Queen and Duke of Edinburgh Celebrate Maundy Thursday

Queen Elizabeth the Duke of Edinburgh attended the Royal Maundy service at Leicester Cathedral this morning. For the service, which concluded with the Queen distributing traditional Maundy Monies to 91 men and 91 women (for each of her almost 91 years of life), the Queen wore a new hat. In vibrant turquoise felt, the design includes a moulded crown, Pork Pie indented crown, upturned brim edged in dark teal velvet and is trimmed with overlapping velvet leaves on the side.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images  Embed from Getty Images

 

The felt hat pairs really well with Her Majesty’s jacquard coat in the same hue – the different textures on the two pieces give great dimension to the ensemble while the velvet trim used on both pieces brings it all together. While I adore the seam work on the velvet leaves, I wonder if the embellishment is a little heavy here and if the hat might be improved with a few less of these leaves (or no velvet trim on the neckline of her dress?). This quibble aside, I do love the play between the velvet collar on the Queen’s coat and the matching velvet trim on her hat.

Embed from Getty Images  Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

Designer: Angela Kelly
Previously Worn: This hat is new
What do you think of Queen Elizabeth’s new hat today in Leicester?
Photos from Getty as indicated
30 thoughts on “Queen and Duke of Edinburgh Celebrate Maundy Thursday

  1. Don’t change a thing, Your Majesty! I love the entire ensemble! The hat is the perfect pairing with that coat and dress. I don’t think the velvet is out of turn, here. Churches are usually cold and damp…a little warmth doesn’t go amiss.

  2. A comment on the seasonal appropriateness of the velvet: apparently the temperature in London yesterday ranged from 4 -13 degrees C. That is some serious cold weather. From this viewpoint, HM suddenly seems worrysomely under-dressed – I immediately want to offer her some thick pantyhose and a nice warm scarf! However, HM is known for her toughness — and no doubt her wardrobe team know exactly what they are doing in terms of keeping this nonagenarian cosy and warm when outdoors.

  3. The hat is lovely – color, embellishment and all but the felt feels heavy against the finer details of her silk jacquard coat. I would have paired a straw hat with such a delicate coat.

  4. The recipients of the Maundy money are 91 men and 91 women, thats a lot of handing over for a lady of her age.

  5. I love the colors and the velvet, and I can live with the number of leaves on her hat. I am not so concerned about the position of her collar. The dress could easily have shifted while she was shaking hands with so many people, and she seems to favor slightly loose, boxy coats and dresses in the last few years.

  6. I absolutely love this for HM! The color is perfect for her, and I wouldn’t change a thing about the outfit (except maybe the brooch, but even that I’m fine with). Angela Kelly is really hit or miss when it comes to hats (as we all know), but I think this one is a hit!

    I was wondering if this turquoise blue might be a liturgical color for Maundy Thursday, but it doesn’t look like it; maybe it’s just a color she thinks works well for the occasion, cheerful, but not too cheerful (based on the Christian days being observed). This looks to be a great outfit to repeat in fall, winter, or early spring.

    And yes, the dress may be off-center (or off-centre), but I can’t imagine everyone’s clothes would always fit perfectly at almost 91, even if you do wear couture (there could’ve been changes physically in the last few months); at any rate, I think it makes HM more relatable. Brava!

    • I agree Jake. My mum is of a similar vintage and has the same postural changes. Her clothes often slew a bit too….one must accept this.
      I love this outfit today….very nice indeed, hat and outfit well combined and nicely done. I particularly like the slim line of velvet around the brim of the hat and the bold leaves. Happy Easter to all.

  7. Looking back on previous years, this outfit with the velvet trim, is one of the ‘darker’ colour combinations worn. That said, I do love it but agree about the over-trim on the hat. Mute point, though! If she didn’t like what she looked like, HM wouldn’t wear it! Remember that when you comment.

  8. I think this is quite lovely. The trimming is unified and not overdone, and the colour palate works so well. The neck on the dress does bother me, but its not only Angela K that has that trouble.

    Funny how this colour has been such a Maundy Thursday roll for her isn’t it!

  9. I like the colors, textures, velvet, all of it, but I have just never liked those asymmetrical crown hats. They make the wearer look like Gumby, or as though they are in a cartoon where moving at great speed is implied by the stretching and blurring of the image. I know I may be alone in that view, however.

  10. The Christmas message dress mystery has been solved!
    I don’t think the hat is overtrimmed (well, not too much, at least), but I certainly would recommend that the velvet trim on the neck of the dress be removed. At Christmas the dress was carefully centered on the Queen before she spoke. It’s such a large neck opening, though, that it obviously shifts a lot, and that just adds to the competition with the velvet on the coat and on the hat. The Queen looks best with smaller neck openings. Not much can be done about this dress now, I suppose.
    From looking at previous Maundy Thursday outfits, the one color I thought could be eliminated from the running this year was turquoise. Ha!. Obviously the Queen thinks turquoise at this time of year.
    The shape of this new hat is good, and I like the velvet trim around the upturned brim. Whether fewer velvet leaves would improve the hat is indeed a possibility, but this looks like a serviceable working outfit.

  11. Velvet reads winter most of the time, however I see that the Queen has used velvet at this time of year before. One way to transition it to spring is with the use of lighter colors, which the Queen does. Another way is to use lighter weight materials with it. Here it seems like the Queen’s dress and coat might be silk instead of wool, which lightens things up. The more open neck design also takes the outfit away from winter. The hat, however pleasing with this ensemble, does introduce a warmer, heavier note. I would love to see the Queen transition to spring with a smaller, lighter hat — perhaps a casque made of these beautiful velvet leaves.

  12. Lovely color on Her Majesty. I’d agree that possibly a few less of the leaves on the hat might lighten it a bit. And I’m a bit surprised by the heavy use of velvet for a Spring (Easter) ensemble. One other note, interesting that the Duke of Edinburgh continues to wear morning attire for this service. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a photo of him while accompanying the Queen for the Maundy service where he wasn’t in formal morning attire. Nice touch!

    • He is always well turned-out, isn’t he? I agree that the velvet looks a little heavy, especially the leaves.

  13. This saturated colour is lovely for her. I agree that the velvet band on this dress is unnecessary, too heavy and cluttered at her neck. Probably this hat would look better with fewer leaves, but the scale of the trim on the brim is perfect. I think that those outfits with hat and coat in the same colour but different texture are generally much more successful than when the hat is made from the coat fabric. HM and the Duke look very happy and well today. A+ from me!

  14. I agree with Shirley Jean – the dress and coat are so badly fitting – this should not happen on correctly tailored outfit! If our Queen cannot have wonderful tailoring then I don’t know who can! I think the hat is too heavily adorned – perhaps the leaves needed to be a little more delicate – it would never happen with a RTM hat!

  15. PERFECT! I love the entire ensemble! It looks like it goes with her 2016 Christmas message dress.
    Embed from Getty Images
    Today’s version of amazing coincidences: (Liz, I hope you enjoy this, since only you seemed to appreciate my last entry with the elephants.)
    Maundy Thursday 2009
    Embed from Getty Images
    Maundy Thursday 2015
    Embed from Getty Images
    Maundy Thursday 2016
    Embed from Getty Images

    • How do you have such a memory for details? That must be the same dress worn at Christmas and this Maundy Thursday.
      Yes, the readers should go back and check out the elephants!

    • Interesting! Do you suppose she meant to wear the dress for Christmas services? She stayed home this year because of a bad cold. Anyway, it’s a perfect color for this time of year, so I can see why she repeats it.

    • At Christmas I wondered where this dress had come from, and then this morning when I saw the coat and hat I figured it out. At Christmas I had thought that the trim on the dress was black. Apparently it’s not.

  16. Nice new hat – I could see it might have worked a little better if the leaves were a tad smaller – I would think using less leaves might show too much of the crown of that hat which (when shown that way sans much decoration) is not a shape I really am fond of. I do like that the hat is not the same fabric as the coat which she does a lot. I like a tad bit of contrast vs the matchy matchy.

  17. My attention is drawn away from the hat, by the ill-fitting dress and coat. The color is nice, but the neckline is pulled to one side, and it appears messy. The Queen needs couture details and should have them.

    • This off-center neck problem supposedly stems from the Queen’s shoulders not having the same slope. If you look at the Queen’s dresses, any time there’s a neck openings significantly wider then the Queen’s neck, the dress shifts when she’s out walking. Why this known problem cannot be solved seems unusual, though, since the Queen wears couture only.
      This is a distraction.

Leave a Reply

