Swedish Royals Join Car Rally

On Saturday, King Carl Gustaf brought out his prized 1946 Volvo PV-60 to take part in the twelfth annual ‘King’s Rally’ on the island of Öland.

Queen Silvia, August 27, 2016 | Royal Hats
Queen Silvia joined in the automotive fun in a colourful, summery hat. Made of loosely woven straw printed with a pink, purple, lime and turquoise argyle diamond pattern, the hat features a flat crown and curved brim finished with a magenta hatband and bow at the back. We don’t often see such vibrantly printed royal hats and the simple shape of this one allows the diamond print to take centre stage. It’s not a serious or formal hat and as such, was perfect both with Silvia’s bright dress and for this informal event. She and the King, who sported a classic cream Panama hat, made a very handsome, hatted royal pair.
Queen Silvia, August 27, 2016 | Royal Hats Queen Silvia, August 27, 2016 | Royal Hats
Queen Silvia, August 27, 2016 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: I suspect this hat is new

Most of the working royal hats we see err on the more serious side of things and it’s lovely to see such a whimsical and informal design such as this. I think it is as wonderful as her iPhone cover (adorable!) but I’m curious- what do you think of Queen Silvia’s diamond printed hat?

Queen Silvia, August 27, 2016 | Royal Hats

Photos from The Swedish Monarchy; IBL and StellaPhoto
15 thoughts on “Swedish Royals Join Car Rally

    • I agree with what Patsy says August 30, 2016 at 9:40 pm. The Queen’s hat is not to my usual taste, but it has a really vintage look that is perfect for this event and the dress works perfectly here with it too. It is also good to see the King in one of his favourite fedoras.

  1. I love the argyle hat, especially the last photo, but, like Jake, LOVE the car.
    Speaking of American/UK spellings, my grandmother would “spell” some words thusly:
    car = “machine”
    sofa = “davenport”
    basement = “cellar”
    A little off topic, a charming member of my church, (who also turns 90 on this Saturday, the 3rd) is originally from Leicester in the Midlands. She has the quaint way of pronouncing it “Lester.” Gawd only knows how she pronounces that brown sauce named after Worcester.
    BTW, is HM in hiding? I really miss her Scottish outings, going to church, or in a local pub for dinner (July, 2016).

  2. I am so happy to be able to continue to say nice things. I love this hat. The shape, colors, texture and solid structure. I am England born and bred but live in America now and never know if I should spell in the English way or the Yank way when I’m on here LOL. Oh well. You still get the message. Thanks for showing us this delightful hat HQ.

    • I’m Canadian and we still normally use the English spelling. – E,g, colour, neighbour, honour etc. At least in Atlantic Canada where I live we do!

    • As this blog has become more and more international, so does spelling in your comments! I really appreciate how gracious you all are to each other (and to me!) on such matters.

      Canadian spelling does follow UK rather than American English in most cases… except tyre (we use the American ‘tire’). Funny- this is one of the few posts here where tyre/tire is relevant!

  3. Hats, what hats? All I see is that Volvo. Haha, jk, but seriously, that is one beautiful car.

    Silvia and Carl Gustaf look wonderful here. My only complaint is I’m not a huge fan of all the colors of Silvia’s hat; if it had been one or two colors, it would’ve been great, but 4 in this argyle pattern seems a bit too much for my tastes. The shape is great on her, and the stiffened seagrass keeps the hat simple and light. I can’t say for certain without seeing it in more detail, but I would venture to say Carl Gustaf’s hat is made of panama straw, or shantung at the least.

Leave a Reply

