One Hat, Two Frocks

When Queen Mathilde stepped out at the Frankfurt Book Fair on Tuesday, she was wearing a simple pyramid shaped percher hat in grey straw. This is the second time we have seen her step out in this hat- a hat that looked surprisingly different from its first outing. While lighting accounts for much of this difference, the pairing of this hat with dresses of a completely different style and feel is also at play. I’m curious about which ensemble you prefer:

Look 1: Paired with a pale blue silk wrap dress at the 100th anniversary of the start of WWI on August 4, 2014

Queen Mathilde, August 4, 2014 | Royal Hats  Queen Mathilde, August 4, 2014 | Royal Hats

Look 2: With a printed grey and pink printed Natan dress to open the Frankfurt Book Fair, October 18, 2016

Queen Mathilde, Oct 18, 2016 | Royal Hats  Queen Mathilde, Oct 18, 2016 | Royal Hats

   Which dress do you think works best with this hat?

Photos from  Fred Dufour, Chris JacksonPhotonews and Photonews via Getty

20 thoughts on “One Hat, Two Frocks

  1. Sorry, this hat looks like a WWI issue army helmet knocked slightly askew, and neither the lovely blue dress nor the print one can salvage it for me!

  2. This make no sense, even to me, but while I love the first dress and feel it is a beautiful look and classic design and QM looks wonderful in it, I prefer the hat with the second dress, even though the dress alone leaves me cold. Maybe the second dress and the hat fall into the same modern category type of clothing, while the first dress is softer and maybe would look even more smashing with a more classic hat style, maybe a big sweeping hat a la Maxima-type?

  3. I like the hat with both dresses. I think the pale blue/gray dress with the hat had the edge though, being a bit more sophisticated. The print of the other dress is so outstanding; the hat didn’t compete with the outfit but made for a stylish, beautiful look.

  4. Because this hat is overly simple,I will choose the printed Natan dress to balance out the overall look. Otherwise, the color scheme of the light blue and gray together is simply lovely!
    The hat works well with both dresses.

  5. Although I prefer the print dress to the blue one, the hat seems to complement the blue dress better. (It ma be that the queen is wearing the hat somewhat further forward with the blue dress–with the print dress, the hat looks something like a randomly placed WWI helmet.) Very interesting hat however.

  6. I actually agree that the hat is a darker version of the lighter one with the silk dress. That is the more elegant pairing. However, the darker hat matches the gray element in the print dress and I must admit that’s the perkier and more interesting of the two.

    • I agree with HatQueen that it is one hat. If you look at all the photos of its first appearance, there are a few that look rather darker than the two here, and likewise, there are some in which the “darker” hat looks lighter when it was worn at the Book Fair. I know we have seen many examples of ladies choosing to have several surprisingly similar, or even, except for color, identical hats, but this one in particular, of a unique style, would seem a rather unusual one to duplicate.

  7. I like the blue dress the most, but I don’t mind the print, and normally I do not care for prints. The hat looks fine with both of them.

  8. I like both dresses with the hat. It is unfortunate, but the second photo at the Frankfurt Book Fair, has someone standing behind her and makes the hat look to me like an askew helmet!

  9. I really prefer the hat with the print dress. The whole ensemble has an Oriental feel for me, which is interesting as Mathilde has just come home from Japan. I think she looks incredibly chic.

  10. I much prefer it worn with the blue wrap dress. It seems to levitate above her head in a rather awkward fashion on the second outing and much as I love hats I do wonder why this event even needed/merited a hat at all.

  11. I think it is two different hats. Same style hat but different colors. I like the lighter one with the blue dress. Although the darker second hat matches the dark gray color in her print dress. I really don’t particularly like this hat as a whole.

Leave a Reply

