Dutch Queen Launches Youth Initiative

Queen Máxima was in Utrecht today to kick off a nationwide activity week for young people entitled “Getting Opportunities, Grabbing Opportunities”. For this event, she repeated her oversize burgundy picture hat with straight sided crown and large mushroom-shaped brim. The the colour and scale of this hat will always make Máxima stand out (which makes me love the hat) but I was less enthused about the styling of the overall ensemble.

Queen Máxima, May 19, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, May 19, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, May 19, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, May 19, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, May 19, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, May 19, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: June 19, 2015; June 24, 2014May 24, 2014

I’m not sure that orange accessories work for this ensemble… even when worn by the Queen of the House of Orange! Most of us adore Queen Máxima’s ‘more is more’ approach to fashion but sometimes, I wonder if ‘less might be a little more’ in the end. Thoughts?

Photos from Albert Philip van der Werf via PPE

19 thoughts on “Dutch Queen Launches Youth Initiative

  1. I love the hat, I love the dress. I love the maroon and orange together! It works beautifully. Refreshing. Ok, I’m not crazy about the jewelry but Queen Maxima gets a pass on that from me. Overall, a great look for a modern queen.

  2. Since the dress fabric is rather wild and the hat is huge, there really shouldn’t be any other “distractions” to this outfit. If accessories and jewelry blended in, the outfit would look better. Then one could concentrate on the hat and dress rather than on everything.
    Is there something orange about the hat? I notice that was worn with a predominantly orange outfit on its initial wearing (a much more successful pairing). I don’t know how Queen Máxima even thought of orange accessories for today’s outfit.

  3. I love this hat and dress for Máxima! I even love the orange pumps and clutch. What I don’t love (or even like) are the gigantic costume earrings and necklace; she went too far there. Simple silver earrings and I think no necklace would’ve been much better.

  4. The costume jewelry clashes horribly with the hat and dress. I am not a fan of anything she is wearing. Normally she can pull off the big hats, but the huge lumpy jewelry distracts the eye and breaks up the line, making it seem as though nothing belongs together.

  5. I often wonder if she is colour-blind?? I mean, maroon and orange?? Love the dress and the hat but the orange earrings and necklace just ruin it for me. I do think the hat is a trifle big but Maxima can pull it off!

  6. If you have to stretch and tilt your neck and head like Maxima does just to be able to look ppl in the eyes its a sign that the hat is way too big. A miss for me.

  7. Actually love the hat, love the dress, hate the Orange accessories! Did not like the Orange lobster around her neck last time she wore this dress/hat combo, either. The first time she wore this hat

    • (Sorry-got interrupted) The first time she wore this hat with the Orange dress with maroon lines in it is the only time the Orange works for me. I am not sure about the engagement with the pink dress. I like it better with the maroon colored shawl on than with it off.

  8. The hat is a tad too large for my taste — even on Max. But she gets a pass on the hat because she can pull off these ginormous things pretty well. Now the dress/coat — well, she falls flat a lot of the time in my book with her clothing and this is no exception – just plain ick!

  9. I love the orange accents – bag, shoes and earrings, but not the necklace and I wish the hat were just a tad smaller. (Coming from me!!! Just look at the size of the hat I am wearing in my photo, lol.)

    • Agree about the jewelry: too big and distracting, and the orange looks a bit cheesy. Without those pieces, the we could just pay attention to that large and wonderful hat and the rest of her costume, which is actually quite elegant.

    • A very rare miss here from Queen Max. But I don’t think the jewels are costume. It looks like coral and I think I see pearls. But who can tell with the mix shes got going. Still got to love her for her heart.

Leave a Reply

