Norwegian Royals on State Visit to Finland

King Harald and Queen Sonja of Norway were welcomed at the Finnish Presidential Palace in Helsinki today by President Sauli Niinistö and Jenni Haukio to start a three-day state visit.

For the official welcome and visit to Parliament, Queen Sonja repeated the navy straw hat she first wore in May this year. Today’s outing gave us a better look at this piece which features a slightly domed crown and upturned brim edged in wide ecru silk ribbon. The ecru silk edging and darker hat band are my favourite elements on this hat as they provide wonderful contrast that works so well with Queen Sonja’s striped jacket (interestingly, a different striped navy and ecru jacket than she wore with the hat last time).
Queen Sonja, September 6, 2016 | Royal Hats    Queen Sonja, September 6, 2016 | Royal Hats
While the hat looks great in side profile above, from the front view, I don’t think the shape, scale and placement work. When the upturned brim is tilted back on Sonja’s head, the proportion of the hat optically shrinks leaving a too small hat that looks borrowed from a children’s sailor costume.
Queen Sonja, September 6, 2016 | Royal Hats
Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: May 25, 2016 
Queen Sonja’s second ensemble of the day included a cafe-au-lait coloured pillbox which matched a wonderful laser cut leather jacket. The mix of modern and retro styles here is so unexpectedly fun and while the pillbox takes back seat to the jacket, it works because the ensemble works so well together. It’s difficult to tell from this photo what the hat is made of but I really, really hope it’s also leather.
Queen Sonja, September 6, 2016 | Royal Hats
Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: I believe this hat is new
Today’s first day of the state visit to Finland had both a millinery hit and a millinery miss for me- what is your assessment?
Photos from Getty as indicated; Vessa Moilanen via Getty; Lise Åserud/NTB scanpix via The Royal House of Norway; Jenni Gästgivare via Iltalehti
11 thoughts on “Norwegian Royals on State Visit to Finland

  1. That first hat is such a great color but the wrong wrong wrong shape. It totally looks like she’s wearing a kid’s hat.

    The second hat is OK… but not great. The jacket is OK but not really stylish. It’s pretty boring.

    How great would it be to see Maxima in leather?! and a leather hat for her? Please!

  2. Isn’t Sonja so funky for her age – when you think of her Queenly peers they’ve all found a style and stuck with it, and for most that style was circa 1982. Not Sonja however, she mixes it up; not always successfully but she gives it a go. For what it’s worth I think both of these outfits are quite fabulous.

  3. I really want to like this navy hat, and I’m having trouble trying to fix its shortcomings in my mind. Tipped more forward? Slightly deeper crown? Narrower brim? Help! I love the materials, and really like boaters, so I want this to work, especially with this jacket of Sonja’s. ARRGH! Frustration!

  4. I like both hats. I think the first one is suffering from bad placement. Also, I don’t like the flat bow, especially in the center front. I’d love to get a closer look at the pillbox. She wears that style so well, and this one is big enough that it doesn’t look like an airline stewardess uniform hat. It’s perfect with the leather jacket (I agree that the ties should be switched for something else.)

  5. The first costume would look better if the hat, with its frontally invisible brim were replaced; and the second ensemble would look improved without the ties on the otherwise very attractive jacket. (I like hat #2, which looks well on the queen, but I am not convinced that it is happy with the contemporary appearance of the jacket and necklace.)

  6. Queen Sonja’s navy and ecru jacket is marvelous, better than the first coat worn with the hatt, as others have noted. The hat goes perfectly with the new jacket and looks all right in photo #3. But in photo #4 the hat looks ridiculously small, misaligned and disproportioned.
    The simple pillbox is perfection with the second outfit.

  7. I love this striped outfit much better than the one she wore with hat #1 the first time. I wish the hat was placed on her head like she did in May, then this would be much more of a winner (minus the bow still being in the very front).

    Hat #2 works better with Sonja’s hair for sure, but I find the color boring (biased complaint since I’m normally not a fan of browns and beiges), and it blends in with her hair color so much! Her outfit is very cool though, and I love the futuristic vibes of that necklace.

    Overall though I think Sonja looked quite lovely.

  8. Queen Sonja looks very smart in the first outfit and the leather”get-up” is fun.
    The exuberant lavender blooms with touches of red in the window boxes really take my breath away!

  9. My issue with the straw hat is the semi transparent nature of the brim. I don’t like the way it perches in her head either. The other hat is much more successful. Just my opinion.

  10. The striped suit is wonderful; such a pity about the straw hat design – done right, it could have been lovely.
    Sonja wears pillboxes quite well, but I feel that this hat’s simple minimal lines, mirrored so very well by the torque, tend to clash with the unstructured boho feel and craftwork vibe of the leather jacket. I feel that both hat and jacket would work better in separate outfits.

Leave a Reply

