Trooping the Colour: York, Wessex and Phillips Families

Royal Hats

We continue our look at Trooping the Colour today, turning our attention to hats worn by members of the Queen’s immediate family. We’ll start with Princess Beatrice, who repeated her structured gold felt percher hat with curved orange trim. The last time she wore this piece, a number of readers did not like the choice of a felt design for a summer event. Today’s greyer skies and cooler weather in London make this a moot point in my mind- I really like how Beatrice styled this design to pop against her streamlined navy dress (it’s reads as a ray of sunshine!) and I think she wears it well.

 

Designer: Sarah Cant “Dawn” design from AW 2014
Previously Worn: June 19, 2014

Princess Eugenie topped her teal green suit in a cream straw saucer hat with raised slice brim, trimmed with purple and brown pheasant feathers. This hat is all about the trim- an unusual colour combination that looks surprisingly striking on the neutral hat. I love the hat’s unexpected pairing with Eugenie’s green suit which shows it off so well. The York Princesses get their fair share of fashion criticism but I think they have looked fantastic this weekend.

Designer: Viviene Sherieff
Previously Worn: This hat is new

The Countess of Wessex also veered from her go-to cocktail shapes and joined the calot craze! Her calot hat, in palest pink straw, is covered in silk flowers and leaves in the same hue. The effect is a floral wreath that frames her face- it’s exceptionally feminine and soft. After seeing Sophie in edgier statement pieces over the past few years, this design makes for quite a style departure.

 

Designer: Jane Taylor
Previously Worn: This piece is new

Lady Louise  Windsor wore another small headpiece today, this one a spray of silver oak leaves and acorns. It’s wonderful to see her start experimenting with hats and headpieces this year and this one is darling, especially tucked into her braided hairstyle.

 

Designer: Jane Taylor
Previously Worn: This piece is new

Autumn Phillips topped her blue frock with a straw disc saucer hat trimmed with feather quills and straw looped bow. The hat reads pale blue here but according to the designer, it is silver (see a better photo of the colour from the designer here). which makes more sense with Autumn’s cerulean blue dress. While we can’t see the hat in great detail here,I do think Autumn’s chignon sets it off, beautifully.

 

Designer: Juliette Botterill. It’s the Quill Detail Percher from  SS 2015
Previously Worn: I believe this piece is new

Zara Tindall wore an interesting magenta straw beret cocktail hat trimmed with side mass of grey silk roses and a mass of Lady Amhurst feathers. Zara wears these fancifully embellished cocktail hats so very well and I think this could be a great hat, if only we had a better look!

Zara Tindall, June 11, 2016 in Rosie Olivia | Royal Hats  Zara Tindall, June 11, 2016 in Rosie Olivia | Royal Hats

Designer: Rosie Olivia. It is the Gizmo design
Previously Worn: I believe this piece is new

It’s not often that we see so many new hats worn by such a large group in the space of a weekend and there is much to discuss! What do you think of this group of British royal hats?

Photos from Getty as indicated; Ben Pruchnie and Zak Hussein via Getty;  AFP via Zimbio; and BBC TV1

20 thoughts on “Trooping the Colour: York, Wessex and Phillips Families

  1. One has to wonder how much these ladies talk and coordinate what they will wear. Kate and Camilla looked stunning sitting together in white. I loved both of their hats and outfits. Even Sophie fits this group for color. I liked the hat she is wearing just wish it had been a bit bigger I think. Beatrice and Eugenie looked great. I actually liked the pop of orange but just wish it sat back a bit more on her head. Eugenie looked lovely but I must agree with someone’s comment that her look would be perfect in the fall considering the color and feathers in her hat. I really enjoy seeing so many junior royals such as Autumn, Zara and the children.

  2. The arrangement of the flowers on Sophie’s hat make it look, at some angles, like she is sprouting little horns – not a good look. I do adore Princess E’s feather adored had.

  3. I think everyone looked really wonderful! I’ve always liked this hat on Bea and I like the dress she paired it with this time. Eugenie’s hat is beautiful. Sophie’s hat is a departure from her usual but I like that she’s trying something new. Autumn looked stellar, I love this so much more than what she wore yesterday. Zara always brings her A-game as far as hats go, I hope we get a better look at this one!

  4. Beatrice’s stunning hat looks better this time than when we first saw it, but it still doesn’t seem quite right to me. I appreciate that Sophie is changing it up, but this one isn’t quite up to snuff. She sets a pretty high bar, doesn’t she? As HatQueen has said, we need a closer look at Zara’s and Autumn’s hats.

    That leaves Eugenie’s splendid hat as the winner of this bunch. It’s a little autumnal for June, but otherwise a great match for her coloring and dress as well as a balance between edgy and traditional. Is there a view showing the feathers under the brim?

  5. Hat Queen, I honestly don’t know how you do this! I’m quite overwhelmed by the number of hats; perhaps because it’s too early in the morning and I need a cup of tea!
    Between the hats and dresses, the color wheel is almost complete! Eugenie looks super in her hat. Sophie Wessex looks as though she’s wearing a bridal headpiece. Love what I can see of her suit.

  6. I enjoy the York princesses’s fashion experiments. Young and unstuffy, who cares if occasionally they ruffle the style guru’s feathers. Both hats good, the yellow perfectly expresses the Beatrice style.

  7. I like this cocktail hat for Beatrice, but I much prefer the way she wore it at Ascot, with her hair pulled to the side and the hat sitting a little farther up on her forehead. Love the blue/orange combo though (it’s one of my favorite color combos).

    Eugenie has been pulling out all the stops this weekend! I love this even more than yesterday’s ensemble! This Vivien Sheriff disc headpiece is so stunning, and pairs wonderfully with her turquoise outfit. One of my favorites of the day.

    I am not onboard with this look for Sophie, and it was definitely my least favorite of the day. She can go bold with her millinery, and calots are so boring as far as hats go. And for me personally the other problem is the lack of color again.

    Louise looks nice, and I prefer this to her fascinator yesterday.

    Autumn looks great again, although I love her hat from yesterday much more. FYI, her hat is the Quill Detail Percher hat from Juliette Millinery, according to Juliette’s Instagram post.

    Rather shocked, perhaps even disturbed, that there are not better photos of Zara. This hat, from what I can tell, is absolutely beautiful and must be brought back for a better viewing. And I am willing to bet it’s another Rosie Olivia cocktail hat (looks like her signature pheasant feather work).

  8. The York princesses are my favorite in this group because they rocked the color wheel! I want to defend their hat choices–orange and blue are complimentary colors, and purple and green are 2/3 of the triad formed from the secondary colors (the missing color is orange). These color schemes are much more sophisticated than merely matching the hat color to the dress. Bravo!!

  9. Pretty darn good showing from this group.

    I’m not a huge fan of Beatrice’s orange hat – the base needs to be slightly bigger, or it needs to sit further back on her head, something. Also not convinced she can wear the colour. (I’ll admit I’m conservative on what red-heads should wear, having been one in my earlier days.) However, it’s not bad, this is more ‘thinking out loud’ than criticism. Eugenie WOW. Great hat and her outfit a great colour for her. Sure, the hat is a tad more conservative than we’re used to from her, but a well-made hat doesn’t need to shout. And here, ladies and gentlemen, we have such a hat.

    Sophie’s outfit looks gorgeous, esp the beading round the waistline/bottom of the jacket. I kind of love the hat – certainly love the idea of such a soft, feminine look for one of my favourite royals – but feel that the base needs to be larger to bring the flowers further forward … or that there need to be more flowers or more and bigger flowers. There’s a distinct (and disconcerting) gap on the top of the hat and in a couple of the photos there appears to be more bulk at the sides than on top so it resembles a cleverly knotted hankie (kind of). Lady Louise looks very nice (and my goodness, aren’t Queen Mary’s genes strong?).

    Autumn and Zara look great – as you say, wish we could see more of Zara’s interesting chapeau.

  10. Autumn looked so much better than yesterday. Princess E had a lovely hat. I do not understand feathers in the spring though but maybe that is only me. Hard to see Zara..think it was nice though. I would not say Sophie actually missed it was just not her usual edgy style. Very calm. Really liked her jacket.
    I looked back and I think that is one of the best hats Priness E has ever had.

  11. Like Barbara, I feel Sophie’s usual choice of large modern hats suits her better than this small, vintage-looking hat. The color is pretty, but it lacks the edginess we’ve come to expect from her. I love Eugenie’s hat with the unique colored feathers, but a lovely deep purple dress the same shade as the feathers would look smashing with this hat or maybe a cream dress with the same shade of purple as an accent. I think Beatrice’s hat shape is very nice and it complements her hair color. Autumn Phillips’ hat would have been smashing if the blue of her dress would have been placed somewhere as an accent on her hat, but her chignon hairdo does look very elegant with her hat. The beret cocktail hat is Zara’s usual style and I like that the hat relates to her dress with the grey flowers.

  12. I suspect that Eugenie’s hat is by Vivienne Sheriff, the shape and the feathers look like one of her pieces. I think it’s a fantastic pairing with her dress.

    • Great call, Kerri- I KNEW I had seen this before but am feeling like I’m loosing my marbles this weekend, keeping track of all these hats! You are indeed correct- it’s Viviene Sheriff, whose style I think is an excellent fit for Eugenie.

  13. Princess Eugenie is just gorgeous. That hat is one of the loveliest things I’ve seen in a long time and she wears it beautifully.

    Not crazy about Sophie Wessex, but you can’t have everything.

  14. I agree with all you said about the York Princesses styling themselves so well this weekend. I also wish we could see more of Zara Tindall’s hat – she always wear something intriguing.

    I love the Countess of Wessex, but I was not a fan of today’s hat and outfit. She’s usually so edgy in her sartorial choices, that this was quite sedate.

  15. I think this was a rare fail for Sophie… larger hats suit her. felt this one was too small, too “twee” for her. Liked all the other hats, although the York girls never seem to consider their whole outfit – the hats, nice as they are, do seem a bit random.

Leave a Reply

