Queen Máxima Visits Dordrechts Museum

Queen Máxima visited the Dordrechts Museum yesterday to open an exhibition and kick off the museum’s 175th anniversary celebrations this year. For this visit, she wore a dark grey velvet felt hat with upswept ‘slice’ brim and square crown, simply trimmed with a wide silk hatband.

 

Saturday’s visit focused on opening the exhibition ‘A Royal Paradise – Aert Schouman and the imagination of nature’. The centerpiece of this exhibition is an incredible chamber painting of William V’s animal collection, painted on all four walls of a salon at Palace Huis ten Bosch. The work was recently restored and will be on display until September, when it will return to Palace Huis ten Bosch (King Willem Alexander and Queen Máxima’s future home).
I toyed with naming this post, “Queen Máxima Blends In With The Wallpaper” because of how beautifully her ensemble coordinated with the painting. This is obviously not coincidental and makes for a lovely touch at an event with such personal connections. Because we’re used to seeing Máxima in vibrant outfits, the grey and green scheme might seem a bit bland on its own…  in context with this event, however, it was simply perfect.

 

Designer: Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: I believe this hat is new
Because this hat looks so similar to others worn by Queen Máxima, I assumed it was a repeat. Close inspection, however, shows that the crown and brim on this one are slightly different than its close cousins shown below- making me think we need to take a look at Queen Máxima’s inventory of grey hats, soon.
Queen Máxima, Feb 18, 2017 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats Queen Máxima, Feb 8, 2017 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats Princess Máxima, October 4, 2012 in Fabienne Delvigne | Royal Hats
Hat #1 at the Dordrechts Museum, Feb 18, 2017; Hat #2 in Germany, Feb 8, 2017; Hat #3 on Oct 4, 2012
What do you think of this new hat?
Photos from Getty as indicated; Patrick van Katwijk, Lex van Lieshout and Franziska Krug via Getty
17 thoughts on “Queen Máxima Visits Dordrechts Museum

  1. I will cast a negative vote because I think the front brim is not in proportion with the rest of the hat and it seems awkward. I don’t like this angle of the up-turned brim at all.

    • YES! And it may be OT, but there isn’t a dart on that dress that isn’t puckered, and I don’t mean the giant pucker at the neck which unfortunately seems to be intended. Too bad because who doesn’t love Maxima.

  2. I like the hat, but the fabric used on the hat is just wrong for the fabric used for the dress. I agree about the general color scheme though.

  3. She looks fantastic and her hat is a triumph! How often do we get to say that her outfit co-ordinates with a room full of paintings? (My only quibble is the fit of the dress, most obvious in the back view shots; silly coming from a designer.) Her earrings are fab and putting a brooch at her waist … oh my. This is why I love Max, she is always fresh and surprising – and always brings that megawatt smile.

  4. This hat is superb! It is quite a bit like Queen Mathilde’s new hat, but the brim sweeps up higher in the front. I love it. I love her outfit (except for the strange construction of the dress) and appreciate that she coordinated the whole thing to go with the room. No need to upstage the art.

    A++, your Highness!

    • I wouldn’t have thought to combine those two colors either. Surprised they work so well together, and I love the shade of green in her dress. Maxima and Mathilde seem to have been shopping together again!! I like this hat, in fact love the grey velvet. My only complaint is the upturn is so sharp, and straight up from her face. I would prefer it to be a more gentle curve, and more to one side.

  5. In the close-ups at the top, I really didn’t like the hat, because the first impression that it created was that it was trying to match and being really unsuccessful! However, the views of the whole outfit make the dress look greener, so I don’t get that impression, and I can appreciate the subtle combination. It’s a very flattering outfit.

  6. As green and grey are my two favorite colors, I don’t find this boring at all! I absolutely adore this look and think Máxima looks absolutely stunning. This is very well-coordinated look without being too matchy in my opinion. My only complaint, like Mathilde’s new hat the other day, is the continuing lack of trim on Máxima’s hats; I know the large upswept brim would hide any trim much of the time, but some sort of bow on the right side wouldn’t be out of place.

  7. This is my favorite hat of the three shown for comparison. It doesn’t hide the Queen’s face, it doesn’t come down too far in the back, and the crown is a pleasing shape. I think Delvigne has got it just right this time.

  8. I love this combination of colours on Queen Maxima. It’s very elegant and classy on her.
    It would be lovely if we could do an inventory of all the Royals’s hats!

  9. Queen Maxima never seems to fail in looking exquisite. Personally, I’m not fond of the matchy-matchy with the hat, gloves, and shoes, but that is just my own personal opinion. Her earrings are superb and go along with her personality perfectly. I like the hat she wore for his occasion, but my favorite, in this style, is the #2 hat she wore in Germany.

Leave a Reply

