Birthday Celebration Of Swedish King: Royal Guests

Celebrations for King Carl Gustaf’s 70th birthday over the weekend also included attendance by representatives from numerous royal houses. Queen Margrethe led the Danish contingent (she and the Swedish King are first cousins) in the same mint green wool crepe hat that she first wore for her own birthday last year. It’s a great hat on her and the interesting shape of this hat’s bumper brim makes it a continued success for me

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: September 8, 2015; June 5, 2015May 23, 2014April 16, 2015

Princess Benedikte topped her pale aqua coat with a hat in coffee coloured straw that featured a slightly upturned brim on one side. The hat is trimmed with a giant silk bloom on the side that looks very close to the one on this other hat.

Princess Benedikte and Countess Marianne Bernadotte, April 30, 2016 Photo taken by Sofia Svanholm | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: I believe this hat is new

Crown Princess Mary repeated her marvellous purple pillbox hat with side feather trim. It’s a wonderful hat on her that was again, styled beautifully with her camel coat. In the last photo below, she is pictured with Icelandic First Lady Dorritt Moussaieff who wore a white felt hat with wide, upturned brim that was filled with silk flower petals.

Designer: Jane Taylor. It is the “Shell” design
Previously Worn: March 17, 2015October 7, 2014

One of the most interesting hats of the day was worn by Princess Hisako of Takamado. The design featured a flat, rounded crown in covered in yellow silk, wrapped with a wide yellow silk band and trimmed with a multi-looped bow at the side. The centrepiece of the hat is undoubtedly its brim, made of accordion folded straw piped in yellow. Those of us who follow millinery worn by the Imperial royals will appreciate just how bold and out-of-the-box this design is; while it might carry a 1980s soap opera vibe, it’s so out there that I have to love Princess Hisako for it.

Update: The reason this hat has an 1980s vibe is because it dates back to 1997!

Princess Hisako and Crown Princess Mary, April 30, 2016 Photo taken by Sofia Svanholm | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: October 4, 1997

Princess Beatrix wore a hat in one of her signature shapes with a tall, upfolded bumper brim and flat, stacked crown. The burgundy straw used for this piece has a glamorous shimmer that, when paired with her snakeskin printed tunic and skirt (not to mention that divine cape), makes for a knock-out ensemble. Isn’t this Dutch Princess is looking her best?!

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: I suspect this hat is new

Speaking of glamour…Princess Märtha Louise glittered in a metallic lace dress topped with a fascinator in pale pink layered feathers and a net tulle veil.

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: I believe this headpiece is new

Crown Princess Katherine of Serbia, pictured below right, wore a calot hat in cafe-au-lait coloured straw trimmed with feathers and a net tulle veil in the same colour. As you can also see below, Queen Sofia of Spain and Queen Margarita of Bulgaria (as well as Crown Princess Margarita of Romania in the lower photo) did not wear hats.

Crown Princess Katherine, April 30, 2016 Photo taken by Sofia Svanholm | Royal Hats Crown Princess Katherine, April 30, 2016 Photo taken by Sofia Svanholm | Royal Hats

Finally, Princess Ursula of Bavaria was spotted in small cocktail hat with a pheasant feather covered base and trimmed with a navy double bow and dotted net tulle veil.

Princess Ursula, April 30, 2016 | Royal Hats

UPDATE: Thanks to blogger Hovikirjeenvaihtaja and reader Avery for hunting down this photos of Princess Anna of Bavaria and Hereditary Princess Kelly of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha who wore hats afterall! Princess Anna topped her blue suit with a navy beret-based percher hat trimmed with a large sunburst of red feathers on the side. Seated next to Anna in the photo below is Duchess Elizabeth of Bavaria who is sporting a pale blue fascinator or curling straw ribbon and silk blooms.

Princess Anna of Bavaria, April 30, 2016 | Royal Hats

Princess Anna of Bavaria, April 30, 2016 | Royal Hats

Princess Kelly wore my favourite fascinator at this event, a mass of intertwined, curling straw ribbons swathed in a bubble of coordinating dotted net tulle veil.

 Princess Kelly of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, April 30, 2016 | Royal Hats Princess Kelly of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, April 30, 2016 | Royal Hats Princess Kelly of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, April 30, 2016 | Royal Hats

That wraps up coverage of King Carl Gustaf’s 70th birthday celebration! Amidst this wonderful parade of royal hats, which ones were your favourites?

My sincere thanks to Sofia Svanholm for granting permission to share her excellent photos. Do peek at her blog and gallery of photos of this event as both are very well done.

Photos from Getty as indicated; SVT1 Screen shot; IBL, IBL and IBL;  and Sofia Svanholm 
23 thoughts on “Birthday Celebration Of Swedish King: Royal Guests

  1. Princess Hisako looks spectacular from head to toe; and I love Princess Anna’s ensemble….tres chic!

  2. Princess Hisako seems to be the Emperor’s go-to for these northern European events, she’s a regular regular with this crowd these days, and she always looks thrilled to be there, makes me smile!

    • She looks like she’d be so much fun. I love her whole outfit, although not that bright yellow so much. Her hat is the Japanese equivalent of showing up in a swimsuit, and I applaud her for her daring!

  3. Princess Hisako’s hat wins the day for me…it’s lovely on her and so unexpected, given what she normally wears while in Japan!

  4. Princess Hisako’s hat was a delightful surprise and I loved it. What really intrigued me was her purse. Does anyone think it might be vintage? But, nevertheless, her hat matched her personality.

  5. IBL Bildbyra has good photos of Princess Kelly of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, Duchess Elizabeth of Bavaria, and Princess Anna of Bavaria’s hats. I tried to post the links but it didn’t work.

  6. More photos of Princess Kelly of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, Duchess Elizabeth of Bavaria, and Princess Anna of Bavaria. Source: IBL Bildbyra

  7. Kelly and Anna wore hats! I’m sorry this screenshot is so low quality but you can see them both in the last row.

    I must say I loved princess Hisakos hat. It looks like it’s from the 80s but on the balcony she looked like the sun itself with her smile and the brim. 🙂

  8. What an absolutely brilliant collection of hats. There is something I like about each one and best of all, each looks lovely on the person wearing it. If I had to choose one, it must be the sunny yellow one. I’ve never seen a hat like it.

  9. I have yet to grow tired of this hat on Margrethe, despite how many times it’s been repeated. Such a great color and shape for her!

    I find Benedikte’s hat to be less successful; it looks fine on her, but when you linked to that blue milan straw hat, it made me yearn for the return of it because Benedikte looked gorgeous in it!

    I realize this whole ensemble is the same as that worn for the Dutch state visit a little over a year ago, but with Mary’s hair pulled severely back and up, I thought this look this time aged her, and not in a good way. I really prefer this pillbox with her hair down, and those purple leather gloves I love!

    I thought First Lady Dorritt Moussaieff looked quite good in this hat, considering Iceland is not a fancy hat-wearing nation at all.

    Princess Hisako was my absolute favorite of the day! As others have pointed out, if we saw this on anyone else, we would most likely not like it (does anyone else suspect Anne has something hiding in her closet from the 1980s that looks very similar to this?), but on Hisako it just works so well! I think the bow detailing on this hat gives it a modern touch, and the color is divine for her! I guess it takes leaving Japan for the Japanese royals to have a little more fun haha. I love it with or without the coat.

    A great color and outfit for Beatrix, but I found the hat to be too small for her; I think it should actually be wider!

    Märtha-Louise looks so awesome, but I do wish her fascinator had been a little more edgy like her dress, and less delicate.

    Crown Princess Katherine’s cocktail hat suits her very well, but I do wish she would experiment with color more. And from what I can tell, I like Princess Ursula’s cocktail hat, but I find her shawl to be too pattern heavy, which overwhelms the rest of her look.

    Overall a fun and very varied selection of hats!

    • Concerning the update: Duchess Elizabeth looked fine, but nothing special, while I did like Princess Kelly’s fascinator, but I think the color washed her out this time. I love Princess Anna’s cocktail hat! The colors and design are great and coordinate very well with her outfit.

  10. I must say there is not a hat in this group that I don’t like. They are all lovely. I would have to say the bright yellow would not be a favorite on its own but it is bold and bright and she wears it well.

  11. WAY TO GO Princess Hisako! If I saw her hat in a store I’d think it was the ugliest hat in the world but on her it’s so awesome.

    Martha Louise looks STUNNING.

    Great coverage HatQueen. You do such a great job of these huge events.

  12. It takes a personality as exuberant as Princess Hisako to carry off that color and that hat. She looks as
    sunny as a daffodil. I also like Martha Louise’s fascinator. This post is a survey of the signature styles of these royals — especially Queen Margarethe, CP Mary, and Princesses Benedikte and Beatrix. Each looks lovely in her own way.

  13. I’m giving Princess Hisako top marks, not because I really love her hat, but because she looks like she’s going to a party and is ready for some fun.
    Other hats I like are Queen Margrethe’s, Princess Benedicte’s and Princess Mary’s. The large bumper is not my favorite style, but I agree that Princess Beatrix looks great. Of the small pieces I like the cafe au lait calot best. It’s nicely coordinated, suits the wearer, and is substantial enough to be noticed. Also the netting is part of the decoration. It seems old fashioned to me when the netting hangs in front of the face as on Princess Martha Louise.

  14. Bravo for Princess Hisako! Not only did she step out in an unusual style for her royal family, but she did so with an exquisite ensemble. I love that dress!

  15. Heavens! That’s a long list. Queen Margrethe – lovely. Ditto, CP Mary, Princess Beatrix, Princess Benedikte. It looks like a really enjoyable celebration.

  16. Queen Margarethe and Princess Mary looked great again in their repeated hats, but what stood out for me was the First Lady of Iceland’ s white felt hat and Princess Hisako’ s yellow and white hat. I did think Princess Hisako’ s hat looked best with her white coat on. The yellow hat with the all yellow dress was atop much yellow. But with her coat on I absolutely loved it. The colors, the shape and how it was worn was perfection.

    • I agree with what Intrigued by Royals says: May 2, 2016 at 6:34 pm. Crown Princess Mary’s pillbox was my favourite overall but this was a superb collection of hats!

Leave a Reply

