Queen Launches Baton Relay

Queen Elizabeth and the Duke off Edinburgh stepped into the sunny forecourt of Buckingham Palace this morning where the Queen officially launched the Queen’s Baton Relay for the XX1 Commonwealth Games to be held on Australia’s Gold Coast next year.

Embed from Getty Images

For this launch, she repeated her boater hat with flat brim and crown in lavender-grey straw overlaid in the same magenta silk wool as her coat.

Embed from Getty Images  Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

The linear lines of this hat show so well in this vibrant colour, a colour that the Queen carries beautifully and that is successfully softened with the visible lavender-grey straw on the underside of the brim. Where the hat falls short for me is in its trim – even in this revised state (look at its last outing here to compare).  I suspect the slim silver straw leaves, white fabric tulips and faux pearl berries are meant to further lighten the design and tie to the lighter straw underbrim but instead, they look jabbing and awkward.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

Designer: Angela Kelly
Previously Worn: April 17, 2015April 17, 2014
What do you think of this hat’s outing today at Buckingham Palace?
Photos from Getty as indicated
20 thoughts on “Queen Launches Baton Relay

  1. Overall, I like this hat, but I do find the shape to be a bit severe still (but it’s grown on me), and the trim somewhat oddly organized. Nevertheless, I can’t help but wonder if there might’ve been other minor adjustments made beyond fluffing up the trim. In the comparison photo, it also looks like the brim was wider and the crown slightly lower in the previous outings; this may be an optical illusion on my part, but I can’t unsee it now. At any rate, HM was smiling and looks healthy, so I can’t complain too much here.

  2. I love the colour on HM. Bright & cheerful. Love the hat. I think it’s got a classic look & much better compared to AK’s other designs. I actually love the trimmings. Softens the hat & colour a bit.

  3. I so prefer this shape of hat to the taller, more angular things Angela Kellyusially makes. It just looks so much more feminine and soft. But the trim is, as always for AK, cheap looking.

  4. This is off topic, I know, but who designed the coat? Her Majesty’s Jewel Vault is reporting that this coat is by Stuart Parvin. Some people here have suggested it’s AK. Does anyone has evidence?

  5. I think the coat is awful – too big somehow and badly tailored. HM should stick with Parvin. I don’t really like these very “flat” hats – very unforgiving. However HM was clearly having a good time – and her wonderful smile!

  6. I quite like the outfit: hat, coat and color. One of the best features of the hat, the gray underarm, doesn’t show particularly well in today’s photographs but does stand out in the hat’s previous two wearings’ pictures.

  7. I think both the coat and the hat are a miss although the color is lovely. HM looks dowdy and she hardly EVER looks dowdy.

    • How funny that I see it quite the opposite. The coat actually has a bit of curve in the side seaming unlike most of the straight up and down fare they put on HM. But we are here to talk hats and as stated already I am enjoying this one.

  8. Trim makes the hat look cheap. I think they could have come up with something better, but the color for the queen is perfect.

  9. I’ve always liked that hat (not the coat though). Wonderful color, wonderful trim (which obviously got a redo since the last outing), all wonderfully executed. And how touching that the DoE’s tie fits with HM’s ensemble. These two are unbeatable!

  10. So I think someone has been reading your blog, because the trim has had a bit of a blow dry, look carefully and it’s much more full than before.

    I don’t mind this actually, it’s a standard shape but with the slightly bouffed trim I think it works. Where I cannot get on board is with the coat, it has really dreadful pleats in the skirt which make it hang in a really awful shape. The jade and black trimmed coat she has had the same problem. Much less elegant and trim than a Stuart Parvin would have.

    • By gosh, you’re right. Missed that. It’s an improvement… but a slight one. Here’s a side-by-side comparison on the trim (today’s version on the left, the last seen version on the right)

      Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

      • It also looked like she is wearing the hat a bit farther forward today which helps. My husband is always telling me to push my hats farther forward so I am very much aware of this. Like the rest I love this colour on The Queen, but the hat and coat fall a bit flat.

  11. I love everything about this hat. The colour is marvelous. For me the trim is just right too. I know this is a hat blog but couldn’t help noticing that gorgeous broach. And my, what a big baton you have!

  12. I think more restraint with the berries would have mitigated its awkward appearance, but, on the whole, I like the hat. (And the berries do look nice with her pearls.) As remarked, a beautiful color on the queen–she looks lovely.

Leave a Reply

