Queen Mathilde Visits Magritte Exhibition

Queen Mathilde was in Paris yesterday to take in an exhibition at the Centre Pompidou dedicated to late Belgian surrealist painter Rene Magritte. For this visit, she repeated a charcoal grey silk headpiece that, while from the front appears to be a stacked calot, is actually a pair of open rings that encircle her head. The first time we saw this design, I was not a fan but the styling here with Mathilde’s fantastic blue frock and grey accessories has made me warm to it. These open crowned headpieces have such a light and airy aesthetic that works well for less formal engagements such as this.

 

Queen Mathilde, Oct 5, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

   

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: October 28, 2014
I know many of you are gravely averse to these open crowned designs- did the wonderful styling on Queen Mathilde’s ensemble yesterday change your thoughts about this particular headpiece?
Photos from Getty as indicated and Belgian Monarchy

18 thoughts on “Queen Mathilde Visits Magritte Exhibition

  1. Well, I love the open crown headpieces/hats that Mathilde and Maxima often wear. I find them to be light and enhance the outfit; they bridge the no hat/total hat divide nicely I think. Mathilde looks very elegant and sophisticated.

  2. What is the point of an open crown hat? It doesn’t show the hair off to any advantage and often makes the coiffure look bad by showcasing any stray hairs. I’ve never figured why this form exists.

    • Interestingly, we see these hats just on Queen Mathilde, Queen Maxima and Queen Silvia- all who frequent the millinery studio of Fabienne Delvigne. I think this headpiece shape is more linked with this milliner than with mainstream fashion and I suspect we keep seeing it simply because it’s a good option for a lighter, less formal daytime hat,

  3. In common with many who commented, I like this rather flattering open-crowned hat. I cannot say I find the combination of gray and blue very exciting, but everything else about this ensemble is perfect–fit, style, and scale.

  4. Given this was a Magritte exhibition, MrFitzroy feels a bowler hat would have been the obvious millinery choice….but actually quite likes this particular headpiece on Queen Mathilde.

  5. For me the open crown hats almost always look nice until viewed from the side and, sad to say, Mathilde’s hat falls into this category. Mathilde like Maxima are normally spot-on for me when it comes to their hats, but open crowns are not my favorite.

  6. This is the first open-top hat I have ever liked. Holy cow- I never thought I could be convinced, but this is lovely. I think partially because it doesn’t look like it’s trying to be a hat- it looks more like it’s trying (and succeeding) at being a curvy fascinator, or a really grown up headband (which I usually abhor).

  7. Normally I dislike the open headpieces, but this one I don’t mind. She looks so regal and so pretty that I really don’t get bothered by the hat. She has some great accessories, but that smile is her best one.

  8. I like it both times Queen Mathilde wore this hat. It went well with her gray outfit and chignon at the more formal event, as well as part of this less matched but still coordinated outfit and different but still nicely styled hairdo.

  9. I am one who really hates the open crown hats, but this one is an OK one in my book — the shade worked nice with this dress and her hair color being as it’s fall.

  10. Hmm – well I suppose I COULD like this hat but I do find this dress a bit odd. The sleeves are distracting! Overall I do not like this ensemble.

Leave a Reply

