Queen Opens Cyber Security Centre

Queen Elizabeth and the Duke of Edinburgh officially opened the National Cyber Security Centre in London yesterday. For this event, the Queen repeated she repeated her vibrant blue hat trimmed with a pleated hatband and velvet flower trim. The use of the same silk crepe as Her Majesty’s coat to cover the hat’s crown and underbrim makes for very unified ensemble- visible straw on the top of the brim and the velvet flowers lend textural contrast and saves the hat from falling flat.  The colour is brilliant on the Queen and her choice of an emerald brooch draws out sparkle from the green beads at the centre of the velvet flowers, a wonderful touch I hadn’t previously noticed.

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan
Previously Worn: February 4, 2016; October 15, 2015October 30, 2014;  November 8, 2013December 25, 2012
I know there are mixed feelings about the chevron front on this coat but I wonder- did today’s outing change your thoughts at all about this hat?
Photos from Getty as indicated
16 thoughts on “Queen Opens Cyber Security Centre

  1. I love this cerulean color for HM, and the hat is very flattering for her. It’s nice to see the green bead detailing in the flowers, which have not been easily seen before, and I like how they tie in so well with the brooch on this particular outing (also, I’m a sucker for emeralds!). I don’t mind the zig-zag design of the coat, but what I’m not a fan of is how the buttons don’t all align/face the same direction; that’s the problem with oval buttons. Otherwise, I think HM looks absolutely lovely.

  2. Thank you for pointing out the green beads in the center of the flowers! I hadn’t noticed them before. Very nice and subtle touch.

    The thing that always strikes me about this hat is that, it it was made to go with this particular coat (and I believe it was), why the mix of flowers and sharp angles? I think a hat band with an overlapping design of the triangles (somehow) would look more cohesive. But, maybe that would be too matchy? Maybe the dress underneath is quite floral and the hat needs to look good with both.
    And, maybe Her Majesty wanted flowers. 🙂

    Overall, I like the hat. I think the Queen looks lovely.

  3. It remains a good (but tired) working outfit. Actually I’m pleased to see there are green beads in the velvet flowers. I caught a glimpse of something there occasionally and was afraid the velvet was fraying.
    I don’t mind the zig-zag front in general, but the neck does look a little sloppy. Since the dress shows through and matches the velvet flowers so well, though, it does make for a coordinated outfit. The zig-zagging makes this coat stand out. So many of the Queen’s coats are from two or three general patterns (even though most of those standard coats probably are more attractive than this one).

  4. Tjis is an attractive hat and outfit. However I am tired of seeing this style on Her Majesty so often since she looks good in a number of styles. In the end it’s her choice but I’m always glad when she throws in a little variety for us.

  5. An all-around splendid look for HM: great color and shape, with a well-balanced trim. It never occurred to me before that the angle of the brim picks up the diagonals from the coat.

  6. She looks marvellous! It is a wonderful vibrant colour on her, without being harsh. I think the whole ensemble works well together.

  7. I think this is a handsome, probably deceptively simple hat that fulfills its role well. It doesn’t draw attention, but it complements the outfit. And a lovely colour.

Leave a Reply

