Queen Elizabeth Views South Pacific Exhibition

Queen Elizabeth was in Norwich today to view the ‘Fiji: Art & Life in the Pacific’ exhibition at the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts at the University of East Anglia. For this engagement, she repeated her black and magenta split crown hat (a hat that many of you recently named among your favourites in our look at all of Her Majesty’s designs in black and another colour). Photographs today provide a better view of the side and back of this hat than I remember seeing before, giving us an all-angles glimpse at this unique shape.

 

 

From this view, it looks to me that the pink side of the crown is blocked over top the black side as a sort of addition wrapped on top of the ‘regular’ black hat. Today’s photos also show a small addition to this hat- a number of small black embroidered polka dots on the magenta side of the crown:

 

These small dots were not present on the hat the last time it featured here on Royal Hats on October 31, 2013 (although they can be seen on this hat’s last outing on January 25, 2015). To be honest, I’m curious about why they were added in such a small size because they are barely noticeable and really don’t change the overall look of the hat. Here is a side by side comparison of the hat from October 2013  and again today:

What do you think- was this small design change worth the effort on this piece?
Photos from Getty as indicated
16 thoughts on “Queen Elizabeth Views South Pacific Exhibition

  1. I seem to be a bit of a lone voice, I’ve always rather liked this hat, it’s quite fun. The black dots are a bit of a mystery though, they don’t serve any purpose.

  2. Frankly I find this hat too dramatic for The Queen’s serene personality and delicate colouring. The tiny embroidered dots are about the only thing I DO like- or would, as long as there were some other styling changes made as well. Those enormous plastic-looking buttons remind me of nothing so much as a clown suit….. oh,and the fashions of the eighties. Can’t you just see Princess Diana wearing this?
    In fact I probably wouldn’t mind this hat if worn by someone with a bold personality, such as Queen Maxima, Sarah of Wessex, or Zara Tindall. If only I could get past my antipathy to huge buttons and eighties -style diagonal colour-blocking 😦 ….

  3. I just could never get behind this ensemble because the color combo reminds me so much of that terrible Good and Plenty licorice candy! And the addition of the tiny black dots doesn’t help either. HM seems to like this, but I personally would like to see it retired.

  4. Baffling! I agree with Virginia and Shannon C. That it looks like the black dots are an attempt to cover something up. For heaven’s sake, just retire the hat if it’s damaged!

    • I thought the same – that the hat had somehow got an ink spot or something on it, and the other dots were added as camouflage! Very strange.

  5. Since this hat’s been on vacation for two years, I’m not quite so tired of it today as I was at its last wearing.
    I am mystified by the dots, though. Just wait until the next time she wears this we discover pink dots on the black. (If AK wants to fiddle with something, adjust that collar; it always looks rumpled.)

    • The collar looks like it was cut just a tad too big and eased to fit instead of recut. The dots look like Mia was playing with tiny stickers!

  6. I’ve always disliked this hat. The views today of the construction. Are it look like a Franken-hat and the dots do seem like a strange addition.

  7. This is not one of my favorite hats on HM. The bright pink is gorgeous and looks so good on her but the combination of the split brim and strong color locking gives a slightly jesterish feel. Fabulous coat though and I love repeats.

    • Yes! Or water spots or something. It seems like such a strange addition for aesthetic reasons makes you think it must be for practical ones

  8. Another winning hat for Her Majesty! Cannot for the life of me understand why the black dots have been added. You can hardly see them and when I first saw the photo, I thought the hat had drops of water on it! Anyway, I hope Ms Kelly takes them off quick-smart.

Leave a Reply

