Day 2 of Belgian State Visit to The Netherlands

After yesterday’s very neutral hued kick off of the Belgian state visit to The Netherlands, Queen Máxima and Queen Mathilde donned some saturated colour (and a pair of new hats!) for joint engagements today.

Queen Mathilde & Queen Máxima , Nov 29, 2016 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima wore a new calot hat in dark burgundy velvet, trimmed in a wrap of black net veil. It’s a simple design that allows the plaid skirt star of her ensemble to stand out. Velvet always looks so luxurious and the pairing of top and hat here are beautiful.

    

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: This hat is new

Queen Mathilde topped her red Armani dress and coat with a wide brimmed, velvet felt hat with off-center peaked crown and gently upswept brim. We seldom see hats of this size and scale that are completely unadorned and I really like how the subtle details in the shape of this piece provide everything it needs to be interesting and beautiful. Some might think it has an off-putting cowboy vibe but I adore how the shape’s unapologetic boldness.

Queen Mathilde, Nov 29, 2016 | Royal Hats  Queen Mathilde, Nov 29, 2016 | Royal Hats

 

Queen Mathilde, Nov 29, 2016 | Royal Hats  Queen Mathilde, Nov 29, 2016 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown. My guess is Philip Treacy
Previously Worn: This hat is new
These two queens appear to genuinely enjoy each other’s company which makes any joint event a treat for us royal watchers. I’m curious to hear about what you think about their new hats!
Queen Mathilde & Queen Máxima , Nov 29, 2016 | Royal Hats
Photos from Getty as indicated; Action Press/Rex Features; Photonews, PhotonewsPhotonews, Photonews and  Photonews via Getty

20 thoughts on “Day 2 of Belgian State Visit to The Netherlands

  1. I love the bright red color on Q Mat’s hat but though I love a big picture hat I don’t care for the cowboy style and I agree with someone who wrote the shoes are two light in color for this time of the year. I actually love Q Max’s hat including the netting but I wonder if the whole outfit might have looked better with a coat the same color as her hat or another color in her skirt. The coat color seems to much of a contrast. But these comments are small details. Both women look beautiful and do seem to be having lots of fun!

  2. I think I’d love QMaxima’s hat better without the netting. It looks rather messy. But the hat with the top and plaid skirt is LOVELY! With QMathilde, I would have liked a wide grosgrain ribbon around the hat; it looks “unfinished” to my eye. But the red is a GREAT color on her!

    • Looking at the 3rd from the last picture, where “Mat” (I love your name abbreviations!) is looking down,
      I think her red cowboy hat is screaming for some sort of adornment – feathers, a band, something! It looks very un-finished to me.
      BTW, she has a LOT of red on, doesn’t she? Easy to spot in a big crowd!

  3. Queen Mathilde’s hat is rather plain. Just think what could happen if it were sent to England and Angela Kelly worked on it for a few minutes? Nonetheless, the outfit is fine — except for the shoes, which seem totally out of character and season.
    The win goes to Queen Máxima, though, who looks appropriate and wonderful.
    These two queens photograph so well together.

  4. I would like Queen Maxima’s calot better without the netting. I love her outfit with the warm colors and soft fabrics so appropriate for fall. But she overdid it a bit with the netting and even with too much mismatched jewelry. Queen Mathilde’s outfit on the other hand seems a bit cold in its simplicity. I find myself wishing she had gone with dark accessories, maybe a contrasting dress, and at least a rope like decoration on the hat, similar to her coat closings. The shape of the hat is a bit too cowboy for me, but I could excuse that if everything else worked. These are obviously small criticisms in the grand scheme of things. I think both Queens have looked amazing during this visit.

  5. Because this plum color is new for Máxima, I’m liking this calot much more than I usually would. Granted, I’m still of the opinion that she looks best in larger hats, especially those with some sort of brim. An excellent new look for her!

    I’m of the opinion that Mathilde’s hat does have a slight cowboy feel to it. Granted, it’s a good hat for her and I really like her outfit, but I do wish there was one or two pheasant or Lady Amherst feathers sweeping out around the crown just to give this hat a little more “oomph”.

      • I’m not really sure. The hat itself could look better with some feathers, that’s true. But I think that with this bright red outfit it just would be too much. Now the attention can go to the beautiful Armani coat with the original “buttons”. Maxima of course would go for the big feathers, no doubt about it.

  6. The colour of Maxima’s hat & other accessories is so yummy, I want to eat it up. I like the delicate veiling, which adds some additional texture to this autumn array. And, hat allows her to showcase the garnet earrings. A win, all around. I like Mathilde’s new hat, as well, although that is not a colour I would have chosen for her.

  7. Love Maxima’s hat. I suppose I am in the “cowboy camp” with Mathilde’s, but it suits her well and the color is great on her. These two have so much fun together, they could show up in burlap bags and that would be alright with me.

  8. I can’t get over how amazingly “finished” these ladies look – they carry off every detail so perfectly. The hair, the jewelry, the purses, the hats, the gloves ….. every detail is simply perfect. I believe we’re living in a great age of young royal ladies with Mathilde, Maxima, Mary, Letizia, Victoria, and Catherine and I look forward to watching them for years to come.

  9. These two queens are truly the Belles of the royal world! Both are very beautiful and have great taste in their clothes and..love both hats!

  10. It seemed to me at first glance that these hats and outfits were made to complement the background setting. They are both lovely ladies and look most attractive on day two of the Belgian State visit to The Netherlands.

  11. I like the juxtaposition of Maxima’s calot and Mathilde’s big hat. Maxima’s hat would be even prettier if she had worn her hair in a chignon. Both are such cheerful women that it is hard to find fault with anything they wear. Just goes to show that the most important accessory is one’s attitude and both these ladies have it in abundance!

  12. Yes I like both hats and think both ladies looked good but I have seen several photos on other sites which indicated that today’s events were very much indoors, and I did think Queen Mathilde’s large hat was too big for indoor events. Thank you HatQueen for our daily dose of hats – just what the doctor ordered!

  13. I totally agree HatQueen they both seem to enjoy each other. Both ladies look awesome. I’m a Queen Maxima fan so I adore the burgundy hat. Maxim can pull it off if anyone can. I believe part of it may be her exuberance for life itself.Thank you HatQueen again for all the hard work on this delightful website.

Leave a Reply

