Romanian Royals Host Garden Party

As part of Romanian National Day celebrations on Wednesday, members of the Romanian royal family hosted an annual Garden Party  at the Elisabeta Palace. Crown Princess Margareta wore a pale grey straw hat with square, peaked crown and raised brim around the back. The hat’s crown is embellished in lace appliqué cutouts in the same hues of blue and green as are on her printed dress. It’s an interesting use of a trim we don’t see often on royal hats that worked well with the ensemble once Princess Margarita added her blue coat.

Crown Princess Margareta, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats   Crown Princess Margareta, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats

Crown Princess Margareta, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats Crown Princess Margareta, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats

Designer: Kristina Dragomir
Previously Worn: This hat is new

Princess Maria updated a hat she wore to this event two years ago, replacing a bright pink hatband, bow and flower with a hatband in the same floral print as her dress. The white straw hat with pink edged kettle brim is further embellished with green silk leaves and a large curling bow. While the new trim feels a bit of a jumble, I’m inclined to give it a pass simply because it’s an attempt at millinery recycling, something we don’t often see.

Princess Maria, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats

Princess Maria, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats   Princess Maria, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats

Designer: Kristina Dragomir
Previously Worn: May 10, 2015

What do you think about this pair of Romanian royal hats?

Crown Princess Margareta & Princess Maria, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats

Crown Princess Margareta & Princess Maria, May 10, 2017 in Kristina Dragomir | Royal Hats

10 thoughts on “Romanian Royals Host Garden Party

  1. Margareta’s hat has some big pluses and big negatives coming at it from me. I absolutely love the applique on the sinamay, and the colors are beautiful; it’s well coordinated with her outfit, but not matchy-matchy. The biggest problem is the absolutely wonky brim, which is all out of proportion. And then the placement is not good either; it sits far too back on her head. Overall this had real potential, but the way she’s wearing it and the weird brim keep it from being a most spectacular hat.

    I prefer Maria’s hat when it was all just pink; it had more versatility then, whereas now it clearly only matches this outfit (and I personally think the trim looks a little cheap). Also, I don’t like how far back this is sitting on her head too.

    There was much potential here, but the details hold these hats back unfortunately.

  2. Margareta’s hat gets a thumbs down from me — it seems too small or something I can’t quite put my thumb on – it’s just ‘off’ — Maria’s hat looks nice with her outfit, despite it seems a little less than professionally put together to me.

  3. I like the concept of Crown Princess Margareta’s hat. I very much like the color combination in the dress (and hat), but the hat looks so oddly shaped or placed. Is the hat too small to fit down on her head? Was the trim applied 45 degrees off, causing the hat to be worn sideways to center the trim? Something’s off here. The hat looks good only in the aerial view.
    I like Princess Maria’s re-done hat.

  4. Margareta’s hat is sitting too far back on her head. It’s an odd and awkward angle. She’s usually very impeccably dressed.

    • I think you’re right- my first look at this hat I was caught up in the trim. Now that I’ve had time to step back, I think the positioning is all wrong- if it were straight on her head with the raised brim on one side (instead of in the back), I think it would be much more successful.

  5. I agree: Princess Maria’s hat looks very well with her outfit–in spite of the jumbled trim, it looks very fresh. About the Crown Princess’s hat I can find very little to praise: the shape is awkward and the trim too busy. And without the coat, it is too much with the dress.

  6. I like Maria ‘s upcycle. The whole outfit has a QE2 feel to it I love the colours in Margarita ‘s outfit but I want to turn the hat round so the short brim is at the back and the wide at the front!

Leave a Reply

