Queen Dedicates Memorial

Queen Elizabeth visited the National Memorial Arboretum this morning to officially dedicate the Duke of Lancaster’s Regimental Memorial. She was a vision in blue for this event in a straw hat with a high, stepped crown and an upturned brim on one side. It’s a hat we’ve seen before but a hat I’m so pleased to see again. The sharp shape of this design is lovely in its own right but the hat is made spectacular with Rachel Trevor Morgan’s exquisite handmade feather flower trim and the navy edged side bow and triple sash around the crown. That sliver of navy adds such dimension to this hat (especially against the Queen’s collarless coat) and beautifully references the print of her dress.

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan
Previously Worn: July 16, 2015; June 19, 2014
I’m admittedly a great fan of this hat’s proportion and embellishment- what do you think of this design?
Photos from Getty as indicated
19 thoughts on “Queen Dedicates Memorial

  1. I agree with @JamesB that something seems a bit different with the brim this time. If HM is wearing this hat more forward, I actually prefer it to sit a little farther back. But beyond these minor complaints, I agree that it’s wonderful to see some old favorites making appearances again. If she continues this trend (which I hope so) I’m pulling for the lime and gold one from her meeting with Martin McGuinness to make another appearance, and the black and lime one from her visit to Turkey a while back.

  2. I hope this hat makes it to the Best Repeat in May, because I too just love it!

    I also love-love-love this blog, Hat Queen! Thank you for all the time you invested in it.

  3. I agree with all the comments above…………you do a wonderful job keeping us all entertained with your witty comments! Are you sure you’re not an Aussie?? Anyway, this, for me, is one of THE best ensembles in The Queen’s wardrobe at the moment. She always looks beautiful in blue.

  4. I’m with Jayne, that HatQueen excels at what she does. To read “Royal Hats” is enjoyable and a stress-reliever for me (no mean feat!) and I realize that an awful lot of time and effort goes into putting it together.
    HM is looking wonderful these days and today’s ensemble just reinforces that.

  5. I love this look, and am pleased that HM is revisiting some very popular outfits lately, it’s good to see them back.

    Am I imaging it or has the brim been slightly flattened out from its first wearing? It was very angular when new, it’s a bit flatter now I think.

    • I think it might be a bit flatter, JamesB, but I think she also wore it further back on her head the first time than she did the second and third. I prefer it flatter, like she wore it today- this is a huge pet peave of mine. I always wish I could reach through the screen and set so many hats further forward and flatter!

      • Ah okay, I see your point. In the pics from 2 years ago, it was the downward angle on HM’s right that was more pronounced, I thought that was what had changed, but looking at other pics I think you might be right, it’s the position she’s wearing it at. I think I preferred it with a bit more of an angular approach, it was a little unusual for her.

  6. The proportions are exquisite, the upturned brim flattering, and the workmanship on all RTM hats is perfection. Although this hat is scarcely distinguishable from a couple of others, it is a beautiful color combination.
    I do have a question: in the 1st and particularly in the 5th picture one can see what looks a little like a silver chopstick on the left side of the hat. What is it? Is it part of the flower decoration? I looks like metal rather than part of the stem. I don’t see how it’s related to anything else in the hat; because of all the time and thought that goes into these hats, however, I’m sure it’s there for a reason.

    • I saw that silvery thing, too. I thought it was the stem of the flower. Now that you brought it up and I looked closer I am not sure– maybe a hat pin?

  7. I also love this hat and agree that that tiny bit of navy does a lot for it. I’d maybe like to see the flowers a little bit bigger? Not much bigger – just a little bit.

    The Queen is wearing the regimental badge of the Duke of Lancaster’s Regiment of which she is Colonel in Chief. This is a title that’s been attached to the Crown for hundreds of years. Imagine keeping all this regimental jewelry organized?!

Leave a Reply

