Seeing Double: Queen Máxima

Royal HatsWhen I first saw Queen Máxima’s mushroom brimmed hat at Koningsdag this year, I thought it was the same hat that she wore to open Papageno House in Laren last summer. At first glance, the two hats look the same, except for the sash around the crown (something simple to alter) and the slight difference in hue between the pastel shades (something easily impacted by lighting conditions).

If you take a close look at these two pieces, you’ll see subtle differences in shade, shape and scale. Notice how the Koningsdag hat is a pale lilac (as opposed to a pale dusty pink) and the brim is a touch wider with a less rounded curve on the mushroom shape of the brim?

Queen Máxima, August 26, 2015 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats    Queen Máxima, August 26, 2015 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima opening Papageno House, August 26, 2015

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously worn: Both hats were new at these events
With so many similarities between these two hats, you might wonder why Máxima commissioned a new one. From a video released from the designer, we know that the Koningsdag hat was custom matched to the background colour of her skirt (Máxima’s only other purple hat would have clashed terribly) and I can only imagine this retro shape was chosen again to compliment the 1950s lines of Máxima’s skirt and twin set. When we see other royals in twin hats, I’m often left scratching my head as to why they purchased two but this pair, thanks to Fabienne Delvigne’s video release, seems to make sense.
I am always fascinated to see such similar hats within one hat closet and – what do you think of this pair?
Photos from Getty as indicated; Patrick van Katwijk, and Patrick van Katwijk via Corbis
14 thoughts on “Seeing Double: Queen Máxima

    • There are some in the works… I hope to have them up in the next two weeks. We’re getting into the busiest season of royal hats (check out Upcoming Events!) but when things slow down in July, I have several more planned. I’ve been surprised how popular the series has been!

      • Oh, terribly looking forward to it! Which color is featured in the coming months? Curious to see more inventories in the near future! It’s going to be busy, but we like that!

  1. Thank you so much for pointing out the differences cos to me they are the same hats.

    I always thought hats in neutral shades would work like a 1 size fits all for most outfits so there wouldn’t be a need for 2 hats that are so similar in shade and style.

  2. While both hats are really great for Máxima, it’s a shame we haven’t seen her other purple hat brought out in a long time, and I would much prefer some of her older hats to make a comeback rather than see a bunch of new ones that are almost identical to ones she already has.

  3. I think both hats are beautiful, but I do not see the need for the second hat. The hat is closest to the pink top and there is pink in the skirt also. I think the lavender looks a little off. Just quibbling. As always Maxima’ s smile makes up for any fashion issues I may have.

  4. I love Queen Maxima! I love that she wears hats! As far as I’m concerned, she can have hats in as many shades and shapes as she wants.

  5. While the two are dangerously similar, I prefer the recent one since the trim going around its crown isn’t quite so big. Its brim is also more unusually shaped. Since they’re slightly different colors, though, I do see why both are required.

Leave a Reply

