Queen Caps Birthday With Win At The Track

Queen Elizabeth was all smiles on Saturday, the day after her birthday, following the win of her  horse “Call to Mind” at Newbury. For this day at the races, she repeated her vibrant blue and turquoise hat with split stovepipe crown, trimmed with a fringed hatband and side bow.

Embed from Getty Images  Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

The photo above shows how closely the crown on this hat shape follows the scale and proportion of a top hat. While I’m not sure the tall crown is the best shape on Her Majesty, I can’t think of anyone who wears such saturated colour as well as she.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images  Embed from Getty Images  Embed from Getty Images

Designer: Designer: Angela Kelly
Previously Worn: Sep 9, 2015 Jan 11, 2015Oct 18, 2014Apr 29, 2014;  Nov 14, 2013
Photos from Getty as indicated
14 thoughts on “Queen Caps Birthday With Win At The Track

  1. The colors are beautiful, the hat shape is quite nice considering similar ones that aren’t as flattering, and the trim doesn’t bother me in the way it probably would on other hats. Not my favorite ensemble ever, but HM does look simply radiant here. I’m a little surprised it’s been so long since we last saw this ensemble, but I’m ready for some others to make a comeback.

  2. My doesn’t this color make HM’s eyes pop! She looks so vibrant it’s hard to believe she’s 91. This might be my favorite of the split-crown hats because the trim is restrained. The coat buttons are not bothering me today for some reason.

  3. Still laughing about “sagittal crest of a dinosaur”! But one thing I appreciate about this hat is that it reverses the colors from the coat: the main color of the coat is the trim color of the hat and vice versa. That makes for a livelier ensemble.

  4. I always adore the Queen in blue, and I find this combination of turquoise and cobalt doubly appealing! It’s striking and colorful without overwhelming the eye.

  5. I do like this outfit, and I think the contrasting colourways (turquoise with blue trim on the coat, and blue with turquoise trim on the hat) is a very simple but effective way of creating a striking look. I also like this hat shape, as I think the split crown adds interest to really quite a plain basic concept, and unlike many versions, this trim is quite restrained. It’s certainly a relative of top hats, but I don’t myself feel the crown is so tall as to be out of proportion.

  6. I quite like this hat and coat and just love that basket of flowers brooch, apparently a gift from the Queen’s father on the birth of Prince Charles.

  7. I agree James. This statement outfit is very of its time; not one for the ages. The tinsel-like trim and cord bow are cute and interesting, but, unlike the trims on most of HM’s other split-crown hats, they aren’t big enough to balance the raised crown —so it looks a tad over-prominent, like the sagittal crest of a dinosaur.

  8. Doesn’t she look happy? That’s what a day around horses does! This outfit does glow in the sunshine, but I’m afraid I think it’s time for it to be retired, she’s got so many other words wintry coats I’d so much rather see repeated.

    • “Glow in the sunshine” pretty well sums it up. These split crowns of Angela Kelly certainly are popular with the Queen.
      I hope the Queen switches to spring outfits. They’re so much more numerous and therefore less frequently worn than the constantly repeated winter ones.

      • The day must have been cold as the coat looks warm. I think she dresses according to the weather, like the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

