Queen Maxima Opens Exhibition

 

Yesterday, Queen Máxima was in Apeldoorn to open the exhibition, “Anna Paulowna, Colourful Queen” at Het Loo Palace Museum. For this engagement, she repeated a pale grey velvet headpiece with open crown trimmed with bows at the side. I am not usually a great fan of millinery with open crowns but the combination of shape (which looks like a calot from one side) and ruched fabric seems to make this one work fairly well.

Queen Máxima, Oct 5, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: November 22, 2013April 17, 2012 
This ensemble is in a much more subdued colour palate than we usually see on Queen Máxima and I can’t help wonder if this was chosen to let the exhibition about a past colourful queen take centre stage (a lovely touch if indeed it was). What do you think about Máxima’s velvet headpiece yesterday?
Photos from social media as indicated; Robin van Lonkhuijsen via ANP

15 thoughts on “Queen Maxima Opens Exhibition

  1. TODAY, I join everyone in their dislike of the head-wrap thingy.
    YESTERDAY, If I was more courageous, I would have remarked on her humongous black Garbo hat – but, being the only one apparently on the planet who thinks it’s too big, I refrained from comments. (Oops, the cat’s outta the bag!)

  2. I will never like this style of hat. And I’m not totally certain what’s happening with the sleeves, but it’s not great. Not the worst she’s ever worn for sure, but certainly not at her best. But as others have said, her smile makes up for sartorial misses.

  3. The first picture from the official Facebook page is terrible. She looks like she’s wearing a headscarf and the non-fitted blouse and the full skirt clearly don’t help.

  4. Did the Queens Maxima & Mathilde coordinate again? And both art exhibitions, no less!

    Unfortunately, this headpiece is a perfect example of why I don’t care for open-crowned hats. It looks sloppy, and surely someone could have found a better way to style her hair than a thin ponytail!

  5. I don’t like soft grey on Max so the hat is already scoring a minus with me, never mind the fabric and the hole. Also the droopy armholes are putting me off.

  6. This piece has some potential in that the color and soft folds mimic the blouse, but to me there is too much of a fabric mismatch between the silky blouse and the velvety headpiece. And while it looks good from the front, the shape does not work at all with her ponytail.

  7. I wonder if the queen’s palette was chosen to echo and harmonize with the life-size portrait of her predecessor. However, that does not explain (except the color choice) the really unsatisfactory hat. Very dull and poorly shaped. The whole costume lacks verve–very unusual. But, fortunately, and as usual, the queen’s smile outshines her ensemble.

  8. I am not a fan of this one at all. It almost looks unfinished. It reminds me of something from the late fifties or early sixties. Yesterday I liked her look, but not today. The blouse and skirt aren’t working for me.

  9. Even for Queen Maxima, I do not like these open crown hats. From the front it’s lovely with the ruched fabric flower on the right side, but then it was spoiled for me when I saw it was an open crown hat.

  10. Ok, so 10 minutes ago I was just oohing and aahing over the lovely Queen Mathilde’s open crown headpiece finally winning me over, and here we find another wretched one. I’m so sorry, and Queen Maxima herself is as lovely as ever (and so is her outfit), but I detest this, and other headpieces like it. I’m sure there’s more to it millinery wise, but it looks like some one just said, Oh here let me haphazardly drape this small scarf around your head.

  11. Oh dear! I’m glad I qualified my unmitigated praise for Queen Maxima’s dress sense yesterday. The first thing I thought when I saw the photo above was “milkmaid”! I suppose it is one angle of the headpiece and the top with dirndl skirt that brought this image to mind. She is a dazzling beauty nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

