Inventory: Princess Mary’s Black Hats

As we continue building royal hat wardrobe inventories, today we’re going to peek in the closet of Princess Mary of Denmark for a look at all of the black hats she has worn. Here they are, in the order they were introduced:

1.Crown Princess Mary, July 26, 2004 | Royal Hats   2.2004-06-26-greenlandr 

Designers: all unknown 
Introduced: November 5, 2002; June 26, 2004

3.Crown Princess Mary, January 2, 2005 | Royal Hats   4.Crown Princess Mary, September 23, 2006 | Royal Hats   

Designers: unknown; Susanne Juul
Introduced:January 1, 2005; September 23, 2006

5.Crown Princess Mary, May 9, 2014 in Susanne Juul | Royal 2015-10-06-opening-of-danish-parliament-7r

Designer: Susanne Juul
Introduced: November 7, 2011 (modified version with added trim reappeared October 6, 2015)

6.2015-03-16-peter-heering-funeral-3r   7.Crown Princess May, May 27, 2016 in Susanne Juul | Royal Hats 

Designers: unknown; Susanne Juul
Introduced: March 17, 2015; May 27, 2016

I suspect the first three hats in this list are long retired, leaving four in current circulation. Numbers 4 and 5 are the workhorses as their streamlined designs fit in beautifully at the most sombre of events (and the recent addition of some new trim on calot #5 seems to have given it a new lease on life). Number 7 stormed onto the scene this year, easily claiming our pick for favourite new royal hat in May. The scale and exuberant shape of this piece sets it apart from Mary’s other black hats and it will be interesting to see how it is repeated in the future.

What designs stand out to you here, most?

Photos from Julian Parker via Getty; unknown; Keld Navntoft and Mark Cuthbert via Getty; Albert Nieboer / DPA / Abacapress; Splash News/Splash News/Corbis; Getty; Andreas Rentz via Getty

21 thoughts on “Inventory: Princess Mary’s Black Hats

  1. I think #4 and #7 are my favorites because the style seems to flatter most women. Calot hats, especially in black, are not a favorite because they seem so easily lost on dark-haired women. Black hats, overall, are difficult to wear for dark-hailed women with pale complexions.

  2. I like everything about #4 – the hat, the chignon hairstyle, the fabulous pearls, and Mary’s lovely expression on her face. Otherwise, no comment. I’ve decided I’m not going to be one to criticize any of the choices these royal women (or men) make in their wardrobes henceforth. I can’t imagine what it would be like to have people constantly looking at you and critiquing your sartorial choices. I’m just thankful they are willing to take on the role!

    • Oh Chicago Chuck- you raise a question I long struggle with (and wonder how I’m contributing to the problem). In the end, what’s on a royal head is never more important than what’s IN that royal head or the causes and organisations it supports.

      This is the very reason why I dropped the category of “Least Favourite Royal Hat” in our year end wrap up polls. While some might find that kind of discussion funny, it started feeling unnecessary (and even a bit mean spirited) to me.

      • Thanks for the thoughtful response. With the vitriol et al that is going on in the US and other places around the world these days, I’ve decided that I’m going to try to live by that old adage our mothers taught us – if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. I’m satisfied with noting the things I like, find attractive, stylish, or appropriate. My silence also can say plenty! 🙂

      • HatQueen, you are most certainly NOT contributing to the problem. I always appreciate how you set boundaries for this site, keep us focused on the hats, and emphasize the positive.

        If we were all as generous as Chicago Chuck, our comments could get pretty boring! I agree that #4 is an excellent working hat, but #7 is my favorite of these.

      • HatQueen, one of the things I love about the blog is how nobody post ugly impolite remarks. It is so refreshing after some blogs where trolls criticise everything including body shapes of the Royal ladies. We need more thoughtful blogs like yours.

      • I do appreciate how most of you keep the conversation here a respectful one. I still have to delete comments from time to time but it doesn`t happen nearly as often as, say, a year or two ago.

      • One reason I keep coming back to this site is the tone of the commentary. This blog and the Royal Order of Sartorial Splendor are the only royal watching blogs I read precisely because of the strict commenting policies. I appreciate that very much! And, thank you, Chicago Chuck for bringing it up! I agree with you wholeheartedly.

        Hat Queen, we love your blog. Thank you for maintaining such a pleasant place to admire the wonderful millinery of our world wide royals.

  3. 6 and 7 are my favorite, with 7 being my absolute favorite; I would love to see 7 paired with a more colorful outfit.

    I like 5 with the trim added and her hair down, and the shape of 4 is nice, but I’ve always found the pointy feathers a bit harsh, while the transparent brim and heavy crown also confuse me.

    Overall, this collection is much more boring than Kate’s, but I do hope we see the return of 6 and 7 in 2017!

      • I think Kate’s black hats had much more interesting details and variety than Mary’s. But I usually think the British have the most details going on in their millinery in general!

        What I also failed to mention is that the embellishment/trim on #7 is something I would like to see be done on some of Máxima’s slice hats. 7 proves this can very successful, and I would love to see Máxima/Fabienne Delvigne take cue.

Leave a Reply

