100th Anniversary of the Order of the British Empire

Queen Elizabeth and the Duke of Edinburgh attended a service this morning to mark the one hundredth anniversary of the Order of the British Empire at St Paul’s Cathedral.  The Queen repeated a wonderful green hat with tall crown, trimmed with navy centered green silk flowers and feathers.  While this particular hat shape is not my favourite, I adore the overall ensemble. Great colour, great balance and great contrast, thanks greatly in part to a more visible dress than usual.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

 

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan
Previously Worn: TBA
What do you think of this vibrant hat today?
Photos from Getty as indicated
12 thoughts on “100th Anniversary of the Order of the British Empire

  1. Both hat and ensemble as gorgeous as ever!
    To see how very well this bluegreen colour complement’s HM’s skin, go to the first pic in this post (the “portrait” one of HM’s head and shoulders, where she is looking to our left). Zoom in, cover up her face with one hand, but leave her left ear and neck visible. There you will see, unobscured by makeup, her true skin colour, that legendary English Rose complexion.

    • mcncln: Please refer back to the May 22 flashback – I wrote you a note with an amusing set of “hat twins,” and a challenge!
      Jimbo

      • Hi Jimbo, sorry I haven’t taken up your challenge as yet – I didn’t see your comment until just now when all my comments – and yours -magically appeared at the side of the screen. I am not very au fait with the intricacies of blogs and I will have to find out how to keep track of any reply to my comment.
        I will definitely have a shot at your challenge after the weekend. PS I bet your musical was fun, I love musicals.

  2. Ditto ditto ditto ditto. Love this. I like the smaller brim and the rounded dome of the crown and the blue burst in the lovely flowers. I also like the cut of the coat and the front fastening…it is big enough to become an eye-catching and pleasing feature. Lastly, fab colour on HM. Very nice. Thanks.

  3. This is one of my favorite outfits. I love the color combination and the hat (one of the two RTM staple designs for the Queen). It debuted on Queen Elizabeth’s trip to Ireland, worn for her coming down the stairs of the plane. The wind blowing at her arrival shows that the coat is lined in the dress fabric.

    Embed from Getty Images

  4. Quite surprised to see this one again, but very pleased to! The Irish green is a very unified ensemble and a fab colour. I really like the open coat too, it just gives a really nice contrast as you say.

  5. Great ensemble. That bit of navy at the middle of the rose is unexpected.

    Four posts in one day! You are so good to us, HatQueen.

  6. While I love a hat I really love a ceremonial occasion complete with Mantle and tiara so I am a wee bit disappointed that today was a Green Hat and Coat (albeit a very nice hat!)

  7. HQ: In the month of May ALONE, you have posted NINE current appearances, FOUR Flashbacks, and a plethora of pill boxes of a certain 91 year old royal!! HM is really keeping you on your toes, and making you earn your keep!
    I LOVE today’s green ensemble, not one quibble from me!

  8. I have long loved this since it premiered when HM arrived in the Republic of Ireland in 2011. The color is stunning and very flattering for HM; albeit, I am biased since green is my favorite color. I also think RTM did an excellent job with the trim, which ties in very well with her dress. Brava!

  9. She looks wonderful, and I like the closure on her coat that gives us a good look at her dress. While this is not one of my favorite hats, it goes well with her outfit, and is a good look for the occasion.

Leave a Reply

