Queen Máxima Opens Tech School

Queen Máxima was in Den Bosch yesterday to officially open the Hieronymus Academy of Data Science in the former convent of Marienburg. For this event, she repeated her red felt Garbo hat trimmed with slim leather hatband.

Embed from Getty Images

Queen Máxima, Dec 1, 2016 in Fabienne Delvgine | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, Dec 1, 2016 in Fabienne Delvgine | Royal Hats

Embed from Getty Images
Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: October 14, 2014November 8, 2013
This is the the second head-to-hem red ensemble we’ve see this week, giving an interesting opportunity to compare (see the other one here). Which red ensemble do you prefer? And, how much does the hat influence your choice?
Photos from Getty as indicated; Albert Nieboer and Albert Nieboer via PPE
7 thoughts on “Queen Máxima Opens Tech School

  1. While I liked Mathilde’s red look I prefer Maxima’s. I thought Mathilde’s hat was too cowboyish and I love the drape of Maxima’s coat. All in all Maxima’s red look was softer and more feminine to me.

  2. Glad to see the return of this hat, and the return of a brightly-colored hat on Máxima’s head! I feel like she’s worn so many neutral-colored and subdued-colored hats this year, so I’m glad for this. It’s easy and excellent enough for this outing.

  3. I agree that both look fabulous in this color red. I love Max’s citrine (topaz?) earrings with the red too- I think it’s an unexpected choice that works well with the red. I love both outfits, but interestingly I wish the hats were flipped. Mathilde’s coat seems more traditional and embellished and I think Max’s traditionally shaped Garbo hat would suit it in a pseudo-mid-century kind of way, while Max’s plainer dress could handle the slightly more fun and off-kilter shape of Mathilde’s hat. Just a very tiny quibble though, both outfits are great.

  4. I continue to be wowed by this hat. I find it considerably more striking than the detail-free worn worn by Queen Mathilde earlier in the week.

  5. I prefer Maxima’s hat and Mathilde’s coat. I love the head to toe red on both Queens. Both look smashing in that colour.

Leave a Reply

