlbert Nieboer/dpa/Corbis and Hollandse Hoogte/Corbis

20 thoughts on “Queen Máxima Opens Museum

  1. I don’t mind it, but it is a bit like the shames Phillip Treacy was making for Sophie Wessex 10 years ago…. Or indeed like QEII wears now! I’m amazed it’s new actually.

  2. Sorry but I don’t like anything about this outfit. The mixture of blue, brown and animal print just seems wrong and has none of Queen Maxima’s usual pizzaz. The hat does not help.

  3. This is one of my favorite colors, but it drains the color from Max’s face a bit. I like it in the profile shot, but from the front the small brim somehow makes her face look too big for it. I guess I likrpe her without the hat and the hat without her.

  4. Queen Máxima looks good in this chocolate colour. However, I think the crown is a bit too tall. I like the jaunty angle and the chignon. I like the soft gathers at the neckline of the dress, but I think this feminine dress called for a softer style of hat. I loved her animal-print accessories.

  5. I honestly really like this; I don’t find it a “wow” ensemble, but it’s quite chic and subtle. However, the all-chocolate brown color is kinda boring, and I’m longing to add a Lady Amherst pheasant feather to it. I love the combo of her chignon and jaunty angle of the hat. Overall, this is a win for me! (but seriously, bring back the color soon Máxima!)

  6. I’m surprised this is new – it reminds me of many of the Countess of Wessex’s older hats. Queen Maxima looks fine, but it lacks her usually sparkle.

  7. Love Maxima in almost anything she wears, but this hat (although I like the hat) appears to be too big and too heavy for the softness of her dress. Love her leopard heels.

  8. The hat is ok, but not with this dress. The defined edges of the top of the hat seem to clash with the soft, gathered effect of the neck of the dress. Although I usually don’t like a percher, that would have been a better choice for the dress. I keep getting the image that a lady in a feminine dress accidently put on her husband’s hunting hat.

  9. She should donate this one to QEII – however, that said, it’s rare for QEII to wear dark brown like this in a hat I think – but the shape sure looks like a QEII hat!

  10. Hmmm! Not sure what to make of this. Maxima looks lovely as ever and the hat and dress are quietly elegant, but it is not a “wow” outfit. She probably gets an A because it is appropriate and beautifully made. (The flowers compliment the brown!)

  11. Refined. I Almost like the change from her many extreme wild choices. I like the quietness of this outfit. Sort. Of like a Mother when her child finally decides to sit down at the dinner table with the rest of the family .
    She will burst out soon enough with her fun side. Smiles.

  12. You have seen the shape before. It’s the boring shape the Queen wears. Maxima is not old enough for this shape. It looks heavy too.

Leave a Reply

