Queen Máxima Opens Porcelain Exhibition

Queen Máxima was in Delft this morning to open the exhibition ‘Forbidden Porcelain Exclusive For The Emperor’ at Prinsenhof museum. Amidst a sea of beautiful Ming Dynasty era Chinese porcelain, she chose a dove grey ensemble complete with new hat.

Embed from Getty Images

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

The wide brimmed design, in luxurious velvet felt, follows the familiar shape of an upswept ‘slice’ brim that we’ve seen many times on the Dutch queen and the hat is simply trimmed with a wide Petersham ribbon hatband. The scale and shape are slightly larger and more angular than its hat twins in this same shape, a variation balanced by the soft colour and softened by its pairing with Máxima’s lace dress. I’ve gone back and forth wondering if the lace dress might be better paired with a straw hat… in the end, I think this works.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

Designer: unconfirmed but clearly Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: this hat is new
What do you think of Queen Máxima new grey hat today in Delft?
Photos from Getty as indicated
21 thoughts on “Queen Máxima Opens Porcelain Exhibition

  1. I really love this hat; it harkens back to some fun ones from her Crown Princess days, like this one from Curacao (http://www2.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Dutch+Royals+Visit+Curacao+ZyQiIGjSAMhx.jpg), or this one from Doha (http://www.gettyimages.com/license/109893441), or this one from Michigan (https://royalhats.wordpress.com/2015/06/03/dutch-monarchs-visit-michigan/) (this is from her Queen days, of course). The shape is a little more fluid than her regular slice hats, and I definitely think the felt works since it’s still early in spring, and the color isn’t heavy at all. The dress isn’t my favorite for her, but overall it’s a nice look and definitely matches well with the hat.

    Also, Máxima has long worn variants on her famous slice shape; a quick Google image search of her as Crown Princess demonstrates it’s a shape she’s long favored and obviously is not giving it up anytime soon. In fact, I’d like to see a return to some of her more avant-garde millinery.

  2. Yes, I love the gray as a rather uncharacteristically subtle color for the effusive Maxima–so I love it! It lets Her Majesty’s delightful personality to shine through. The hat is as much Max’s style as the tiny saucer hat belongs to the Empress of Japan; they are perfect for both. However, I agree that the felt/velvet is awfully heavy for spring and for the lace dress. Also, I wish the Queen had chosen a lighter color for the underslip than dark navy. Once again, not too spring-y. It might have been pretty if she had chosen the blue of the porcelain for the underpayment.

  3. I like the hat (and think I like the dress). Not one of the queen’s best outfits, but, as a commenter noted, her joie de vivre shines through.
    On another note, it’s not only Maxima’s stiletto heels that leave me speechless; it’s so many of the younger royals everywhere who seem to keep upright on 4″ish stiletto heels! (I’d be in agony!)

  4. Queen Maxima looks wonderful!

    I think the heaviness of the felt hat is complemented by the heaviness of the lace. It isn’t a delicate, flimsy lace, it’s a sturdy, structural lace. That aside, if Her Highness wants to wear a felt hat in spring… I don’t care! She wears it well!

  5. I’m with those who think this hat is too big and heavy for the day, seeing as Queen Maxima is outdoors without a coat. She is beautiful nonetheless, and like you said HQ, it is a tough call.

  6. I love this whole look. Hat and dress. And I especially love that the underdress has a little color to really show the lace.

  7. Either velvet or straw, both will look beautiful with this striking lace dress. As far as having this style hat in many colors and fabrics, I repeat the saying, “if it works, don’t fix it”! Obviously, Queen Maxima feels pretty and exudes a confidence in this particular hat style. I can think of several other royal ladies that stay pretty true to one type of head covering, so why not Maxima?

  8. In April, with a lace dress, it’s too heavy, and too big, but this comment is coming from someone who has never really appreciated ANY of the slice hats as much as the majority of readers out there do, and for the same reasons. Of all the queens that are featured on this blog, I believe that Queen Max is hands down, the most beautiful and exuberant, with a light-up-the-room smile. I don’t care for any hat that covers even the slightest amount of these attributes. I know that I’m often in the minority, but that’s what makes the world go ’round.

  9. I think the fabrication of this hat is too heavy for this dress. And you surely could not have look that this was a new hat for Queen Max – it looks like a lot of her others that we tend to admire on her when they are this shape.

  10. I agree, the lace dress needs something less heavy than the felt hat, although dress and hat are very nice

  11. I don’t think it’s a good pairing actually. A straw hat would have been betyer. And I get it; this is her go to shape, and it’s great on her… but she’s got one not much different, I just don’t see why she needed this one (okay it’s a bit lighter than the other grey one, but it’s not much different!

    • I agree.
      Queen Maxima’s exuberance allows her to pull off almost everything, of course, but this really doesn’t seem like a good pairing, and this new gray felt hat does seem a bit like overkill.

  12. Beautiful hat and beautiful dress! But the texture of the hat seems a bit heavy for its partner. Straw might indeed have been a better choice.

Leave a Reply

