Inventory: Queen Elizabeth’s ‘Black And’ Hats

Some of you have been eagerly awaiting a review of the black hats in Queen Elizabeth’s millinery closet. In preparing this inventory, I came a across an interesting subgroup of hats that I’m calling the “Black Ands”- hats that are partially black and partially another colour. Since 2000, Queen Elizabeth has worn fourteen designs that fit this classification and I thought a peek at them today would be a great prelude to our look at her black hats tomorrow. Here are all the “Black Ands” we have seen Queen Elizabeth wear this millennium, in general order of introduction:

1.Queen Elizabeth, Oct 24, 2000 | Royal Hats  2.Queen Elizabeth, Nov 29, 2001  3.2002-02-24-new-zealand

Designer: unconfirmed. Likely either Frederick Fox or Philip Somerville 
Introduced: all prior to 2000 (these outings were photographed  Oct 24, 2000; Nov 29, 2001 and Feb 24, 2002)

4.Queen Elizabeth, Oct 10, 2003 in Philip Somerville | Royal Hats  5.Queen Elizabeth, April 20, 2012 | Royal Hats  6.Queen Elizabeth, Dec 25, 2002 | Royal Hats

Designer: Philip Somerville; unknown; unknown
Introduced: Dec 31, 1999; Oct 6, 2002; Oct 13, 2002 

7.Queen Elizabeth, March 27, 2007 in Philip Somerville | Royal Hats  8.Queen Elizabeth, May 7, 2007 in Rachel Trevor Morgan | Royal Hats  9.2008-05-02 Scouts centennary

Designer: Philip Somerville; Rachel Trevor Morgan; unknown 
Introduced: Nov 24, 2005; May 7, 2007; May 2, 2008

10.Queen Elizabeth, May 13, 2008 | Royal Hats  11.Queen Elizabeth, April 25, 2015 in Philip Somerville | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown; Philip Somerville
Introduced: Oct 23, 2008; May 7, 2009

12.Queen Elizabeth Oct 9, 2009 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats 13.Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip, June 1, 2013 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats 14.Queen Elizabeth, March 3, 2011 in Angela Kelly | Royal Hats  

Designer: all are Angela Kelly
Introduced:  May 7, 2009; Oct 27; 2009; Mar 3, 2011

Some of these pieces will no doubt be familiar as they have seen high profile events or frequent wear (#5, #11, #14) while others might seem new. I have long admired the punchy high contrast of #8 and delicacy of #10 and haven’t lost hope that we’ll see them trotted out again.

Now over to you, dearest readers- what pieces stand out most to you? What makes one partially black hat work while another does not?

Photos from  Pool/Tim Graham, Adrian Dennis, Ian Jones, Kirsty WigglesworthMax Mumby/Indigo, Tim Graham via Getty; Corbis; Saul Loeb via Getty; Press Association; Getty ImagesMark Cuthbert, Max Mumby/Indigo, Nick HarveyWPA Pool, via Getty

25 thoughts on “Inventory: Queen Elizabeth’s ‘Black And’ Hats

  1. I’m not sure what color one would classify this hat as, but I think it actually might be primarily black:
    Embed from Getty Images

  2. Hat #7 either pre-dated or was worn simultaneously with the following, obviously primarily non-black hat:
    Embed from Getty Images

  3. Such a diverse grouping! I like numbers 1, 3, 4, 6, 7 and best of all, 10. I would love to get a hold of some of these with a pair of scissors and reduce the embellishments.

  4. 7 is my favourite, though 8 is a close second.

    I dislike 5, it just doesn’t seem the Queen’s style; I imagine it on a much younger person.

  5. One advantage of Queen Elizabeth’s “black and” hats is that while “and” is meant to go with the outfit; the black always goes with her shoes, purse and gloves. (Of course, it often goes with black in the outfit as well.)
    I always have liked hat #10, worn only once to my knowledge, on the Turkey state visit. I also very much like #6, #8 and #10 — and number #1, although it’s not been worn for a long, long time. I don’t see why it couldn’t be worn again now. (I wouldn’t say that for #4 or #5, both of which looks somewhat dated.) I don’t remember ever having seen #2.
    Thank you for another comprehensive inventory!

  6. My favorite is #3. I think it is beautiful. I also like the classic fur hat of 8. The shape of 6 is different and appeals to me with its narrow stripes and ‘flame’. The flower on 8 is lovely, but I think the lace is too much. With a black and white outfit I think I prefer a hat in one color or the other. With a bright colored outfit, the black serves to tone down a hat that would be too much if all in the matching color. The high contrast of 5 and 14 work well, colorwise.

  7. As I suspected, #s 2 and 11 were worn for more somber/solemn occasions, where ALL black might have been too much?
    My favorites are #s 3, 8, and 10.
    HM looks green with envy at the hat next to her in the cute photo below.
    http://media.gettyimages.com/photos/britains-queen-elizabeth-ii-looks-at-a-grenadier-guard-as-she-leaves-picture-id56268477?s=594×594
    HatQueen, I fondly remember this time last year, when we were literally FLOODED with FOUR blue inventories! Our heads were spinning! And now, TWO black inventories . . .Christmas in January!

  8. These hats really run the gamut from the ridulous to the sublime. Several made me giggle. Even Her Majesty looks surprised to be wearing the second one……

  9. Number 10 is lovely; I think number 6 is great fun; and I like the simplicity of number 1. At first, I thought number 8 was too much, but I took another look as it was so well-liked by others. I now think it is the matching lace collar that I dislike. I would like to see this re-worn with a simpler dress, perhaps in a bright color (I had the same thought as Bristol that black/white color scheme is not her most flattering).

  10. #10 has long been one of my all-time favorite hats for HM, and I have commented many times about hoping for its return! Otherwise, I also really like #11, #8 (although I think this should be paired with an outfit that has more black), and #3, which is a new one for me.

  11. I really love number 8 (and it looks interestingly similar to many Angela Kelly hats in shape and trim). However, I have to say I think the black and white colour scheme, although a classic, works less well for the Queen than most do – it somehow doesn’t flatter her skin tone. I don’t think number 11 is much better on her, although 7 works well.

    I’ve always liked the high contrast of 4,5.6 and 14. And you’re right, HatQueen, 10 is a really lovely hat I’d like to see again.

  12. My favorite is #13, which feels very elegant and sophisticated, but #4 and #6 stand out as being interesting and slightly different. I don’t think the black + color is my favorite category of HM’s hats, but it’s lovely to see them all gathered together like this.

Leave a Reply

