Queen And Duke of Edinburgh Open Research Facility

Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh opened the Francis Crick Institute for biomedical research in London this morning. The Queen stood out in her vibrant turquoise wool hat with tall, hourglass shaped crown and black velvet rosette trim. It’s still not my favourite millinery shape for Her Majesty but I admire how well the hat and coat coordinate together how beautifully the luxe black velvet accents makes the ensemble ‘pop’.

    

Designer: Angela Kelly
Previously Worn: December 3, 2015April 2, 2015October 16, 2014
What do you think of this black and turquoise hat on Queen Elizabeth today?
Photos from Getty as indicated

9 thoughts on “Queen And Duke of Edinburgh Open Research Facility

  1. My issues with this particular rigout remain – that coat in particular is really oddly cut around the pleats, the collar doesn’t sit flat and the hat is a smidge too big. But I love the colour and the concept of it, just the execution is slightly off.

  2. The best part of this outfit might be the dress fabric, barely visible in the second photograph. Neither the hat nor the coat has ever been a particular favorite of mine.

  3. I like this shade on her much better than the light green and then the light pink we saw her wearing this year in late fall. I’ll never like these stove pipe crown hats she wears — far too mad hatter.

  4. I commented 2 years ago that I quite liked this new hat, and that it looked wonderful in the sea of red poppies.
    My opinion has not changed since October 16, 2014. Great pop of color on a dreary November day.
    BTW, I am half-way through watching “The Crown” on Netflix, and I am enjoying the series. . . high quality story telling in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

